We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Spuistraat 175, 1012 VN Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$395
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
WHotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1224)
360
Panoramas (31)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from W Amsterdam
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#143 of 418 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Split across two unique buildings, a former telephone exchange and a bank, W Amsterdam is an intriguing design mix of heritage and contemporary style. Mixing historical Dutch architectural elements with cutting-edge design right next to Dam Square, W Amsterdam is at the epicentre of this energetic and forward-thinking city. Experience the innovative design and luxury of our 238 stylish guest rooms, including 23 suites, three WOW suites and two lavish Extreme WOW Suites. Indulge in one of our destination restaurants THE DUCHESS and MR PORTER and taste signature sips at our rooftop W Lounge overlooking the Royal Palace and the city lights, including WET Deck, the iconic rooftop pool. Get exclusive access to a vibrant nightlife, dining, shopping and fashion scene with our signature Whatever/Whenever® service, our in-the-know W Insiders and our W Happenings.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
430Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
218Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1476Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 759
  • 305
  • 193
  • 120
  • 99
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Billy B wrote a review Jan 20
Honduras12 contributions
+1
All I can say about the W Amsterdam is …….Wow. In general, W hotels are my “cup of tea”. Trendy, modern and a little weird but after staying in a few w properties, I know what really makes the brand is the people they hire. From blue hair to tattoos it doesn’t matter what they look like …..these folks are always always willing to go the extra mile for the guest. Living up to the “whenever wherever” slogan. Amsterdam is no exception. Arriving, our check in experience with Milo and most of all Pius and Georgia was easy and super helpful. Given the lockdown restrictions and reduced capabilities of the hotel they walked us through everything we needed to know. As Bonvoy ambassador we were upgrade to the Extreme Wow suite. We were staying in Amsterdam for our anniversary and later that day Georgia and Enrica (public relations) stopped by the room to help us finalize the plans for the evening and to just have a super pleasant conversation. Room was exciting with all the modern amenities for the 2022 nomad or frequent business traveler with the classic W mix of local culture and art highlighted. Also a super positive interaction that evening with Maibell of the cleaning staff when she stop by to check if we needed any cleaning for the evening. Final despite being his last day at the Hotel Micheal …… (gentlemen who moved to the Renaissance hotel) was a gem. Brokedown all the capabilities of the suite. Losing him is a L for the W team but a Win for the Bonvoy franchise. Location: great near major sites and shopping centers. Staff: incredible Spa (wet area): once in a lifetime experience. The incorporated bank infrastructure with the design of the Wet Area is soo cool and aesthetically pleasing. Only draw back is because the hotel encompasses two separate buildings and access to the wet area is through a retail store, you cant just walk to the spa in your rode. This is not the worse things as there are staff and changing rooms in the wet area. Room Service: it is ok…. They don’t have traditional room service available at the moment but there is some stuff through the hotel restaurant which seems to be a three party. They also charge like 8€ for delivery which is Almost the price of a burger on the room service menu. But it would be nice to have a more traditional room service where guest could order food and cocktail prepared in house. The deliver apps are super easy to use in Amsterdam. Bar: closed due to restrictions Restaurant: closed due to restrictions Thanks for the experience team W Amsterdam!! Billy
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ata_Elyas wrote a review Dec 2021
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia424 contributions94 helpful votes
Located in the city center and close to the majority of top attractions. The staff was very professional and friendly; breakfast was ok. They have two buildings next to each other, and the reception was on the west building
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
luvs_trvl_and_dogs wrote a review Nov 2021
Vienna, Austria493 contributions170 helpful votes
The service is absolutely incredible. We had two front desk staff - Nina and Bruno - help us, as we unexpectedly stayed an extra night when my partner fell ill. Nina checked us in originally and was absolutely incredible, showed a general interest in why we were in Amsterdam and what we planned on doing. My partner said "that's the first time someone at check in has talked to me - they usually focus all their attention on you - it was really nice." Hotel was absolutely incredible. Used SNAs to upgrade to a bi-level Bank loft and the room was fantastic. The location is great - walkable to everything. As mentioned above, we had to stay an extra night and checked back in with Bruno, who was incredibly helpful. He called over then about an hour after check in to make sure my partner was ok. Absolutely outstanding staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Catherine L wrote a review Nov 2021
12 contributions1 helpful vote
I chose this hotel as part of the Marriot Bonvoy establishment due to being able to receive discounted rates through a family member. I initially only booked to stay 2 nights as they didn't have availability for 3. Upon arrival at the hotel, the concierge was very nice, the welcome desk offered me water or prosecco and explained the services the hotel offers. I asked whether it was possible to stay an extra night at discounted rate, and they made a few calls and made it happen! I was so grateful as finding a place to stay was for some reason very difficult in Amsterdam. The room was absolutely amazing! it felt like i was living as a god. Everything was new, high tech and really has set the bar very high for hotels. Location: great, right next to dam square and walkable to all the attractions. Even upon check out they offered me a bottle of water. I will never forget this experience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Lehmkuehler, Innkeeper at W Amsterdam
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Hi Cat4smoon, Wow!! Thank you so much for this phenomenal review and for sharing it with us. It lights me up to know that you enjoyed the stay, and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire team of Talent. We look forward to your next stay! You are always welcome at W Amsterdam. All the best, Jens JENS LEHMKÜHLER EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT MANAGER in charge of Rooms / W AMSTERDAM W Amsterdam, Spuistraat 175 / 1012 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands +31 6 24 80 61 05 / E: jens.lehmkuehler@whotels.com EXPLORE WHAT’S NEW / NEXT AT W AMSTERDAM
Read more
friendly wrote a review Oct 2021
31 contributions53 helpful votes
I booked the Bilevel Marvellous Suite. When I arrived they led me into a normal small Double Bed Room. When I called the manager he lied directly into my face, trying to convince me, that the small Room was a "several levels upgrade" und "much better" than the Marvellous Suite. This is totally crazy. It turned out they had overbooked the suite (somebody else paid more for it) and they did not want to deliver the Marvellous Suite but tried to charge me for it. The state of both the Suites was bad (look for yourself at the fotos of the "Marvellous" Suite, 1260€/night). The manager is unworthy of a W hotel, no question.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Lehmkuehler, Innkeeper at W Amsterdam
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Hi hhjlkuz, Thank you for sharing your review of your visit to W Amsterdam back in summer with the tripadvisor community. Making a memorable experience is part of our daily checklist, and I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. Of course I wish the issues had been avoided altogether as the experience you described is not what we strive for. From time to time, as availability allows, we like to surprise our guests with complimentary upgrades to higher categories than booked. Since many of our suites have quite distinctive features, I totally understand your disappointment and I am glad that we were able to accommodate you in the suite booked, one of our Marvellous Suites. We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon, and I do hope you will give us another chance so we have the opportunity to deliver on the guest experience you deserve. Please contact us prior to your arrival and we will make sure we get you all setup for your visit us next! All the best, Jens JENS LEHMKÜHLER EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT MANAGER in charge of Rooms / W AMSTERDAM W Amsterdam, Spuistraat 175 / 1012 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands +31 6 24 80 61 05 / E: jens.lehmkuehler@whotels.com EXPLORE WHAT’S NEW / NEXT AT W AMSTERDAM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$388 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to W Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Sherlocked (0.3 miles), Dam Square (0.1 miles), and Museumphoto (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at W Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at W Amsterdam?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Ta Toru, and Gartine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is W Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Amsterdam?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W Amsterdam?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.