We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Amsterdam
Post
Inbox
Search

W Amsterdam

Save
Spuistraat 175, 1012 VN Amsterdam The Netherlands
Visit hotel website
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$494
$275
View Deal
SAVE $219
Hotwire.com
$494
$275
View Deal
SAVE $219
WHotels.com
$494
$275
View Deal
SAVE $219
Travelocity$275
Expedia.com$275
ZenHotels.com$494
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1125)
360
Panoramas (31)
Videos (1)
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
See all hotels in Amsterdam
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
NH Collection
$185
View Deal
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Booking.com
$211
$169
View Deal
Ambassade Hotel
Booking.com
$170
View Deal

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Step inside W Amsterdam and go straight to the top to check in at our rooftop W Lounge. Experience the innovative design and luxury of our 238 stylish guestrooms, including 23 suites, three WOW suites and two lavish Extreme WOW Suites. Split across two unique buildings, a former Telephone Exchange building and a Bank, W Amsterdam is an intriguing design mix of heritage and contemporary where nights never end and the pulse is set high with a full calendar of exclusive W Happenings. Wake up to a new Amsterdam where design, fashion, and music connect to create an extraordinary dynamic for the city of canals. Experience the perfect synergy of design meets a fashionable level of comfort. The Exchange building has 172 stylish rooms including 10 fabulous suites and sets the scene for endless nights where the pulse is set high.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Wifi
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Internet
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Rooftop bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Modern
Languages Spoken
Dutch
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
398Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
213Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,373Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 683
  • 292
  • 186
  • 119
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were staying at the W Amsterdam to visit our son and all I’m left to say is “WOW”. We were checked-in by a lovely lady called Erica who was very kind and accommodating (to the extent to providing a late c/o when she heard we were having some challenges). The room was breath-taking. It was spacious, luxurious and the design was unique and quirky. We were staying in the bank building that had an alluring gold décor. The room itself was one of the most unique hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Despite reviews online that suggest otherwise, the cleanliness was in-par to other Marriott properties I have stayed at. All other FO team members as well i.e. Mitchell, Merto, Kenya were extremely hospitable throughout our stay and looked into any request we made. Throughout our stay, the staff was extremely courteous and genuine. We had the opportunity to meet the Spa team (Michelle, Jessica, Dominique and Radu) who were all super friendly. The spa itself is magnificent with some great features such as the cold plunge and hot water bath. The dark colour scheme brings in a sense of calm while the gold lighting gives a feeling of luxury. We also visited the W Lounge for drinks and that too was amazing. The views from the 6th floor are simply stunning. We were served by several team members namely JP, Isa, Stehphi, Tristan who were all professional and showcased high standards of service. The beverage offerings in the lounge are interesting as well and rather quite different to what I am used to (in a good way). I had a smoky gin drink and that was just delicious! The W Amsterdam is a great property to stay at. I am actually surprised to read some of the reviews online because I believe that if you come with the intent to find flaws, you will always find something to snap at in any hotel. However, if one is able to overcome some minor hiccups and try enjoying the whole experience for what the W has to offer, then it is perhaps one of the top hotels I have stayed at. The staff, the location, the room, the décor, the design…everything is just stunning. Would I visit this property again? Absolutely! I also had the opportunity to meet the GM Ramco and the Assistant GM Yens, and they too, were humble, polite and surely the kind of people who are apt to govern this stunning property. I look forward to staying here again!
Read more
I'm afraid I don't have a lot of good things to say about the spa. not very clean, not very inviting, furniture near the pool need to be repliest urgently and the treatment was a 7 not more than that, wy wife even gave it a 5 ! to sum it up not worth the money. sorry W:(
Read more
Response from RemcoVanKamp, General Manager at W Amsterdam
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Ginoadler, Thank you for your review and for staying at W Amsterdam. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our Away Spa. We would love to have more feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. Feel free to reach out to us. I hope we can welcome you back soon and show you the true W Amsterdam experience. All the best, remco.vankamp@whotels.com General Manager
Read more
The W Amsterdam is broken up into two hotels. Not sure if one side is better or not, but we were on the left side if in the middle of the street. The staff were all accommodating, although I must say check-in was a little bit of a cluster. There were SO many people trying to check in at the same time, and just two front desk attendants on duty. All of us were told our rooms were not ready and that we would need to wait. We dropped our bags and went and had lunch - no biggie. When we came back our room was still not ready, so we hung in the bar with everyone else until it was ready. The room itself was pretty cool. I loved the huge windows we had on the first floor, and although I was worried about street noise it did not bother us. The noise of slamming doors was pretty present throughout the stay. The location was great and we would likely return!
Read more
Response from RemcoVanKamp, General Manager at W Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hi JulzMartin, Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasurable stay with us and that we can welcome you back in the future. Our team is always here for any future requests. All the best, remco.vankamp@whotels.com General Manager
Read more
We came to this hotel despite some quite bad reviews online.... and it just seemed like the W just cannot deliver what others do. I will start by saying that this hotel is definitely an acquired taste. It seems to cater more for young and millennial crowds than it does for those with a conservative taste. The hotel experience did not start well, with a mix up in my booking, and then with a series of events that unfolded after much communication over celebrations we were holding whilst visiting Amsterdam. It comes across like this hotel struggles to communicate efficiently through its internal departments. It took 4 attempts at getting the right sized towels - I eventually gave up asking. The room service and amenities are ok although it does seem odd that the cleaning staff can not clear/pick up a dirty plate if they see one. Its ‘laid back’ style also makes it seem somewhat ‘lazy’ in places like the lobby where the sofa and cushions have seen better days. We both found it strange how no one helped with our bags on arrival, we were left at check in without anyone offering to bring our bags up - strange for a hotel this size. The cleaning of rooms is not the best - there was no turn down service and it always seemed like the room could do with a good scrub. The deco is quirky and very open plan. We were upgraded to a suite in the Bank building for all trouble prior to arrival - but the problem is the trouble did not end there.... more came, including the peculiarities of not being able to order a bottle of champagne to the room as there was no one available to bring it for an hour! (This is after having to spell - yes, letter by letter - what I wanted to the person from the ‘Whatever’ thing/service). Whilst the hotel apologised and tried to make up for the short comings, my point is that these things should not happen in properties with five stars. On more positive notes, the spa is beautiful and worth a visit. The food/breakfast is good, both at the Exchange and Duchess - if only the staff could do with a training day on customer service. Overall, an average stay, disappointing.
Read more
Response from RemcoVanKamp, General Manager at W Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hi OscarlLondon, Thank you for your review. To start on the more positive hand, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Away Spa and our breakfast in both our restaurants. We are equally disappointed that the rest of your experience did not live up to your expectations. We did everything we could to turn your stay around, however I am disappointed to hear that you still left our hotel unhappy. We are only happy when you are, and therefore we hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you the true W Amsterdam experience. Should you wish to discuss you stay further, feel free to reach out to me personally. Thank you again. All the best, remco.vankamp@whotels.com General Manager
Read more
I have never been so satisfied with service at a hotel until I came to W Amsterdam. I was on my honeymoon with my wife and everyone from the bellman up to the concierge were absolutely fantastic. They knew it was our honeymoon and Felice brought up champagne to our room! Adam who is one of the concierge helped us with everything when it came to booking activities and restaurant reservations. We cannot wait to come back. Sadly we missed ADE since we left the day before but I have a feeling we'll be back next year for the same great experience!
Read more
Response from RemcoVanKamp, General Manager at W Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hi AndyGiddy, Thank you so much for sharing your W experience with fellow travelers. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasurable stay with us celebratin your honeymoon. Thank you for recognizing the effort of our Talent, with Adam and Felice in special. They are absolute stars. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon, please give us a heads up when you have the opportunity to be back! Thank you again. All the best, remco.vankamp@whotels.com General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$297 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to W Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Sherlocked (0.3 miles), Museumphoto (0.1 miles), and Dam Square (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at W Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to W Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Gartine, and Rob Wigboldus Vishandel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is W Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W Amsterdam?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to W Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (0.3 miles), Concertgebouw (1.3 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles).