We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Spuistraat 175, 1012 VN Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$425
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Hotels.com
Only 5 left at
$425
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Algotels
$395
View deal
Booking.com$423
WHotels.com$425
Priceline$423
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1285)
360
Panoramas (31)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#155 of 420 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
443Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
251Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1531Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 784
  • 316
  • 199
  • 125
  • 107
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennifer S wrote a review Nov 2022
6 contributions
We decided to reserve a room that seemed very cool - private rooftop jacuzzi, in-suite phonograph with records provided...etc. The good: the private rooftop jacuzzi was awesome. The bad: The bed was broken (husband used sofa cushion to Mc-Giver it, the shower was not clean. The ugly: the in-room IPad to control the TV, the much anticipated phonograph and the little speaker would not work, and neither the TV or phonograph would unmute so both were useless, the minibar had not been replenished so I chased down a service person who kindly gave me...two coffee pods (really?)....and when I went to make coffee with the little in room machine, the coffee cups were FILTHY....as in disgusting. If you are providing flashy cool amenities - make sure they work. Otherwise, they are not cool - they are stupid. If you are charging thousands of euros for a room....at the very least you could make sure it was clean and that the bed was not broken. WORST MARRIOT experience every....long time Bonvoy members.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I'd recommend somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Dear Florjs, Thank you so much for dedicating time and effort in reviewing our hotel. Knowing that your stay with us fell short of anything you had hoped for, makes me sad. I fully understand that the issues you went through were very unpleasant and I am very sorry that it made you not enjoy your stay with us. I truly wish it would have been different. We sincerely hope that this inopportune stay experience you had with us will not detract you from staying with us again. We have enjoyed being of service to you and we earnestly hope to welcome you back. Again, please accept my sincere apologies and if ever your travel brings you back to Amsterdam, we are always here, you may contact me directly and I promise you that I'll do my best to make your stay an amazing one. all the best, Marco Senatin Duty Manager W Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland74 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
This time I was enjoying our stay at W Amsterdam. The staff was so professional and comply with all my wishes. I received an upgraded room because of Marriott Bonvoy membership. For what I really love this hotel is SPA. I’m ready to come back here again and again just to relax at AWAY spa. Highly recommend to find the time and visit it. And as usual: great location, fancy rooftop lounge, stylish rooms. Unfortunately, during our stay there was a reconstruction in the city. So, it was noisy since early mornings. But this isn’t a hotel’s fault. Thanks W for such a great vacation. It was much better experience than last time 3 years ago.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
783odedh wrote a review Nov 2022
Xxxxx2 contributions1 helpful vote
Dirty room. Dark since lighting is insufficient. Clogged sink with sewage smell. Tried to fix it several times without success. They promised compensation for a taxi to Schiphol airport and did not keep their promise. Not answering to guests in real time
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Never again
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 783odedh, Greetings from W Amsterdam and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback. We deeply regret to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us and we sincerely apologize for the disappointment and discomfort caused to you by the shortfalls in our service. We humbly admit this lapse in our service and we would like to inform you our various management teams are reviewing our current processes and practices for improvements. All of us hope this detraction in your recent stay with us will not prevent you from staying with us again as we truly hope to welcome you back, giving us an opportunity to recover your trust in our service. all the best Marco Senatin Duty Manager W Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren L wrote a review Nov 2022
8 contributions
My husband and I recently stayed here at the W in Amsterdam and had a fantastic experience! We stayed in a suite and the room was so cool! The suite even had a hot tub on a private balcony! Very cool and chic. The decor and layout of the room was very cool and interesting, nothing like ive ever seen! The concierge named Julien went above and beyond to make out stay amazing- it was our ten year wedding anniversary and Julien reserved the suite and had cupcakes and champagne sent to our room as a treat! The whole staff here was very lovely and we would 100% return and stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for Julien!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary Katherine wrote a review Nov 2022
31 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed at the W Amsterdam on the bank side. We arrived early in the morning after a transatlantic flight. The lady that checked us in was incredibly nice, and was able to get us in our room immediately. My husband is Marriott Bonvoy titanium, so I believe this helped with our early check in. We were also upgraded from a king suite to a corner king suite. I think the only difference is the view and it’s slightly larger. Regardless, we really appreciated her upgrading us without us asking (this is supposed to happen for titanium status, but it doesn’t always). The room was well appointed and a good size by Europe standards. The bed was extremely comfortable, as were the pillows. The only thing that was a little different was that it didn’t really have a bathroom. It had a large counter with a sink and a floating mirror behind the bed. I really liked this bc I had natural light and a view while I was getting ready! The shower was off to the side and entirely enclosed. The toilet was the same way- it was more of a “toilet closet” opposed to a bathroom. I didn’t mind this arrangement, but just wanted to note it since I wasn’t expecting this prior to staying there! As Titanium members, we had breakfast included. I really enjoyed the breakfast! The staff was super kind and helpful, and the food was fresh and delicious! The cold drinks are self serve which is nice and they have a large assortment- various fresh juices, ginger shots, green juice, mimosas, etc. There is also breakfast to order and a buffet. We both got the eggs Benedict and loved it and I tried the avocado toast, which was delicious! Overall, I would recommend the W and will stay there again the next time I’m in Amsterdam! Thanks for the great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tonimolinari2000 wrote a review Nov 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
A lovely hotel however when we arrived late at night, the man on the reception at the “Bank” side of the hotel, he wasn’t very helpful. He took forever to check us in. The staff on the Exchange side of the building were incredible , especially at the concierge! The guys helped us with our luggage as soon as we came in to the building. The rooms are super comfy and cosy! However the only downside to our stay was the service at breakfast, they were very short staffed, we waited 1 hour for our coffees and food. We also heard the staff say to hotel guests that they were full and couldn’t be seated for breakfast, considered they had paid for breakfast. Might be a good idea to open more area for the guests! When we originally booked , we didn’t get a choice of booking at the “Bank” side or “Exchange” side , I would encourage any older guests to stay at the “bank” side , as the “exchange” side of the hotel can be a bit louder at night… we weren’t told this, thankfully we didn’t mind too much. However on a good note , we would consider staying at W Amsterdam in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay at “exchange” side of the hotel if you don’t like loud music
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sda1984roma wrote a review Nov 2022
Zuoz, Switzerland29 contributions33 helpful votes
The perfect disaster. Staff doesn’t have a clue on how to work in an hotel. You ask for to book a taxi for the morning and then they tell u they forgot. Same story with the restaurant. I paid for breakfast included but they wanted to charge it to me. I had to call the reception and they admitted the mistake. And then we asked to replenish the minibar and after 6 calls they came after 1 hr. Such a pitty that a nice place is so badly managed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sda1984roma, Thank you so much for dedicating time and effort in reviewing our hotel. I am disappointed to know that your stay was not as what you expected at all from us. We always strive for team effort to go above and beyond for our guests and I am sorry that we did not manage to make you feel this way. We do have a lot of new staff after a period of shortage, so we are still training mostly of them to deliver the very best experience and service to our guests. But this should not have affected you and your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short. We sincerely hope that this inopportune stay experience with us will not detract you from staying with us again. We have enjoyed being of service to you and we earnestly hope to welcome you back. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting up your expectation this time and if ever your travel brings you back to Amsterdam, we are always here waiting for you. all the best, Marco Senatin Duty Manager W Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver C wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Great stay, amazing rooftop bar and rooms, great service especially from Pepijn who offered a great concierge service and got us bookings in some great restaurants in Amsterdam despite you typically needing to be on the waiting list for 2/3 weeks! Definitely coming back and would definitely recommend Pepijn to anybody looking for last minute bookings in the best restauraunts in Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Dear olivercF7968RA, Greetings from your friendly team at W Amsterdam and thank you for giving us the great privilege and pleasure to have been of service to you during your recent stay with us. We are incredibly grateful you took the time to review your experience and for letting us know you had a great stay with us. All of us are indeed heartened you found our hotel amazing and our concierge Pepijn that went above and beyond your expectation. Our management values our guest satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our guests. It is definitely a boost every time we receive positive reviews like this as it truly inspires all of us to constantly strive for excellence and provide the best services, facilities and products in our industry. Costumers like you that make our job wonderful and we truly grateful to you for inspiring us and fueling our passion to serve you. With your experience staying with us, all of us try hope you will make W Amsterdam your choice of hotel whenever your travels bring you back to Amsterdam and you will also recommend us to your family and friends. All of us have truly enjoyed being of service to you and we earnestly look forward to welcome you back. We are at your service and we wish you well. Thank you. all the best, Marco Senatin Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colew89 wrote a review Nov 2022
Rotterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions3 helpful votes
We were super impressed by the hotel and especially the service. • When we arrived the welcome desk was perfect, they helped my wife with her bags from the intersection into the hotel • At the front desk, the receptionist made sure we got a great room with space for a crib; the staff there was very attentive; the receptionist on duty gave us donuts, the bartender started a conversation with us even though we clearly weren’t there to drink (with a baby) • The spa was unique and memorable • One night our little one had an accident and the staff came quickly to help change our bed – they were great! We have 0 complaints. Loved the hotel. Loved our room. The staff were great. We feel like we got tremendously lucky and great value for our money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Colew89, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are overjoyed that you had a good time while staying at W Amsterdam. When you're happy, we're happy, and we'll make sure to give to our Talent your praises. When you're ready to return, we'll be here waiting to rewelcome you. All the best, Marco Senatin Duty Manager W Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe wrote a review Oct 2022
Tennessee7 contributions1 helpful vote
Great experience, great rooms and spa is super relaxing. Both hotel restaurants are great, so if you are on business there are great options that will be available -- just ask the concierge I ate a Mr. Porter and got the streak, it was really delicious Breakfast also has a great view
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Senatin, Other at W Amsterdam
Responded Oct 23, 2022
Hello JoeTravelsfromUSA, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled and happy that you had a good time while staying at W Amsterdam. When you're satisifed, we're happy, and we'll make sure to give to our Talents your praises. We are here to welcome you back whenever you decide to come back. All the best, MARCO SENATIN DUTY MANAGER / W AMSTERDAM Spuistraat 175 / 1012 VN Amsterdam M +31 (6) 28 92 52 76
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$364 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

W AMSTERDAM - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (The Netherlands)

Frequently Asked Questions about W Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to W Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include House of Rituals (0.3 miles), Museumphoto (0.1 miles), and Dam Square (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at W Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at W Amsterdam?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Ta Toru, and Brasserie Ambassade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is W Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are pets allowed at W Amsterdam?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at W Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.