We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,099 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,431: English reviews
melbourne australia
Reviewed January 18, 2014

we (family of 5) stayed the first week of January. The night before we arrived we read the latest reviews on trip advisor .... we were expecting the worst the good - location is fantastic. Close to all the main attractions & in a very safe area. Service was excellent - no doubt the staff were aware of the negative...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelkar
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The room was the tiniest I've been in & for 2 people with luggage its a tight squeeze. The bathroom is absolutely the tiniest, but worked surprisingly well ( if u are not large). We were there just for 1 night & the location right amidst the tourist attractions made up for the size. I was less happy with the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jeandixon12
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice facade shame about the interior, this place needs renovations big-time, mouldy bathroom, grotty grout, a faint whiff of something unpleasant, not a good experience and not even a price that you'd expect to pay, actually they should have paid me to stay here

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tomren73
Noida, India
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel during a business visit to Amsterdam. USP is the location next which is next all of the possible attractions and to the must see Rijks museum, the staff was friendly, dependable and sufficient. In all a value for money and location ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vasistha_Srivastav
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much leaving a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future. Kind Regards, Sjoerd Verkooijen

Houston, Texas
Reviewed January 6, 2014

As I was about to write my review for this hotel, I began reading some reviews about this place and how some people had bad experiences here. What I am about to say can be used as a general rule for those thinking of staying at this hotel and any other hotel when traveling abroad. I have to say that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jerry R
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Many thanks for placing your review on tripadvisor. As you understand reviews are very important to us and your`s is very valuable to us. I am pleased to read that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed Amsterdam once again. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, thanks a lot and I am...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed January 3, 2014

First time ever I ended up in a place where the night staff couldn't care less about their customer. First of all, nobody told us that there were no cabs during the night of the 1st of january. Then after walking for an hour in the east of Amsterdam, we called the hotel to ask for some help. At first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayukirool
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Even though the prices are reasonable, my experience at this hotel was not as Ok as the prices. I booked one single room for one night in October, 2013. The room I got was right next to the reception, so one could hear the phone ringing very often, people talking and slamming doors. When I talked to the personnel, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RIR_2011
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in the hotel in early December during an impromptu trip to Amsterdam. I was just looking for somewhere that was cheap, clean and close to Leidseplein. This hotel did not disappoint! It was located only a short walk from the Rijksmuseum with trams and other attractions (Heineken Experience, Paradiso) only a short distance away. Despite not booking well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire W
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for leaving us your comments regarding your trip. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, although the room was a little small. Unfortunately most of the rooms in Amsterdam city centre are compact but the location makes up for it. I have shared your feedback with the team, this...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here on Mon 23rd Dec to Thurs 26th Dec. We had stayed in this hotel twice previously and having been happy with the service all-round, we chose this hotel again for our festive trip to the city. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, we checked in, we were given codes to use the free WIFI service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missannenoid
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after previously having lived in Amsterdam. The place is conveniently located near Rijksmuseum, public transport (trams 2,5, 7, 10) all within 500 meters. The staff at the reception were friendly but easily overwhelmed. The rooms was on the 4th floor and in a corner with view of Rijksmuseum, it was quit as we requested. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martijn t
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Martijn, Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor. It`s Always great to read feedback from our guests. I am glad you have enjoyed Amsterdam again. Hopefully we will meet you again in the future. Kind Regards, Sjoerd Verkooijen

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

604 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (400)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (39)
Viewed
Classic Single Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
732 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#160 of 362 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,197 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)

Neighborhood Profile
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Price Range: $83 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“3rd or 4th floor at the back is the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles 482PeterG482, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay somewhere else...”
 of 5 bubbles PimlicoTram, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a room on the North for a great view but could be a little noisy. I was high up enough it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles kworkman63, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“rooms facing the road or the canal are good”
 of 5 bubbles HarleyMatt, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“My room faced onto the courtyard at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles djmikejolly, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay