We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam The Netherlands
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Site
$119
$98
View Deal
SAVE $21
eDreams
$119
View Deal
Expedia.com$119
Booking.com$119
Travelocity$119
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1486)
Room & Suite (266)
Videos (1)

About

#45 of 414 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Volkshotel was once a newspaper headquarters, now home to 172 hotel rooms ranging from cosy hideouts to huge hangouts. Stay in a bed with a view or a unique room designed by our creative folk. Raw materials of wood, glass and concrete and always a hint of history.
Read more
Room & Suite (266)266
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
58Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,030Reviews83Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,169
  • 648
  • 134
  • 47
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kit wrote a review Jan 19
1 contribution
Very nice stay for one night, with the cheesy package. We signed up for the night out package but because of corona the dj session didn't go through, understandably. Very easy comunicating and converting the package to the cheesy package, with a good diner, nice bottle of cava and amazing movie. Only thing was the reservation we made for the hottub, but all of those were full when we came on our designated time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Isabelle K wrote a review Jan 7
4 contributions
We had a very pleasant stay in the special room 'the businessman's trip'. It was a very nice room with a view over the skyline of Amsterdam. The bottle of cava in combination with the bath felt like real luxury. We also had dinner in one of the other hotel rooms, which was a bit odd in the first place but also very nice and delicious (Thanks Canvas!). One thing I'd like to suggest is some music in the room that you have dinner in. Another point of feedback is that it would be great if you could listen to music in your room. It was now only possible to watch netflix, but it would be great to also listen to music when in the bath, for instance. Another thing was that the area outside the hotel was under construction, so Tuesday morning it was quite loud.. I might suggest to go there then in the weekends. Third point, is that it was a bit weird that there were other hotel guests at the badplaats while I thought it was private time at the rooftop. They were also in the sauna which made the hour at the rooftop feel a bit short.. Last thing, but that's really personal, is that I would've liked to have scrambled eggs haha. For me, that is the real hotel experience. To reduce food waste you could ask your guests the night before what they would want to order for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Volkshotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Volkshotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Isabelle , Thank you for your nice review and good critics. We have 3 hot tubs in our spa area, so 3 rooms can us the hot tubs at the same time because each room has its own hot tub. We hope to welcome you back in the future may be in a different special room.
Read more
Julie O wrote a review Jan 6
2 contributions
Loved the hottub and sauna. Rooms are nice and perfect for short city stay and very clean. Lovely view and the food is wonderful! unfortunately we were in Lockdown during our visit so it was very quiet but I’m for sure returning again when we have our freedom back and enjoy all the lovely features the Volkshotel has to offer, like the Doka, living room and canvas.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Volkshotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Volkshotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi , Thank you for your nice review. We hope to welcome you back in better days and you can enjoy the hotel without lockdown restrictions.
Read more
Anoniem wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Everyone in the hotel was really welcomming and kind. The rooms were clean and the hottubs on the roof are amazing and have the best view. I will definetly come here again any time soon! Thanks a lot!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Tijs Bullock, Marketing at Volkshotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Britte, Happy new year! Thank you for your lovely review. You are definitely welcome to stay with us any time soon! Kind regards, Volkshotel
Read more
Alec wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions
My partner discovered this hotel and we booked our stay here. The main reason was because of the hot bathtubs on the roof of the hotel that got our attention. Hotel instructs to reserve a spot at the reception but immediately upon arrival we were informed this was fully booked so it was kind of a weird start of our stay. However, for the rest of our time there we enjoyed all of the facilities it had to offer, especially during the lockdown. The personnel is nice, with plenty of activities. One thing to keep in mind is that the hotel has a certain aesthetic/alternative style: the interior is old fashioned and retro furniture, as well as the (live) music, was minimal and classic. The movie choice was art-house and we could not know beforehand. Having that said, we did enjoy it. The hotel room itself was nicely decorated. Though it wasn't really privately arranged, the bathroom has partially see-through glass and the sink was outside of it. Definitely recommend going there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
Room Tip: Check the description of the rooms of the different sizes and what they offer.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorik van Mechelen, General Manager at Volkshotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Alec, Thanks for your review! Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding regarding the hot tub reservation, we try our best to make sure everyone gets a spot but due to the staycation hype the hot tubs have been uncommonly busy and the reservations department overloaded. Next time feel free to drop us a call in advance to make sure your spot is secured before arrival. Stay safe and have a great weekend. Kind regard, Volskhotel
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam East / Weesperzijde / Oud Oost
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Volkshotel
Which popular attractions are close to Volkshotel?
Nearby attractions include Holocaust Memorial Walk (0.09 miles), Former Town Hall of Nieuwer-Amstel (0.2 miles), and Paper & Brush Studio (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Volkshotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Volkshotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Volkshotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Volkshotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Volkshotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Due Sicilie, Restaurant C Amsterdam, and Rijsel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Volkshotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Volkshotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Volkshotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Volkshotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Volkshotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.9 miles), Concertgebouw (1.4 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (1.0 miles).