We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam The Netherlands
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (2883)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (1112)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#192 of 408 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a 5-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 205 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, our Bar-Loung, several meeting rooms and our own parking garage with paid parking facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Head massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
4.0
4,869 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam garners appreciation for its blend of historical allure and modern amenities, with a particular nod to its comfortable bedding and spotless environment. Nestled near Central Station and city highlights, the location is celebrated for its convenience yet peacefulness. While the staff receives commendations for being helpful and friendly, there are occasional remarks about service lapses. Guests enjoy the spa and wellness facilities, though some feel the hotel's offerings, including the poorly ventilated rooms, do not justify the cost, which leads to mixed feelings regarding value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
4869Reviews146Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,553
  • 1,308
  • 509
  • 282
  • 218
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Emma_VDV_13 wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom44 contributions
Business trip: guess I drew the short straw for worst room in the hotel Visited with over a dozen colleagues for a work offsite in Amsterdam. All of my colleagues had amazing rooms, whereas I got a room at the end of a corridor in the new part of the building. The room was unable to get wifi (tried on two phones and a laptop), has a strange sour smell, a narrow corner window that didn't let any light in, and all the furniture was chipped, worn out, or in poor condition. I didn't pay any less for my room than my colleagues, but my room was basically no more comfortable than a budget airport hotel (and I couldn't complain, apart from the front staff joking that the rooms were sold out, if I'm the one that complains on a work trip it'll be office gossip for years)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mary R wrote a review Feb 20
2 contributions
This is a beautiful and historical hotel close to everything in Amsterdam. Staff were all friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very nice (could be a little cleaner though) and the spa area was great. The steam room was not working, but the sauna and jacuzzi were excellent. The pool was beautiful and heated nicely. Breakfast was also great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurts, assorted cheeses, pastry, fresh juice, sparkling wine etc...We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If driving into Amsterdam, this hotel is close to a large parking garage with easy access from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Annalee C wrote a review Feb 4
Swanscombe, United Kingdom4 contributions
The service was amazing throughout the whole few nights. I took my boyfriend for his birthday and the hotel left a lovely surprise for him in the room. We were also shown up to our room by the Guest relations officer she was lovely. All drinks in the fridge were complimentary which I wasn’t expecting. Staff are very friendly. And the Spa and Wellness is amazing after a long day of walking it was nice to unwind. would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. How amazing to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are truly glad to hear that we met your utmost expectations. It is of utmost importance to all team members to deliver the best service and quality accommodation to our beloved guests. Once again, thank you for choosing us and for the incredible 5-star rating, it brightens our day and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do. It was a pleasure welcoming you as our guest and we look forward to do so again in the near future. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SoniaDenver wrote a review Jan 2024
Hatfield, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
An art gallery a museum and a grand hotel The best ever ,converted from shipping agents to a work of art We thoroughly enjoyed our stay The staff were brilliant ans saw to it we had whatever we needed Sarah ,Honda, Maria ,Sarah, Wendy, mabinci, Dan too many to mention Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch the bikes way too many and they don't brake keep your wallet in your front pocket and buy...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SoniaDenver, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. How amazing to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. We are delighted to hear that we met your utmost expectations. Thank you for your kind ratings of our staff's service, it is of utmost importance to all team members to deliver best-in-class service and quality accommodation for our beloved guests! we are incredibly glad to know that our hotel has accommodated your needs. Your kind words will be shared with our entire team. It was a pleasure welcoming you as our guest and we look forward to do so again in the future. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ralph De wrote a review Jan 2024
8 contributions
+1
We arrived Sunday morning about 0930 to check our bags and the receptionist told us our room was ready and she could check us in 5.5 hours early! Room was in the 4th floor over looking the city, room was long and quante, with character. Bed, mattress and pillows were amazing. Staff were so friendly all during our 3 days / 2 night stay. Mini fridge was restocked for free with Coke, Coke Zero, still water and sparkling water. Sweets in the lobby with the free apples and water were amazing. Staff honesty couldn’t do enough for you and every staff member we encountered we got a hello from. Spa was amazing, pool was like heaven and 3 Saunas, steam room wasn’t working but things happen. The hotel was built in 1912 as HQ for 6 shipping companies and converted into a hotel late so it’s gonna be a bit different. We were never more than 5-8 mins from the main part of the city and the hotel was so quiet. We had lunch in the bar and it was responsibly priced, 2 ham &cheese toasties in sourdough, with salad, a flat white and late for 28.00 was far cheaper than we paid for some rubbish in the city. Well done Amrâth and staff we appreciate you and all of the staff that went out of thier way to welcome us and make us feel like the only guest in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ralph, We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive experience with us. It is incredibly encouraging to see you have enjoyed your stay with us! thank you for your kind ratings of our staff's service, it is of utmost importance to all team members to deliver best-in-class service and quality accommodation for our beloved guests. Your kind words will be passed on to the entire team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and restaurant. It is always our aim to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we are thrilled to hear that this was reflected in your stay. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback. Your 5-star review brightens our day and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do. We’ll continue striving to provide an exceptional service to make every stay with us remarkable. We look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. With warm regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sixfeetunder05 wrote a review Jan 2024
Belgium159 contributions
How can you not like this hotel ? Compared to other 4 and 5 star hotels in Amsterdam one of the few with authentic historical caracter full of art deco/ art nouveau details, artworks and architecture. Like sleeping in a museum. On top of that a good location nearby the station but far away from street noise elsewhere in the city center. Spa is free and good after a cold day of sightseeing ! Very spacious rooms compared to other Dutch hotels. The hotel seemed very quiet when I was there an no noise at all from neighbours or hallways. I loved it !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. It is wonderful to read that your stay was everything you hoped it would be. Our hotel's goal is to provide a unique, pleasant and memorable experience for our guests. We are thrilled to read we succeeded. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us, hopefully you will visit us again in the future. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam A wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We stayed in grand hotel amrath from the 30th December - 2nd January 2024. Our stay was very pleasant and staff were very helpful upon arrival. We have nothing to complain about during our stay. However, the rooms are a bit dated, and we did not like that there was no eyehole to look through our room door to see who it was when/if someone knocked. We would rate this hotel 4* at best.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam with us. How amazing to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are truly glad to hear that we met your utmost expectations. Furthermore, we are glad to read that our staff have provided you with the right service. We will ensure to share your feedback with our entire hotel team. However, we appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the room. This will help us to improve our service. We truly hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mehdi B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Very uncomfortable stay in this hotel. There was a horrible smell of sewage coming out the bathroom, the bed was horribly uncomfortable and it needs an immediate replacement, housekeeping was just mediocre, sheets were not changed for 5 days and there was a dark stain on them. We stayed there for Christmas and there was no small Christmas treat or a small gesture as we had in other hotels before, not even a chocolate and this without mentioning how boring the breakfast was….you had just the necessary, no fresh juices, no omelettes as we ordered them 2 days in a row and never got them…I have no idea how this hotel is considered a 5 stars hotel, nowadays even 3 stars are better than this hotel. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Nothing exclusive about this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Dear Mehdi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam with us. It is our passion to provide all our guests with an unforgettable stay in a pleasant atmosphere. Unfortunately, during your stay this did not work out in every way. We truly apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay. We are sorry for the fact that your room was not properly cleaned, we will look further into this matter with our Housekeeping team to make sure this does not happen again. Regarding the breakfast, please rest assured that your feedback will be forwarded to our F&B management to make improvements where possible. Once again, thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. We hope that you give us a second chance in the future so that you will enjoy our service as intended. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Niels wrote a review Dec 2023
10 contributions
Worst hotel ever, the 5stars are a joke. Don’t go here. Service is the worst I’ve ever seen in a hotel. Impolite staf. There are 1* hotels with a better service. Information of the hotel is wrong. Don’t go here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Dec 26, 2023
Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service, which it seems we did not succeed in your case. We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectation. We hope that you mentioned your feedback during your stay at our reception, in that way we are always immediately able to assist you in any way. Once again, thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LDM125 wrote a review Dec 2023
Vancouver, Canada194 contributions
+1
The old world, historic building and location had us exactly where we wanted to be, near the Centraal Train Station, near tours in the canals, and near all the restaurants. While the spa was closed for renovations, the hotel was still lovely. The lounge and service were great as well. The breakfast was plentiful but all my food was just warm, not hot, so I only did it once during our stay. The shower was phenomenal, and the room was extremely comfortable with lovely, Lavazza coffee, and a minibar that would supply a very nice night in-
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: As fan of piping hot breakfasts, maybe earlier would be better for the buffet. The online...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Dec 20, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving this wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. How amazing to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are truly glad to hear that we met your utmost expectations. We are thrilled to read that the room was comfortable and up to your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is our top priority. At Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam, we believe that our guests deserve the best service, and we’re committed to delivering just that. On behalf of Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam team, we thank you and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Guest Relations Officer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel amrath amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOld Center / Nieuwmarkt En Lastage / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
205
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL AMRATH AMSTERDAM - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (The Netherlands)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Brews & Tales Amsterdam Craft Beer Tour (0.2 miles), Cafe Pollux (0.04 miles), and Our Lord in the Attic Museum Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include EatWith: Martine of Amsterdam, Kroegtijger, and LuminAir.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.