We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save
Share
Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$288
$268
View Deal
SAVE $20
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
$288
$268
View Deal
SAVE $20
Snaptravel$271
Expedia.com$280
Prestigia.com$288
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2618)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (820)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Updated 07/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#165 of 414 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a 5-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 205 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, our Bar-Loung, several meeting rooms and our own parking garage with paid parking facilities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Head massage
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
275Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
117Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4,690Reviews141Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,490
  • 1,282
  • 484
  • 256
  • 178
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
minde wrote a review Oct 2020
Chateau-Thierry, France20 contributions32 helpful votes
Simply the best at everything, so we keep coming back ! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. And the staff... The staff is lovely and very accommodating, they are mainly the reason why we couldn't think of staying elsewhere, everytime we are in Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Oct 10, 2020
Dear Mindeparr, Thank you for your kind words. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam once again. As we ourselves are so proud of it, it is always a treat to learn from that one of our guests was able to appreciate the historical character and unique charm of our monumental building. As for your comment on our staff team, I will make sure to pass your compliment on to them, they will be happy to know that you enjoyed their service. We hope that you will be returning to the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam in the near future and we will be delighted to welcome again! With kind regards, Jesper Lauersen General Manager
Read more
Liz M wrote a review Jul 2020
9 contributions20 helpful votes
Booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband. The lobby was small, so everyone could here you speck to receptionist when I was trying to keep it from my husband as it was a treat. The hotel has a pool which is a nice treat when you have been walking around all day cause you can walk in Amsterdam !!! Thank god the room was beside the lift because if not you can get lost really easy. The room was nice and the free mini fridge that is replaced everyday is really nice. It comes with 2 bottles of water, coke and beer also white and red wine. The hotel is 15 mins walk from the train station which is great to get to the airport. The hotel is walking distance from everything Anne Frank, Ice bar, red light and of curse pennys, but if you want to go to to the Heineken factory get the tram or a taxi, you can walk but about 45 mins. Would stay here again but only as a treat, expensive
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask to overlook the river on the top floor
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrâth Amsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Aug 2, 2020
Dear 84lizm. It is always appreciated to hear feedback about our guests’ stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam and we thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience and for your informative and descriptive review! From the historic nature of the building unfortunately there is not much that we can do to change the size of the lobby but appreciate your wanting to keep the birthday treat a surprise and apologise if this was ruined. Our Guest Relations services generally makes a note of when carefully planned occasions are not to be mentioned at the Front Office and hope that the cat was not let out of the bag. I am pleased to see that you had an opportunity to unwind in the beautiful swimming pool in our Wellness Centre and that you enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar which was in your room. Regarding the location of the room it is good to see that you enjoyed being close to the lift in an "easier to find" room. Due to the historic nature of the hotel building, the passages tend to be a bit more "maze-like" than the conventional "glass-box" hotel counterparts and am pleased that it was not a struggle to find the room in which you were accommodated. For the same reason every room is different and unique in its own special manner and the Front Office staff do their utmost to place guests in rooms that best match their preferences. Thank you for letting us know that we got it right with your stay! It is also good to know that you found the location of the hotel to be as convenient as you have described and shall certainly be very pleased to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. As hotel rates vary depending on the time ahead of one's stay that the booking is made, the time of the year of one's stay and the availability at the time of the booking, these factors are worth bearing in mind when planning a trip. Please feel free to contact us directly when planning your visit to ensure that you are receiving the best available rate as well as check our website and social media pages for specials that we run from time to time. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. With kind regards, Jesper Lauersen General Manager
Read more
Thetowns wrote a review Jul 2020
82 contributions40 helpful votes
Decided to book our first trip away after the travel restrictions were lifted couldn’t find that many hotels open so chose this one for it’s location, which is a 5 minute walk from central station. The rooms were very large with a television, nespresso coffee machine, mini bar, shower cubicle plus a huge bathtub. There was a swimming pool, steam room & spa but we didn’t use any of these. We stayed on a room only basis. The hotel was lovely & quiet at night. The hotel is very large & you can easily get lost in its long corridors. The room was also very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrâth Amsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Dear Thetowns. Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience about your stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam and for choosing to stay with us. Your mentioning the convenient location is greatly appreciated and thank you also for your kind words about the room in which you stayed and the amenities that is our pleasure to provide. We also greatly appreciate your mentioning the cleanliness of the room and are pleased that you found it to be quiet and peaceful at night. Should you be visiting Amsterdam at any time post C-19 we hope that you will choose to stay with us again and take time to not only enjoy our beautiful Wellness Centre and swimming pool, but also to enjoy the mouth-watering buffet breakfast which many regular and first-time guests look forward to as part of their Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam experience. With kind regards, Jesper Lauersen General Manager
Read more
Olivier F wrote a review Jul 2020
38 contributions17 helpful votes
Honestly, i don’t know how the hotel got its 5 stars. The location is good but all the rest is overated ! Beware if you have a car, if the carpark is full you will walk 1.8 km from the nearest car park to get back to the hotel. If you have elderly people with you or young kids it can be a nightmare. The staff is unpleasant and untrained if present at all Nobody at the entrance most of the time, have you ever seen that ? The lobby looks like a mac donalds entrance more than a 5 star hotel. The matresses are full of bumps No towel hangers in the bathroom Cheap junk shower Hot water not constant Doors made with some cheap pine wood Deco is cheap stensils... The keys to rooms are all’damaged, we had to change rooms because keys don’t work I would say it’s a 2 star hotel in a good location. If you’re looking for luxury go for a known branded hotel. This one is not good value for money and is misleading!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrâth Amsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Dear Olivier F. It is always appreciated to hear feedback about our guests’ stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam and we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the high-standards that you expected. The feedback from our guests is always appreciated as this allows us an opportunity to improve our service offerings. Had these been made known to us at the time of your stay have little doubt that the Front Office Team would have done their utmost, within the scope of their authority to address these concerns and apologise if these were not resolved to your satisfaction. As the hotel is housed in a historic shipping building can assure you that the decor, furniture and fittings are all genuine and authentic pieces from the 1910-1930's period at which time the building was built. For this reason the experience and offering is different to many other hotel counterparts and it is regretted if this did not appeal to you. As the entrance foyer is adorned with original wrought iron finshes, stone-crafted marble flooring and wall-paneling, stain-glass windows depicting the Dutch-East India Company sea-faring times and various wooden and stone-carved features, we have struggled to draw any comparison or close resemblance to which you have made reference. We also take this opportunity to clarify that we have a limited number of on-site parkings and in the event that our parking is full, we are more than glad to assist with advising our guests as to alternatives including at Amsterdam Central, the entrance of which is 700m away. I am sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced as a result of our parking being unavailable at the time of your stay. A hotel's five-star rating is achieved as a result of them complying to a list of stringent criteria and it is regretted that you felt that this was not the case with the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are sorry that at the time of your stay, we experienced a problem with some of the room keys and for the inconvenience that this caused. As we are in the process of upgrading our hot-water supply system, regret that there may have been a minor disruption and understand that this was short-lived and quickly resolved. Your feedback about there being no towel hanging hooks in the bathroom is also noted and we are pleased to let you know that these have been fitted in the majority of our rooms and the room(s) in which you were accommodated may have been amongst the minority in which this is still pending. If you were to be visiting Amsterdam again and would like to consider giving us a second chance it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and ensure that you do receive the fine five-star service which many of our regular guests have grown to love and do hope to see you again. With kind regards, Jesper Lauersen General Manager
Read more
C-Pea wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom132 contributions137 helpful votes
I stayed here with my partner at the end of February. Checked in quite late but staff were helpful and we were escorted to our room. I was a bit disappointed to see we had been placed on the very ground floor, no views etc, however the room was fine and turned out to be a quiet location. It was spacious and clean, the bathroom was also, however was always very cold in there! It was a nice touch to have a complimentary mini-bar and stroopwafels when we arrived. The hotel was in a central location and we walked everywhere most of the time, using uber once or twice. The bar in the hotel serves a good selection of drinks and the staff again were friendly, but the service was a bit slow. The tourist tax seemed quite a lot (about £47 for 3 nights) but I didn't question it, I think it had recently been increased.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrath Amsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Responded Jun 18, 2020
Dear Cpeaaa. Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience about your stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. It is always a pleasure to read when guests enjoy their stay as much as you have described and especially happy to hear that the room in which you were placed turned out to be in-keeping with the high standards to which we strive to achieve. Although our Front Office try their hardest to accomodate guests'requests specific rooms and/or features, this is not always possible and depends highly on the availability as well as other factors at the time of the stay. However, all of our rooms are unique in their own special way and one of the reasons why many of our frequent guests enjoy the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam experience. I am sorry that you found the room to be a bit cold, though. As we have many additional heaters for those extra chilly winter nights, I trust that one would have been brought to your room if you had requested one. Thank you for your kind words about the location of the hotel and the amenities which we are pleased to see you enjoyed. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel bar and found the selection of drinks to be good and the sdtaff to be friendly. Unfortunately the Amsterdam City Taks is unavoidable and as you correctly inidicated, had been increased shortly before your stay. Hopefully this will not discourage you from returning to Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam in the near future. With kind regards, Jesper Lauersen General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel amrath amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOld Center / Nieuwmarkt En Lastage / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
205
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Amsterdam Withlocals (0.2 miles), Brews & Tales Amsterdam Craft Beer Tour (0.2 miles), and Cafe Pollux (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Martine of Martine's Table, Eastwood Beer & Grill, and De Koffieschenkerij.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (0.8 miles), Concertgebouw (1.7 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.5 miles).