We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Show Prices
#45 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,019 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,644: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

We had such a lovely 4 night stay in this hotel and I was treated like a queen by every member of staff I dealt with! We stayed in the executive room and when we got to bed every night there were chocolates and bottles of water waiting. I would definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jade M
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jade M, It is to our delight and pleasure to hear you felt treated like a queen. We cannot think of any larger compliment and have shared your feedback for encouragement within our teams already. Should you wish to be pampered again and enjoy all benefits whoch come included when booking an Executice room, we are happy to assist... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 18 months ago and was so impressed it was our first choice for our recent visit to Amsterdam. Nothing has changed, all the good points I mentioned last time are still very much evident. Location, staff, rooms, restaurant, bar, breakfast etc. are all still high quality. On this occasion we arrived at the hotel at 9:30am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Karl S, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your second stay and for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read you appreciated the same level of quality and service you experiences on your previous stay, but regret to learn about your small negative experiences. We will make sure extra attention will be given to avoid... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Just back from one night stay 9/11/14 ,hotel was lovely and staff very friendly we stayed on 11th floor had a lovely view room was spotless very clean ,would highly reccomend and hope to return one day ,well done movenpick we had a wonderful time

Helpful?
Thank deb3778
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear deb3778, It is to our pleasure to know you have had such a wonderful stay in our hotel. Thank you for your overall compliments, we look forward making your next stay a most enjoyable one again. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

So. California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stayed post-Rhine River cruise. Excellent, modern hotel with good service, large quiet room, extra large bathroom, refrigerator, safe, outstanding breakfast buffet. We were lucky and had a view of the water. Don't forget to have European electrical adapters so you can plug in your U.S. devices. There is a hotel shuttle that will drop you off near the main train... More 

Helpful?
Thank bglhvn
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear bglhvn, We hope your river cruise has been as pleasant as your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are so happy to know you have enjoyed visiting our beautiful city of Amsterdam, and highly recommend our hotel for future stays. You may be interested to know, our Front Desk have several adapters available, although it is... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Amsterdam for 4 days. The hotel is in a fantastic location. 2 mins away by tram from central station. Trams run every 5 mins and was very convenient. Ask for a sea view room as views in the evening are great! Also make sure to include breakfast as the buffet was brilliant and included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth B
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Gwyneth B, We are delighted to read your more than positive review concerning your 4 day stay has been such an enjoyable one (and more!). It is motivating to know your found our quiet location fantastic with excellent connections to the hart of the city. We look forward welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

we have just come back from spending 4 days in this lovely hotel. The room was very spacious and clean and we had a fantastic view of Amsterdam. The hotel staff were very friendly and the receptionist was most helpful when we checked in giving us all the info we needed. Some of the reviews say this hotel is abit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenner85
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jenner85, Thank you very much for sharing your detailed and informative positive feedback with us regarding your 4 day stay. It is very encouraging to hear you had such a lovely stay, valued our quiet and easy to access location and friendly and helpful staff. We look forward making your next stay a most enjoyable again. Kind regards, The... More 

Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I stayed over in this hotel for 6 days, and the room was very modern looking which I liked a lot. The staff was very helpfull and cordial. Nice location (within 15 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal) or just a few minutes with the Tram (#26). Overall I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel, everything was perfect. Would definately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jovanny L
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jovanny L, We are more than pleased to learn from your review your 6 day stay has been such an excellent one. It is good to read our modern rooms met up to your personal liking and you received a cordial and adequate service from our staff. Please do stay with us again next time Amsterdam is on your... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

we loved the hotel. The restaurant manager was wonderful. our experience in the bar was less than satisfactory. the bar staff was so rude that we walked out rather than argue about where we were sitting (the bar was maybe at 25% occupancy).

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know you loved our hotel and our Restaurant Manager, compliments have been shared within the related teams already. It is to our regret to hear you did not receive the same valued service in our bar, please accept our... More 

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I stay in the hotel for all my business visit to Amsterdam and must say there has been no changes in the services of the hotel in the last 3 years. Its just a bit outskirt from the city however close to my office hence a great deal. The place is surrounded by water (not canals). You can get superb... More 

Helpful?
Thank SatyajitMahapatra
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear SatyajitMahapatra, Thank you very much for sharing your positive business experiences with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to read you have experiences the same good level of service during your several stays with us, and you appreciate our high quality of F&B. This kind of feedback strives us to continue to provide the service... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Lovely hotel with excellent service admittedly we had an executive room which was on the 20th floor with lovely views of the river and the city. We also got free minibar and access to the executive lounge which supplied free tea, coffee and soft drinks all day and from 5 pm to 7 pm free wine, beer soft drinks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Sheila E, We are happy to see you had a most pleasant stay in our hotel while enjoying all benefits which come included when booking an Executive room in our hotel, such as a free minibar, high speed internet, rooms with splendid views on our top floors etc. Please feel free to contact us directly should you have your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,574 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1511)
Viewed
Room/Suite (293)
Viewed
View from Room (263)
Viewed
Bathroom (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (298)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (495)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)

Neighborhood Profile
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
A visit to Amsterdam’s Eastern Docklands presents the opportunity to marvel at its many modern architectural masterpieces like the Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam and the beguiling Python Bridge while taking in its scenic waterfront with its trendy assortment of cafés, restaurants, bars, and clubs. Here in this post-industrial (though in some parts still very much presently industrial) neighborhood, you’ll find a smart selection of cool galleries and shops as well as the kid-friendly Science Center NEMO and the National Maritime Museum.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Price Range: $176 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay