We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (2503)
360
Panoramas (40)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#141 of 409 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits

Location

Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles7,672 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre receives a mix of feedback, with many guests appreciating its prime location close to key transport links and attractions. While the service elicits mixed reactions, ranging from commendations for efficiency to criticisms of rudeness, the hotel's atmosphere stands out for its modernity, cleanliness, and comfort. Although the rooms are spacious with notable views, some guests suggest improvements in climate control. The amenities are generally well-received, albeit with some remarks about missing basics and dining experiences. Cleanliness is a strong point, but the value proposition has been questioned by several travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Modern
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Pricey
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
7,672Reviews203Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,951
  • 2,621
  • 707
  • 242
  • 151
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ldgp14 wrote a review Apr 14
Walsall, United Kingdom2873 contributions806 helpful votes
We stayed at Movenpick in Amsterdam for 2 nights, it is situated around 15-20 minutes walk from the Central station so really easy to get to. The view from the room was really good and the room itself was also great, really spacious, clean and good amenities. The bar was a great place for a drink at the end of the night and the shop in the lobby is a great idea. All of the staff were really helpful I would say this is a fantastic option for a weekend away in Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback regarding your weekend stay in our hotel. First of all, thank you for selecting our hotel to explore Amsterdam! Obviously, I am delighted to learn you spent such a lovely time in our well appointed and convenient located hotel (views!). Compliments will be shared for motivation. Next time Amsterdam is on your travel plans, we hope to assist you again! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sebastian wrote a review Aug 2022
Railay Beach, Thailand2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Really kind and helpful staff, fully appreciated their flexibility helping us with travel plans as we had some last minute changes come up and they were more than easy around accomodation changes. Recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Sebastian, Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am pleased to hear our team was able to assist you in such a satisfactory way! Compliments will be shared to keep on going this way. We look forward having another chance of welcoming you again! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
vk167 wrote a review Mar 2024
New Delhi, India66 contributions49 helpful votes
Very well located and aesthetically built hotel. Very polite and helpful staff. On their own, volunteered to give me one coupon for free drinks and told me about the free minibar in my room, which I was not aware. Rooms are well designed and very well maintained. Nice breakfast. I would strongly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guesy, Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback, Happy Easter! I have read your several comments, I am truly pleased to learn you created such positive and enjoyable memories during your stay in our well appointed hotel. Compliments will be internally shared! Please feel free to stay again should Amsterdam be on your future travel plans. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fran B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel really provided a tale of two experiences. On the first night I was really impressed with the quality of the room, (the view from the 17th floor), and the facilities. I was booked in for a conference. On booking in I advised the reception that my stay was for 2 nights, and no comment was made to the contrary. A pleasant night eating in the bar, and well looked after by all staff. After a good breakfast I headed off to the event, hosted conveniently next door. After a day at the conference, i returned to the hotel and booked my day bag behind the desk for security, and then attended an evening function in the city, returning approximately 1.00am. I was unable to gain access to the main doors using my room key, and was admitted by security. I was then advised at reception that the room had only been for one night and that no room was available. This was a surprise, as colleagues still had rooms and (aprox 30 in total.) The lobby staff advised that the room had been cleared, but were unable to locate any of the belongings for over one hour. I was concerned that I would be on the street if i could not make a booking at another hotel. After another hour, I managed to get hold of a colleague who had a twin room, and at least get a bed for the night. In the morning, the lobby staff called the head of security, who turned up after another 20 minutes with my clothes in a brown paper bag. They had been registered on a lost and found website when the room was cleared, with the name of the staff member. I was concerned to discover that a sealed duty free carton of cigarettes left in the room was not with the package, or my essential diabetic medication. Security advised they were not there, and were unwilling and unco-operative in recording the loss and suspect theft, despite requests to do so. My experience of the hotel, despite the excellent facilities is that customer service to the standard expected of a highly rated hotel swiftly disappears if a problem arises, and that security of goods left in rooms is questionable at best. Despite my clothing, duty free shopping, medication etc being in the room (and cleared), the hotel made no attempt to contact me to advise there apeared to be a problem, with no interest in discussing the missing medication and goods. Very disapointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Leave nothing of value in your room. Do not expect any help from the hotel if any problems arise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your detailed review on platform TripAdvisor. Together, with my related teams, we have carefully read your several comments. There are, as you well indicate two sides of this story and do not believe it is appropriate, within the GDPR and on this platform, to go into further details. Should you need our assistance please contact our hotel directly: hotel.amsterdam@movenpick.com Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracy G wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service provided by this hotel is faultless. The porters were happy informative and fun. The concierge and reception staff made our stay exceptional. Our room was spotless with all the necessary extras we needed, from toiletries to mini bar and beverages. The view from our room was stunning! Only a stones throw away from the excitement and resturants of the canal area but allows a true look at the beauty of real Amsterdam. The prices of food and drink were also better than most lesser hotels I have stayed in, with no compromise on quality and presentation. All in all this will be my go to chain of hotels wherever there is one. Thanks movenpick......
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Tracy, Thank you very much for sharing your more than positive feedback, encouraging from the beginning to the end! I am truly happy to learn we were able to meet to all of your expectations. As fellow readers might know, compliments will always be internally shared for motivational reasons. Anytime you have the chance to visit Amsterdam once more, we certainly hope to assist you again! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fendy S wrote a review Mar 2024
Jakarta, Indonesia105 contributions44 helpful votes
The hotel is very nice, nestled in the waterfront and very close to the main station, literally only 1 stop from the station. This makes it very easy to explore amsterdam city or neighbouring location. Staffs are very welcoming and helpful, especially Yuga and Han who helped us woth early check in so we can refresh ourselves after 14 hrs flight. They also provided us with room that suit our preference, additionally it is clean, modern, very comfortable and the bathroom floor is heated. This is really a nice hotel to stay and very recommended for both leisure and business. The wifi is great, lobby is nice and it is also close to cruise port. Thank you for all staffs that make our stay memorable, especially Yuga and Han
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It can be windy during winter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Mar 11, 2024
Dear Stevano, Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback, we hope you arrived home/ or to your next destination safely. I have taken note of your several comments, and I am truly happy and proud to hear we made your stay such a memorable and enjoyable one. Compliments will be internally shared, especially with Yuga & Han! Please feel free to stay again next time you travel to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erika El Madi wrote a review Mar 2024
Quincy, Massachusetts9 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during a transition between Brussels and flying home. We had to wait in line for over 30 minutes to check in. There were staff handing out Dixie cups of chocolate, but it didn't make up for the prolonged wait. The pillows were honestly the latest pillows I've ever laid on and there were only 2 pillows for our whole king bed. I called down for more twice and they never came. The floors in the bathroom were heated which was a nice touch in the cloudy, rainy weather. It was a perfectly average hotel, but I can't say the comfort was there. Location wise, the hotel has a nice view of the water, and you can see the ferries coming and going from Central Station. It is a minimum of 15 minutes walking to reach the ring of the city, and at least 10 minutes to the train station which although not the worst, felt long in the cold, windy rain. The hotel is right next to the cruise port, so I imagine in the warmer months it may be a much more busy area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Mar 4, 2024
Dear Erika, Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experiences in our hotel. I have read your several comments and I am glad to hear you were satisfied in general. However, I do regret and apologize for the fact we could not entirely meet to your expectations. Please be assured your feedback will be internally shared for learning purposes where needed. Should you plan another future visit to Amsterdam, we certianly hope to assist you again. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrs.C wrote a review Feb 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom412 contributions128 helpful votes
One of the most comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in. The bed was amazing and the linen and pillows were to die for. We were upgraded on arrival and the room was fantastic with an amazing view. You couldn't ask for more, we will without doubt stay here again. It is a little bit off the beaten track but you do have trams just over the road should you find it difficult to walk far. It was a 5* experience
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Feb 27, 2024
Dear Emke, Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful and more than encouraging feedback, this is much appreciated! I am delighted to learn we met to all of your expectations form the beginning to the end. Please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly for your future travel plans! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jill D wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice accommodations and location and amazing breakfast bar . Easy to get on public transportation from this location . The view was wondering looking at the river and city . Only issue we had was our converter didn’t work and the hotel was only able to give one to us because so many ppl needed one .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Expensive but convenient
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Feb 26, 2024
Dear Tjilld, Thank you very much for selecting our convenient and well appointed hotel for exploring Amsterdam! Good to hear you appreciated the convenience of our location close to where it all happens and the lovely city views. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Amsterdam. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona H wrote a review Feb 2024
London, England, United Kingdom41 contributions23 helpful votes
We chose this hotel because of it's good location & it was one of the few we found where breakfast was included. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly, professional and helpful receptionist. She actually moved us to a room with a better view, when she established it was our first stay in Amsterdam. The room itself was big,(we thought), with a huge bed, a sofa the length of the room, table, coffee machine, HUGE bathroom with a large walk-in shower and plenty of storage. It was warm and welcoming. The view was good, especially at night with the lights & the fab sunrise in the morning. We had no noise problem at all. The breakfast was UNBELIEVABLE!. Fruit, cereals, cheese, scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms, tomato etc oh, and they will cook an omelette on the spot with a filling of your choice. Pastries, pancakes and very nice chunky slices of bread for toasting. It's quite safe to say we ate our fill and this carried us through to the late afternoon. Absolutely delicious. Checking out was quick and simple. ALL the members of staff we interacted with were friendly and interested. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam and would highly recommend this hotel ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Buy a travel card for the length of your stay when you get to Central Station. It's impossible to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded Feb 23, 2024
Dear Flo, Thank you very much for sharing such positive and encouraging feedback, this is much appreciated! I have read your several comments, I am very happy to hear we were able to meet to all of your expectations. A good breakfast is a great start of your day before exploring Am,sterdam, in combination with a good night rest. Compliments are always being internally shared! Please stay again upon your next visit to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moevenpick hotel amsterdam city amsterdam, movenpick hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam East / Zeeburg / Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
408
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOVENPICK HOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY CENTRE - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (The Netherlands)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Nearby attractions include NEMO Science Museum (0.3 miles), Bimhuis (0.04 miles), and Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Choux, Scheepskameel, and Hannekes Boom.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.1 miles), Portuguese Synagogue (0.8 miles), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.8 miles).