We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam The Netherlands
E-mail hotel
15 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$166
View deal
Expedia.com
$153
View deal
Traveluro
$138
View deal
Hotels.com$153
Travelocity$153
travelup.com$167
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2366)
360
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (1323)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 08/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#147 of 417 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
7474Reviews200Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,848
  • 2,580
  • 686
  • 230
  • 130
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pål Dahl Andersen wrote a review Yesterday
Stavanger, Norway7 contributions
The hotel is nice and the location before a cruise is perfect! Emailed hotel before arrival asking about possibility to take a covid test before our cruise in the area. I was told to ask when I arrived… When we arrived at the hotel to early to check in, I asked if the had any rooms ready. They didn’t have, but she said she was going to put us in the list to get it ready fast. Over an hour later when check in should start, the room was still not ready, but they said to sit and wait and they would come with the key as soon it was ready. An hour later, still no rooms ready. Over one and a half hour after check in and several questions, we finely got our key. All this time we where not offers anything. Not a drink or anything. And the staff couldn’t care less. In the room we planned to get som room service. The map that should be room service menu didn’t have any menu. Checked out the TV. The room service menu on the TV only had old covid info, and no menus. Asked the housekeeper that came to make the extra bed they didn’t get ready all the time we waited.Had to go down to the restaurant to find a menu. Tried to call room service on the phone from the room, but it didn’t work. Tried to call the front desk, only busy. Called the hotel from my cellphone, and they connected me too room service. The food arrived fast and was very good! So no need to hide the menu! After using a lot of time get to a covid test 3pm in walk from the hotel, we found out it is possible to get the test taken in our room…. But nobody bothered to tell us this when I emailed or when we asked at the front desk. The hotel is really nice, so the problem is only with the service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded today
Dear Paal, Thank you for sharing your more than detailed feedback on TripAdvisor, and hopefully you did the same while staying with us. I have read your several comments with regards to your stay, your COVID-19 related inquiries, your room not being ready when arriving so early and your room service order. First my apologies if you did not experience a more smooth stay and service with us. Without booking and name details, I am unable to investigate mentioned issues, and more important share your complete feedback for improvement purposes accordingly. When arriving early during the high season, many times the related hotel (our hotel in this case) being fully booked, rooms are not available as the in house guests still need to check out, rooms need to be prepared for our arriving guests etc. This is a common practice you can find everywhere. Of course our staff is more than happy to make an early check in happen if possible. Therefore, as my team well explained to you, we can make use of the room waiting line to create a more "honest" early check in for our early arriving guests. When traveling from abroad/ oversees with an early flight, you might consider booking an additional night and ensure your room being ready upon arrival! Upon check in all our guests are being provided with a Room service menu. Good to hear this met to your expectations! Should you have the chance to visit our hotel or another accommodation in the future, may I kindly invite you to share your feedback directly? Your opinion is much appreciated and allows us to assist you! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
hagerrc1 wrote a review Aug 10
32 contributions54 helpful votes
Stayed here when our Viking River Cruise had changes due to low water on the Rhine. Nice hotel but average service at best. Nothing close to hotel. They appeared to be overwhelmed by the number of guests. Close to Amsterdam Centraal train station
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded today
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experiences. I have read your several comments and regret to learn we were unable to meet to your expectations, my apologies for this. I hope you were able to continue and enjoy the rest of your cruise and wish you all the best. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
Graeme H wrote a review Aug 8
Lake Macquarie, Australia167 contributions65 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the cruise terminal and is a tram rise away from central station and the centre of Amsterdam Rooms were well appointed and clean and up to normal Accor standard. Hotel appears to have issues with staffing their barsa and restaurants with a busy Sunday evening the lobby bar was shut and with our late arrival were not able to get a reservation in the hotel restaurant as :it was booked out". We wondered why reception staff handed us a room service menu but did not provide any explanation. We finally received our room service 50 min after ordering . I was a little annoyed that this was only alternative for dining in the hotel and refused to pay the room service charge. Breakfast was well presented with ample fresh food. All I ask in current testing times in the hospitality industry customers are advised upfront of closures or difficulties they may be experiencing. We stay with major hotel chains at times because they offer a consistent product.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Graeme, Thank you very much for your detailed and overall positive feedback. I have read your several comments and I am pleased to hear our convenient and well appointed hotel/ facilities met to your specific expectations. Please be kindly informed, mentioned weekend and evening we were unexpectedly overwhelmed by the large number of guests in our F&B outlets. While we were happy to welcome them, at the same time we were unable to predict this in advance and inform our other valued guests like you in advance/ and in time. I hope you understand this can happen in all type of accommodations worldwide! Thank you once more for your understanding and looking forward to your return stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
lamd98 wrote a review Aug 7
Lethbridge, Canada318 contributions116 helpful votes
We chose this hotel because we had to leave on a cruise the next day and were pleasantly surprised by how close it was to the pier…a few minutes walking. Since we are in good shape walked the City Centre from the hotel and the train station is close by as well. Loved the view from the windows and finally a hotel that had plenty of plugins for our phones and iPads, good beds. Breakfast was ok, very busy and you sit right next to somebody else on long tables.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your more than positive and detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to learn you were happily surprised by the convenience of our location for your specific travel needs and our comfortable room with splendid views! Should you prefer not to walk tram 26 brings you to the Central Station. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
bianco1984 wrote a review Aug 5
tabuk3 contributions
The location of the hotel is excellent and close to the Central Station and the view is great on the river as well as the presence of a tram station on the opposite side of the hotel, it is necessary to climb stairs and towards the opposite street and also close to shopping centers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Bianco, Thank you very much for your positive review, this is much appreciated! I am happy to find out our convenient and unique location on the banks of the "IJ" t to your expectations! Should Amsterdam be on your future travel plans we certainly hope to assist you again. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
davethedrill wrote a review Aug 4
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom2172 contributions739 helpful votes
Second stay in this hotel Many positives Easy check in and out Very professional staff Near the station We travelled on Eurostar so ideal short walk to the hotel Easy walk into the city centre Room was fine The breakfasts were magnificent and deserve special praise The gym was ok Could do with a water station here and the mats are slippy Lovely sauna HOWEVER I find it very disappointing and totally unacceptable that there is no bar for residents after 10pm This lets the hotel down immensely Please 🙏🙏 sort this out before I return then it’s a sure fire 5 rating
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dave, Many thanks for your return stay in our hotel and for sharing such positive feedback. I am more than happy to learn we met to.. almost all of your expectations! Please be kindly informed, we provide with a water station inside our Saunas, located after the fitness area. We will also have a look into the slippy mats. Due to staff challenges, we are not able to offer a full evening opening of our bar (yet?). We accept your 4 star rating (!) and thank you in advance for your kind understanding. We hope to welcome you back soon, Dave! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
Dorene N wrote a review Aug 3
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This could be a nice hotel the rooms are nice. But the elevator was not working properly, key cards for room kept deactivating, the internet was in and out, no soap in the bathroom dispenser and not filled after 2 days of housekeeping. I wouldn’t really call it housekeeping new towels were replaced and that was it. Bed not made, coffee machine doesn’t work. I left a note and it wasn’t fixed or the tea and coffee pods were not replenished. I’m not sure what was going on if they were too busy but service was non existent. It is convenient to the river cruise boats but nothing else. I was disappointed in the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your several experiences. I have read your several comments and sincerely apologize for not having assisted you in a more guest oriented way. Please accept my apologies and be assured your housekeeping issues this will be addressed directly. The fact one elevator being unexpectedly out of order as well as the WIFI connection being inconsistent has been, regretfully, issues which have not been in our hands and can happen. Out team has been on top of this and solve this accordingly. Besides this I hope you spent enjoyable moments as well. Should you visit Amsterdam in the future I hope you will consider staying with us again. Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
Moussa H wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
First off, the hotel is beautiful and clean. It is a business hotel and real busy. The staff is nice and helpful but are very busy. I came in too early and returned at check in time just to be told to wait, which I did. However, I was 6 in after a redeye flight and very tired. While I was waiting for about and hour after my check in time, I saw every other guest get a room. So I asked for my room again and was told to wait. I refused and politely said "I will not wait. Everyone is getting a room except me; if my room isn't ready, get me one that is." The rep understood and found a room for me. The rooms are clean and posh. My only complaints is that the bed has one pillow only. The pillows are so soft that they flatten out while you sleep and become pointless. Second the AC didn't really work but the room was cool regardless. Lastly, the bathroom door is made of glass and does not lock or fully close. If you are staying alone with your significant other, than it's not an issue. However, if you are staying with children, which I was, then it can be a problem of getting walked in on constantly. Overall, I love the location of the hotel. It is very clean. Everyone is so nice and helpful. My complaints are not really complaints but things that stood out to me, which can be better. I do recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again, without children.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Moussah, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your detailed and overall positive review. Please allow me to react to your (late) check in; we can certainly understand you might feel tired or exhausted after a long trip from home. As there are many early arriving guests, at busy moments we are able to allocate each reservation of our arriving guests with a number in our system, depending on the arrival time. This way we aim to create a more honest check in accordingly. My apologies for your unpleasant experiences! Please do not hesitate to contact our team during your stay for any assistance you may need; more pillows, explanation of our Climate Control system etc. Thank you once more for your suggestions. It would be our pleasure having a chance to welcome you again! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
Wendy S wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
I can't say enough positive comments about the wonderful staff at Movenpick Amsgerdam City Centre. 2 people in our group of 4 were unable to walk the city tour and waited in the lobby; the hotel personnel informed them as soon as possible that thebeautiful rooms were ready for early check-in. Dining: the hotel was very busy with a banquet, Viking River Cruise guests, and many others on a very rainy night; while reservations ahead of time would have been preferable, we were added to the list, added to the room service list as another option, and were seated as soon as possible with our hostess being very apologetic for the wait but extremely gracious. My primary thanks go to Gloria Nielfa, personal assistant to the General Manager, who, when notified that I had left an important package in my room: located the package, shipped and INSURED the items, and most inportant to me, personally stayed in contact with me through the entire process. Her willingness to help, her responsiveness, and her professionalism helped me through this stressful time. I feel I have gained several new friends at this hotel, and hope to return. Meanwhile, I've made recommendations to friends traveling to Amsterdam soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The views over the waterways and the city from the 18th floor are spectacular!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for your more than positive feedback! I am truly glad to hear you spent such a lovely time in our well appointed hotel, and our entire team, especially my assistant Gloria went above and beyond to make you feel taken care off. Compliments will be personally shared! Thank you also for recommending our hotels to others. Please do contact us should you have your future travel dates in mind! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
aaronbrionneneilson wrote a review Aug 2
Cedar City, Utah1 contribution
We stayed here after completing a cruise, and the location next to the cruise port was perfect. We were able to store our luggage at the hotel and explore the city while waiting to check in. The hotel staff provided us a map and excellent recommendations. At our check in later on, we were very happy with our room. Comfortable bed (with customizable firmness settings), a beautiful view, and very clean all around. We opted for room service for dinner, and the food was excellent. We would definitely return and recommend to others. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. It was a great way to end our vacation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Aaron and Brionne, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfactory experiences. Your comments are highly appreciated as this is very informative for our (future) travelers and guests! Compliments are always being shared within our teams for encouragement accordingly. Should you have the chance to visit Amsterdam once more we certainly hope to assist you again! Kind regards, Remco Groenhuijzen General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moevenpick hotel amsterdam city amsterdam, movenpick hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam East / Zeeburg / Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
408
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Nearby attractions include NEMO Science Museum (0.3 miles), Bimhuis (0.04 miles), and Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Choux, Scheepskameel, and Hannekes Boom.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.