We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

B&B Barangay

Travelers' Choice award winner
Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
Panoramas (6)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a hidden gem! Whenever we choose to go away my girlfriend always leaves the accommodation up to me. After searching trip advisor for the perfect place to stay in Amsterdam I happened to stumble upon this wonderful place. The B&B is located on a street called Drogbak (I think) and is close in location to almost everything you would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorn M
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Wow... such a lovely and very on the spot review. We are very honoured to read your opinion about us. We indeed try our very best to offer the best to the guests. Nothing to add to your great review. We hopefully see you soon. Tropical regards, Ed More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in Amsterdam many times and this is by far the best! Firstly, Wimmo & Edson were so welcoming & helpful. Location is brilliant. The breakfast was delicious & bought to your door every day. One morning we had an omelette which was so tasty! Also fresh crepes! Our Tropical double room was lovely & clean & quiet!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboobie
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Mabuhay!! We are grateful to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and the breakfasts. Edson also try every time to re-invent the breakfasts offer every time to give you the very best. We are happy to have been chosen as your best accommodation in Amsterdam. We look forward to see you soon. Tropical regards. Godwin, Eds & Wimmo More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all I'm feel so greatful about the warm and cosy welcome and for all the time of staying . This place it's so magical and impressive the picture that you see in here and in other places tell just half story you've got to check it out by yourself to feel it ! The B&B Barangay is located... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Barangay Team at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Mabuhay! Wow wow wow. What a great review. We are very honoured and happy that you took the time to write such a lovely review and very detailed at that. Also, a good reminder to those less abled, Barangay might not be suitable. We also try our very best to give the service all guests deserved. Hope to see you... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We went to Amsterdam for New Years. We stayed in Barangay b&b for 4 nights. The room was very expensive but I knew the price before I booked so I'm not complaining. The thing is paying 1000 euros for what we had for 4 nights was a bit disappointing. Overall experience in the b&b was just ok. At the first... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank M_sza
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Hello Justina, First of all, Happy new year to both of you and I hope you had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and enjoyed your stay with us. I also want to thank you for making a time to write a review and we really appreciate it also for us to make an improvement. However, some of the things you... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

My husband and I stayed here in December and would do so again. The location is a 5 min walk from the main train station, but very quiet. Our hosts were gracious and provided exceptional service and a great room.

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Nice to hear from you again. Thank you for your review and its nice to hear that you are happy to our service that we provide. We hope to hear from you again on your next trip. Happy new year. More 

maynooth Co.Kildare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

The B&B is about a ten minute walk from the Central station and in a really nice part of Amsterdam. We were welcomed by the owner and unfortunately we were double booked - normally this would have been a disaster but for Barangay this was no issue. They had arranged an apartment for us 5 minutes walk from the B&B.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jenjacknick
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for writing a review. We are pleased that you also like the alternative on the first night and enjoyed the rest of the stay in our Bed & Breakfast. The stairs are challenge indeed but you get used to it after few times of doing it. Lets cheers to that. We wish you a Happy New Year and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Right from knocking the door we recieved tremendous welcome and customer service we was greated by a lovely gentleman who got us drinks and introduced us to the b&b and the city showing us a map and explaining where different things were which was good as was first visit to the city. The room was amazing we was in ore... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank EvansLucy
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Hello Lucy, Thank you so much for the review. We try our very best to please our guest. We are so happy that you loved the room that we gave and definitely will see you again in March. looking forward to that. Happy New Year. More 

Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Probably was the best b&b experience I ever had. The location is very good - just 5 minutes walk from the centraal and all possible public transport. Great area as well, lots of good restaurants snd coffeeshops on Haarlemstraat. The place itself phenomenal for a b&b. Super clean and friendly. Great breakfast in bed (!) and great room facilities with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaxK3
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

Aloha... Thanks for the fantastic review. We are very glad to know that the staff has been very nice in taking care of you. We are just back from vacation ourselves. We hope to see you next time around. Tropical regards, godxxx More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights and found the location to be perfect. As stated by others, A lovely welcome and drink upon arrival and we stayed in the patio room (tropical theme). Very clean, modern bathroom, towels made into swans (nice) and lots of goodies to eat which was useful after a first coffee shop experience where I wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane b
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

hola JANE. mabuhay !! thanks for staying with us and a million thanks for your lovely review. indeed, we try to provide the best service there is and we are happy your enjoyed your stay and our facilities and other goodies. we hope to see you next time around. regards from the tropical boys, wimmo, edson & godxxx More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was always good and fresh. Wifi was good and it was in the perfect location. I couldn't fault it at all and would recommend this b&b to anyone staying in Amsterdam. Libby & Josh (Best b&b we've stayed in!)

Helpful?
Thank libbbond
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Barangay Team at B&B Barangay, responded to this review

hallo LIBBY & JOSH. thanks a million for a lovely review. we try our very best for our guests comfort. for the location, we dont need to try, we are lucky to have found this house. in the middle of everything within the UNESCO World Heritage Site but without the maddening crowd. again, we are very honoured that you recommend... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

592 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (142)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (278)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Master Tropical Room (55)
Viewed
Patio Room (70)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Upper Tropical Room (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay