We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
$218
View deal
Booking.com
$250
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$215
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/03/22
Hotels.com$218
Expedia.com$218
Travelocity$218
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (360)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#165 of 419 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.8
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Amsterdam, The College Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its quiet environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The College Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Amsterdam.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at The College Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. Guests of The College Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a lounge, located on site.

Nearby landmarks such as Hagelswag (1.1 mi) and The Jordaan (1.5 mi) make The College Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Amsterdam.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Amsterdam's popular souvlaki restaurants such as Santorini Greek Taverna, De 2 Grieken, and Zorba De Griek, all a short distance from The College Hotel.

Should time allow, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, and Vondelpark are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, The College Hotel is sure to make your visit to Amsterdam one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
101Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
781Reviews12Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 275
  • 285
  • 120
  • 62
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Monique T wrote a review Sep 2022
West Wickham, United Kingdom30 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed for a long weekend to attend an AJAX game. The rooms are a nice size. We did not eat in the hotel but the menu looks ok. Not a lot of selection but there are restaurants all around the hotel. The staff were friendly and we will most likely stay there again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Tram is close to the hotel so it’s very easy to get around.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luuk Verzijl, General Manager at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 140moniquet, Thank you so much for you recent stay at The College Hotel Amsterdam. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Our restaurant Mondi has a wide selection of beautiful fresh dishes and great for sharing. Additionally, in our bar we also offer various snacks. Once again, thank you for your feedback and your recent stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the hotel. Kind regards, Luuk Verzijl General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sissythatwalk wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom187 contributions34 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Alway stayed at The College Hotel whilst in Amsterdam. I have been a guest for nearly twenty years and not once, had a fault with The College Hotel in all these years. The hotel from spacious rooms, cleanliness is spot on, as well as a great menu and wine selection. Let's not forget about the faboulous breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordi Majoor, Gastenservice/Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review, what a pleasure to welcome you already for almost twenty years. We are looking forward to the next time that you are staying with us again. Warm regards, Team The college Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bibi wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We had a wonderful stay at the College Hotel in Amsterdam. Located just a few feet away from the Rijksmuseum and all the tourist highlights, its truly is an oasis of peace and quiet. Their garden for drinks and dinner is an absolute delight and allows you to get re-energized after a busy day of sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and the service from the staff is great. Friendly faces and willing to go the extra mile. We did not eat in their Carribean style restaurant ‘MONDI’ but did have an aperatif in the courtyard. Can highly reccommend their alcohol free champagne for all fellow non-drinkers or pregnant ladies. It was the best non-alcoholic bubble i have had. Also great creative cocktails and they can advise on how to pair with a snack. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordi Majoor, Guest Services / Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Dear Bibic2020, Thank you for staying in The College Hotel and leaving us a review! We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Thank you for the compliments about the location of our hotel. I will make sure that all of your lovely words for our staff will reach them. We hope that you will come back to our beatiful hotel to also try our Carribean Style restaurant ''Mondi'' I can recommend it for sure! Looking foward to welcome you agian. Warm regards, Team The College Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A M wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions
The location of this hotel could not be better. It is a very walkable location conveniently located to restaurants, shops, and a major tram intersection. My room was spacious and adequately appointed, but the noise in the hotel and outside was very loud. The lock on the door did not work and was not repaired during my stay. Nor was I able to adjust the room temperature and it was too warm to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordi Majoor, Gastenservice/Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Thank you for writing this review about your visit to our hotel, your feedback will help us to improve us as a hotel. What good to hear that you would recommend our hotel because of it's location. During your stay we were replacing all the old door-locks for electronic door-locks unfortunately, this caused some problems which resulted that we we're not able to make key-cards and therefore the reception had to go with you to the room to open the door. We hope that you are willing to come back to our hotel and that next time that you are staying with us you would have a better experience in our hotel. Warms regards, Team The College Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert G wrote a review Jun 2022
11 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is quite charming, built from an 1890s school, with a lovely library and several books and crannies that make one feel like he/she is back in a different time It is also well situated, in a relatively quiet area but only 10 minutes from the canals Breakfast buffet and menu items are plentiful and tasty, like that in many European hotels However it lacks modern amenities, especially a fitness center and US outlets, as well as guaranteed creature comforts The hotel lost hot water in the morning making showering more than challenging To put salt on the wound there was no apology or recompense, despite my asking the front desk to have the manager speak to me ( she never did)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordi Majoor, Guest Services / Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel, we as a team aprriciate your feedback a lot. What nice to read that you find our hotel charming, and well located in the city centre. We are very sorry that we lost the hot water in the hotel that specific morning due maintenance, after we noticed that we lost hot water in the hotel we took immediate action with our maintenance department and an external company to resolve the problem, we are very sorry for the inconvenience due this. Last month we made an agreementl with a high-end fitness centre 250 meter from the hotel, so we now offer the possibility for our hotel guests to make free use of that. We hope that you are willing to come back so we can offer you the service that you would expect from us. Warm regards, Team The College Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosa E wrote a review Jan 2022
Stockholm, Sweden101 contributions85 helpful votes
When we first checked in (separately) we were both extremely disappointed in how we were greeted. I checked in earlier and went out after informing the staff that my sister would be arriving later. Yet when she arrived she was told that she couldn't enter without me letting her in! The room although very nicely designed was not as clean as you would expect/want. Unfortunately there are only single pane windows with a very busy tram station and intersection right outside. It could have been nice if earplugs hade been provided.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ron wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Wine or coffee stains on carpet were numerous. TV not working. Coffee cabinet broken. Badly lit room conceals carpet mess. Unacceptable for a so called Deluxe Room. Complain Immediately . Over priced for such poor attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nick S wrote a review Oct 2021
Saint Julian's, Malta12 contributions2 helpful votes
From all the receptionists to staff working at bars both breakfast and night, to the lovely cleaners - all made my stay a true Amsterdam experience. Colleagues were able to come and rent bikes, I had advice where to get me corona check, breakfast in bed, great Caribbean food first night with fantastic cocktails - not to mention the setting… An old school with a rich history, arches, beams, red brick and stained glass windows. Our entire company contingent stayed so a good number of people and all loved it equally. Thank you to all the staff from top to bottom who made my stay so nice and catered to us so well. Thanks and see you next year 💯
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jansje H wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
This is such beautiful hotel with great interior if you like classic hotels, but a bit more eye for detail would be great. We stayed in a room that was not soundproof at all, we could even follow the conversations of the people in the room next to us, and their alarm clock woke us up. The hotel was not fully booked at all, so they should have considered this. Overall, average.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Amazing location, service can be better
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The College Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Dear Jansjehenry, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful hotel. As you may know our hotel is a monumental building and therefor we cannot change the structure inside or outside of the building. This may contribute to the soundproofing of the hotel room. On the night of your stay, the room type you booked was fully booked, therefor a different room option was not possible. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review. We hope to welcome you again soon, Kind regards, Team The College Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha J wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York80 contributions50 helpful votes
Gorgeous garden but filled with rats ! Can you image such a great location and beautiful outdoor terrace with posh chairs and nice umbrellas drinking great wines and then there are rats. Lots of them. Running around in the bushes. So yes we ran out of there after our second drink. And what does college hotel say ? “Yeah it’s Amsterdam there is rates everywhere.” Sorry you lost us as returning customers. We hope that you find some poison soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Louise Wallace, Guest Services / Front Office at The College Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Jul 8, 2021
Dear Samantha J, Thank you for taking the time to post, we are saddened that you experienced the vermin on our terrace. This indeed an issue that can be found in Amsterdam, but be assured that here at the hotel we have very regular checks by a professional company to control the issue. We are pleased however that you enjoyed our location and design of our new concept of Mondi. We sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you again to Mondi The College Hotel Team & Mondi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$205 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam South / Oud Zuid / Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The College Hotel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Terra Incognita (0.2 miles), Fenix Books (0.2 miles), and Gallery Modern (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Floreyn, Jaspers, and EN Japanese kitchen & sake bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The College Hotel Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The College Hotel Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to The College Hotel Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (0.3 miles), Portuguese Synagogue (1.4 miles), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.4 miles).
Does The College Hotel Amsterdam have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.