We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Traveler (289)
360
Panoramas (9)
Dining (46)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
180Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
34Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Contact
Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Amsterdam-Schiphol Airport7 mi
Rotterdam Airport34 mi
Weesperplein11 min
Waterlooplein12 min
Neighborhood
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
624Reviews
481Photos
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 339
  • 187
  • 55
  • 26
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our room had canal view and it was very good room for families.Excellent breakfast. Room was clean and very good canal view. Location is also good. Hotel is very close to museums, heineken experience and kalverstraat. Highly recommended.
Read more
Response from Canal_Hotel, General Manager at Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fiberkartal, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Amsterdam and that the location of our hotel was perfect for all your sightseeing desires. Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Read more
Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. Pros: Close to metro, great breakfast, nice staff, comfortable beds. Cons: rooms are small, bad smell in 2nd building, very narrow stairs, very noisy, room outlets did not work and short circuited my blow dryer. Now it doesn't work. I did not
Read more
Response from Canal_Hotel, General Manager at Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trvelhi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this honest review of your experience with us. We always appreciate guest comments and feedback as it allows us to grow and improve. We are really sorry to read that the outlet circuited your blow dryer and that we did not send someone to fix this for you! This is not the quality of service we strive to provide everyday, and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that it caused. Thank you again, and hopefully we will have another chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the standards we try to achieve daily. Warm regards, Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Read more
We stayed on the 3rd floor, being concerned about noise from other reviews the hotel happily accommodated our request for a quieter room. However, the hotel is noisy, this is simply because it’s an old building and it is situated on a busy street where the trams travel along so
Read more
Response from Canal_Hotel, General Manager at Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fionaa748, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are so happy to read that our staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed your stay with us in Amsterdam. We are really sorry to read that you were bothered by the noises inside the hotel and on the street, and that the bed was not comfortable due to the crack in the middle. This is not the quality of service we strive to provide everyday, and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that it caused. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Read more
My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights in room 108 in the Residence staircase. The hotel is made of 2 staircases, each with a separate entrance from the street. Breakfast is in the hotel part, so we had to go out and in again :-( Room 108 is actually on the 3rd floor!!,
Read more
Response from Canal_Hotel, General Manager at Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Egermadar, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this honest review of your experience with us. We always appreciate guest comments and feedback as it allows us to grow and improve. We are happy to hear you did enjoy the complimentary mini bar in your room and the location of the hotel itself. We are really sorry to read that you had difficulty with the steepness of the stairs to your room - we hope our staff was able to assist you in carrying any heavy items to and from your room. This is not the quality of service we strive to provide everyday, and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that it caused. Thank you again, and hopefully we will have another chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the standards we try to achieve daily. Warm regards, Amsterdam Canal Hotels
Read more
A lovely hotel with a very friendly staff in the middle of Amsterdam. We did the Amsterdam Light Festival (ALF) around 17.00 hours by boat from the hotel. Our skipper Hans was great, with lots of information about the city and the ALF artworks. ALF is always in December until
Read more
Response from Canal_Hotel, General Manager at Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Wendelaatje, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Amsterdam and that you were able to join in on the complimentary boat tour while you were with us and got to enjoy the ALF! Such a spectacular sight. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Amsterdam Canal Hotels
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAmsterdam Canal Hotel
The Deluxe Room with Canal View & Balcony at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAmsterdam Canal Hotel
The Deluxe Room with Canal View & Balcony at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAmsterdam Canal Hotel
The Deluxe Room with Canal View at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Udsigt fra 2. sal om aften.
PreviousNext
12345634
It is faily far but there is a tram that stops out front.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi we have just returned. The room had 1 bottle beer, 2 waters, 2 cola and this was restocked daily. Also, nespresso machine. The complimentary lounge was self service and included wines, soft drinks, beers, teas, coffees. We didn’t see spirits. Food was breads, 5-6 cheese on platter, 4-5 meats on platter, fruits, pickles and condiments, tortilla chips, small sweet cakes. Was very welcome after a day exploring before heading out to dinner later on.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear A M, The higher you go, the more you see! Of course climbing up the stairs is part of a better view! Our deluxe rooms with canal view have an even better view, because the windows are a lot bigger!
-2 votes
Dear A M, Thank you for your interest in The Amsterdam Canal Hotel. We do have to room types which are over looking the canals. The standard room with canal view and the deluxe room with canal view. Beside a slightly different layout of the rooms, the main difference is the bathroom. The standard room has a rain fall shower, and the deluxe room is equipped with bathtub with a whirlpool function. Once again thank you and feel free to contact us in case of any questions.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"ask for first floor room in main building"
"Rooms on lower floor would benefit those who have difficulty with stairs! See my comment above. This was not an issue for me."
"#4 or #5 are on the ground floor"
"there are no elevators so ask for a room in the lower levels,"
"Perhaps go for the canal view upgrade"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamDe WeteringschansCentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing