We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Grand Hotel Downtown

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 735: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

This hotel is promoted as a 4 star hotel and barley meets that aspiration. It has a good location (walking distance of the centre) with nice restaurants and bars nearby. On arrival, late on Monday the room had a smell of damp clothes/drains coming from the bathroom! Perhaps it was because the room had not been used for a while?... More 

Helpful?
Thank David K
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences in such a detailed way, which is of course highly appreciated. We are happy to notice you have been satisfied with our unique location in one of the most sparkling neighbourhoods in the city. We regret to be informed there was a bad odour in the room caused by the drain. Please be kindly... More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Exellent hotel and staff Room was amazing enjoyed it all already booked again :) The view from balcony was great The whole Experience was amazing we loved it here close to everything And the areas brill

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisaian2006
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant review and 5 points rating! We are really happy we have exceed your expectations and you have had such an amazing overall experience. We loved to read you have had such a wonderful stay with us. Our staff is thrilled about your nice compliment. Very pleasant to notice you have appreciated the room you have... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Although we did initially have some trouble with our room the staff were really friendly and kind and did everything they could to make sure my boyfriend and I had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel in Amsterdam. This hotel is in a fantastic location and does not cost nearly as much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Snackers
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel via this review. We loved to read that the staff has been most helpful with resolving all the issues right away during your stay in order the make it a comfortable one. Your compliment for our trendy location in one of the most sparkling districts of the city is highly appreciated... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is rated four stars but I am not sure why. The lobby is small and the staff on duty was awol. On one occasion, I found the person on duty standing outside in the court yard on his cellphone and another time he went to the bathroom. No one else was on duty. The rooms are clean but... More 

Helpful?
Thank RLissak
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Please be kindly informed the Manager on Duty in case had to handle an emergency case for one of our guests and had to phone several emergency numbers while checking the guest. The room you have stayed in is one of our Deluxe rooms with a size of 23 square metres. We... More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

I really do not understand the negative comments about this hotel on here.. Were you staying in the same hotel as us??? Check in was quick and the receptionist was pleasant and helpful when we asked about the trams and times etc. We had booked a large penthouse suite and it was amazing, big clean room with one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LisamarieHardy
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Wow 5 points! Thank is really so great! Thank you very much for your amazing review. It is always nice to read that you have had such a wonderful stay with us and that you would love to visit our hotel again. Your compliments for the staff are highly appreciated and you have really made their day! Very pleasant to... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Rooms were fairly small but perfectly adequate. The bed was very comfortable. I found the check in staff nothing but pleasant and helpful. The only downfall was the room service, not of a very good quality

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank filthy453
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taken the time to review our lovely hotel. We are excited to be informed you loved the room in general and the comfort of the bed in particular. Very pleasant to notice you have appreciated the services and hospitality from our staff. Your nice compliment has already passed on to them and they were thrilled to hear!... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very quirky but not in a bad way. No the room was not the biggest but the fact we had a huge balcony certainly made up for that. The Decor could do with a little bit of an update but the room generally was cleanish and tidy. Check in we got to the hotel early they let... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faithyangel
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences in such a detailed way. Thank you for your appreciation for the hotel room and its fast wireless Internet connection. We loved to read that you have been satisfied with the services and efforts our staff has put into your stay in order to make it a memorable one. Very pleasant to read that... More 

Winterswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

i was very happy with my room. but after a long day in outside i put on the tv and it didn't work. the next day they offered me a free breakfast, wich i didn't accepted because i was invited elsewhere. hope they will give me discount for a next stay. (thats what they promised me when i left) the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank willeminas
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay in Grand Hotel Downtown and for sharing your appreciation of Grand Hotel Downtown via this review, which is highly appreciated. With regards to your comment concerning the television in the room you have stayed in, I would like to inform you there was an official outage of our provider. The next morning you have spoken... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

My friend and I took 3 days of vacations where its locations and service Was excelent for our trip. There are public transportation close, main attractions is walking distance, many restaurants and cafeterías around the hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rudys10
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to notice you have had such an excellent stay with us and that you have appreciated all the services and efforts our staff has put into your stay. Very pleasant to read you loved our unique location in one of the most popular districts, right in-between two tram... More 

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Cold hotel. We booked large penthouse, which was just a normal sized room. Expensive. Vomit was left in front of the elevator for more than 12 hours! Noisy, you van hear planes fly over close by. Rip off. Breakfast ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 351magalis
Inge M, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We regret to be informed you experienced the hotels ambiance as cold, as we are always doing our utmost to deliver all our guest a happy and comfortable stay. Although, the elevator corridors are not from the hotel itself we would cleaned this right away when we were aware about this situation.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

245 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (171)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#165 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Hotel Arena
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,956 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $115 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay