We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Amstelzicht

Show Prices
#165 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
Panoramas (9)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amstelzicht
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly staff and good location. Everything is within 10-15 mins walk. I visited Amsterdam on a 30th birthday with 8 other lads so we had a room of 4 and a 5. Rooms are big and the beds are very comfy. There is a night club to the side of the annexe which you can hear the vibrations... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobojnr1
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Bobojnr1, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review at tripadvisor according your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. It's a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay with us also your nice words about our team is shared with everybody. As Hotel Amstelzicht is located in the centre of Amsterdam, most of the... More 

Lausanne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The Hotel Amstelzicht is a charming small hotel. The hotel entrance is quite modern, but don’t be misled. Unfortunately, the rooms do not have the same décor. The hotel has no elevator and the stairs are really steep (if you have mobility problems, think twice). But again, this should be a problem with most hotels in Amsterdam. They call this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadeinBrasil
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear MadeinBrasil, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review about Hotel Amstelzicht. As you wrote ; we are located at the centre of Amsterdam and the most of the touristic places are on walking distance. Because we are an historical building, built in... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Dirty room. Rude staff...and don't believe the management comments here that you should "let them know so they can change your room"...because if you do, the manager will say rude things to you in front of your young children. They will also argue with you about whether the room is actually clean or noisy. The other poor comments are totally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank krissie22
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable stay in a good apartment hotel in a great location just fronting a canal with Rembrandtsplein just behind. Points to note.. Nice and clean/Good facilities/ It's not cheap for a canal view but worth the money/Polite and helpful reception reflective of the Dutch in general/Stairs are very steep indeed but I imagine all canal properties are the same as... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCM46
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amstelzicht Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the relaxing and elegant atmosphere of the hotel and its Canal View. Together with the perfect Canal Front Location we strive to create the perfect getaway in the heart of Amsterdam, so hearing this is a great compliment. We truly... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I was given a room in a basement/downstairs room. Room was spacious and location was great but that are the only two good points. Room was carpeted and had a strong mouldy scent and was sticky at some parts . Pillow was the same and used the some towels to cover the pillow before I could sleep on it. Just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CeceeJ
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Cecee J, Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor. We take your comments very seriously, as you can see in other reviews we never have any issues with the cleanest of our rooms, and we are very proud about that. The basic of a good hotel is cleanest, good beds and friendly staff. Together with the Housekeeping Manager... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The place was exactly what we were wanting. It was a great location, quiet, spacious for my family of 4 and clean. I thought we were all going to break our neck getting to the room or out of the hotel each time we entered/left but that was the main drawback. We chopped it up to "character" and bit our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you for your review here at tripadvisor. Our famous stairway....... we always love to read how our guest enjoy them :) Next time you stay with us please ask the reception for directions, withing 300 meter we have many foodcourts, groceries, and restaurants, like AH to go, The Marquet, Hema, La place, where you can buy daily... More 

Newry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We just returned and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. great location, attentive staff and v clean room thanks :) there is no facility to eat however there are lots of restaurants nearby :) and there is an irish bar next door :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Irishhylo
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Irishhylo, Thank you very much for spending your time to write a review according your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. It's a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed your stay with us and all your nice words are shared with our team. As you already wrote, we do not have a restaurant to eat, but the 'Rembrandt square'... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel amstelzicht 2 nights this week from Monday to Wednesday and I couldn't recommend it enough! The staff were really friendly and helpful but the best thing about this hotel was the location! It was so central! Literally a 1 minute walk from rembrandtplein where there were bars and places to eat. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sian2412
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Sian2412, We thank you for your kind attention you showed by sharing your time to write your holiday experience in Hotel Amstelzicht. We agree the location of our Hotel is great, as we are located in the centre of Amsterdam. All the touristic places are on walk-distance. We shared your nice words about our staff with our whole team.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Located on the Amstel canal, this hotel is in a great location. After arriving into Amsterdam from Sydney, my hotel room was ready on arrival at 8am. What a welcomed relief that was after a very long flight. The hotel is in a great location, close to Dam Square, the red light distance and very easily accessible to museums. Centraal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Abbott, We thank you for your kind attention you showed by sharing your time to write your holiday experience in Hotel Amstelzicht. We agree with you the location of our Hotel is great next to the canal, as we are located in the centre of Amsterdam. All the touristic places are on walk-distance. Hotel Amstelzicht is a historical building... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights last minute for traveling to Amsterdam for work. The basement room was dark and smelled damp - rather like A prison cell. At €300 per night it was an absolute joke. When I checked in I was asked to pay with my card, I was presented with a Credit card receipt to sign where... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Son-of-tron
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Son of Tron, I am sorry your experience with us left you feeling underwhelmed. The issues you encountered with the room is easily rectifiable and I am certain our team could have effortlessly resolved this in it entirety given the opportunity. Never the less I apologize about what you had endured. We invest a lot of time and effort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

407 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Canal View Suite (44)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Triple Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#144 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $135 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay