We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Amstelzicht

#166 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Who is this hotel for? If you like historical buildings and staying in one is something you prefer than this hotel is for you. If you're a big g person or have some problems with stairs then definitely stay out of this hotel. Why wasn't my experience there pleasant? My room's location was awful room 214 it's located underground with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramy R
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely welcome. The room was clean & had everything you needed. Location is good. But I don't think I would stay here again due to a few things... We was put on the 3rd floor. Now if you have trouble with stairs this isn't the place for you! There is no lift and the stairs are very steep and narrow!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
RD2012Manager, Receptionist at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Fiona F, Glad to know you had a lovely welcome. We are sad to hear that you don’t think to stay with us again, In regard to the stairs; (State on our website and booking.com as well) “Please note that there is no lift in the building. The stairs to the hotel entrance and in the building are steep... More 

Budaors, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a really fantastic 4 days in the Hotel, thank you for everything. It was suprised that we can sleep deeply and calm in the centre of the city, the room is clean every day, the stuff is helpful, so I could suggest with pleasure :))

Helpful?
Thank kovagi67
RD2012Manager, Reception at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Mrs. Kovagi67, Thank you for taking your time to write us an review on tripadvisor. We from Hotel Amstelzicht and team are very gratefull for the great review. We are more than happy that you had a great time during your stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. And also glad that you slept deeply. Here at Hotel Amstelzicht is Hospitality 1st.... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

This is the best place to stay. I visited many times Amsterdam, and this hotel is amazing to stay always. I agree about steep stairs, but this is a typical narrow Amsterdam house style. the location is good, close enough to walk to attractions and bars. Rooms are always clean,some of small, and always friendly front desk. Depends on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baris A
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Baris A, Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to read that you had an amazing stay with us, as you mention this is always the case. I will inform the TEAM about your kind words towards them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again during your trip to Amsterdam. As you mention the... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Excellent location spacious room friendly staff rembrant square right around the corner a couple of minutes walk from train station excellent canal side room excellent room rates vondel park and other attractions are really close by excellent all round

Helpful?
Thank Margie B
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Margie B, Thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Amstelzicht with other travellers. We are happy to receive your kind and positive remarks about Hotel Amstelzicht TEAM, Hotel service and Location. As you mention all staff members do their utmost best to provide our Guests with the best welcome and service during the stay. Witch check-in the Reception... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is situated extremely close to city centre with a walking distance to most city attractions. Parking is nearly impossible in this city as its predominately accessed by bike riders or pedestrians. I stayed one night two days and paid 50€ for parking. The hotel itself was clean and the room was spacious. With water views the ambience was exceptional.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindaArzu
RD2012Manager, Front office team at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Arzu, Waw... First, I want to thank you a lot for taking your time to write us a very great review of your experienced here during your stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. As you experienced it for yourself, we are located in the center of the heart of Amsterdam, where you find; restuarants, museums, tourist attractions, tram lines and... More 

Encinitas, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I had to leave Europe early due to a death in the family and couldn't make it for my reservation. I cancelled with multiple days notice and they still refused any type of refund (full or partial). If you're traveling to Amsterdam and looking for a place to stay, I would not recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
RD2012Manager, Owner at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Kevin, ones again we are very sorry about your lost, and we have sent you our condolences. Its a very delicate situation and we wish situations like this would not be placed on the internet. However you don't give us any other choose, than to reply with the real true. When you called to the Hotel and the receptionist answered... More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

very nice staff helpful and always smiles, but no elevator so NO GO if you have any need for accessibility, breakfast is ok, location is great and overall stay was more then ok, the rooms are quite but small

Helpful?
Thank 464dord
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Giorgia V, WOW thank you for the nice review. We are very grateful that you had a wonderful time staying with us at Hotel Amstelzicht during your vacation. Our staffs is always happy to warmly welcome our guest. Hospitality comes first. We are located in the center of the city where everything is within minutes away walking. We are... More 

Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

The hotel is located almost in the exact geographical center of the old city, which is within walking distance of all major attractions. The building is also antique, which adds atmosphere, but also has some pretty steep stairs and no elevator. The staff is very helpful and responsive to the guest requests. The standard rooms are a bit crowded. TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank liamalpha
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Liamalpha, We of Hotel Amstelzicht want to thank you for your review. Hotel Amstelzicht is located in the heart of Amsterdam. All major tourist attractions like, museums, restaurants, Royal Palace, Central Station are all just minutes away walking. The Hotel was built in a monumental canal house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, therefor... More 

St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

This authentic house, with stairs more like a ladder to our room on the second floor, was very clean and welcoming, with thoroughly updated, comfortable rooms. Our 2nd floor room was very spacious and had a marvelous canal view. This IS in the center of Amsterdam, which is very convenient AND means the streets outside are noisy on weekends. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MegSt_Paul_MN
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your honest review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your kind words towards the Hotel and TEAM are appreciated. Hotel Amstelzicht TEAM does there utmost best to provide our Guest with the best service and assistance during the stay. We would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

400 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (192)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Canal View Suite (44)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Triple Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $143 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay