We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Max

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Max
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Max
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I travelled a lot in my life and I am not picky about where I sleep or demanding in general, but this hotel was the worse one ever. I paid 100€ for first night of my stay for a garden room (double room)…sounds nice, ha? What I got was a dirty room full of big spiders, toilet with accordion doors,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peti H
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Please contact us about this. We never had any information on this. I had never any information on this. PLease sent us een email. More 

Bruges, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving at hotel iris just across the road, we were pleasantly surprised to find our shared toilet booking had been upgraded to a private bathroom and room over at the hotel max. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us out with a map and we were able to check into our room early which we appreciated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah S
marcelscheepstra, Owner at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank very much for the nice words. We are pleased that the stay with us was an success for you. We always like to hear that our guest liked our service. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

There are rats in the room, it is the most terrible place I've ever seen, besides the check-in had to be done 5 min from the main hotel, the service is terrible. The manager doesn't speak English very well, he even dared to tell me that rats are common in Amsterdam and that they all are pretty used to that... More 

Helpful?
Thank frequntraveler
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

The information is Total incorrect. After this guest mentitioned this we directory take action. The pestcontrol departement of the city of Amsterdam gave is after control on THE 22 january an official report that There are no rats or mousses in THE hotel. We Will putt à picture of THE report on tripadvisor Please ignore this ignore this review. Our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Toulouse, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good location and break fast was good. i would like to stay if i plan to Amsterdam. Easy to reach, walkable to Hienkien exp. Cost is also reasonable. Staff was giving good response and premises was clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nagarajuannam
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. Hope to see you again More 

Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hotel Max is well located with frequent trams passing in the neighbourhood. The room was equipped with nice flat LCD screen with a good choice of TV programs. WiFi worked very good. There was a chair with a desk, sufficient to work with a laptop. The breakfast was acceptable for the price paid. I was reluctant in taking the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristiano S
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Minsk, Belarus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nice hotel in nice place not far from the center of Amsterdam. I'd like to stay here next time. But if you arrive you should check in from another hotel(approximately 300 meters from Hotel Max), but this info in description to the hotel, so it was not a surprise. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aliaksandr_Sobal
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank u for your review. Our reception is in the winter closed. From the 15th of march it will be opened again. We are busy to upgrade rooms during the winter. Hotel Max is always one of the best priced hotels in AMSTERDAM. More 

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Room was super small. There was no heater. I've called the reception, which is in another hotel, from my mobile then they brang me an electrical heater. Closet seat was broken. If you don't have any other choise you can sleep for a night. Doesn't kill you :)

Helpful?
Thank Serkansurer
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

We directly took action for this room. W placed a new heating system. Our employee offered to change he told me but you refused. More 

Holon, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Don't get near. We were in a lot of others hotels but this one was the crapiest. the service desk is 7 minutes walk, underground. Really bad service. Really high priced. Wired demands. Simpy don't get byb

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amit U
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Normaly I dont go in discussion with hotelguest. Now I make an exception. The hotels are 150 meters from each other. So 7 minutes could not be right. Secondth if guest is not discuss issues with us we cannot react on this. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A bunk bed set in a basement which stank of dampness and a tiny room in which one could barely move did not auger well for a stay at Hotel Max. The fact that one had to check in elsewhere and with only one key for two people caused trouble getting in the front door. The decoration and upkeep were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dinfisher
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank u for your review. The room you booked is the lowest priced budget room. Proberly the expectation for the bump bed room were to high. This is a simpel room which reasonly have been build. We informed clearly that it is an small room. Everything is brand new. It has a flatscreen, Private bathroom next tot the room and... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The reception is not in the hotel, you arrive tired and you have do drag your bags across the bridge to check in in other hotel, than get back. The room look better in photo, they are too small and when you take a shower you wash the the hole bathroom.

Helpful?
Thank Sofia R
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We advertise with 13 m2 room space on the websites. The pictures are updated recently. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#240 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#196 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in De Pijp

Neighborhood Profile
De Pijp
Bustling Albert Cuypstraat serves as the main drag through De Pijp and the location for Albert Cuyp Market, the largest and most famous of Amsterdam’s many outdoor markets. Beyond this sometimes-frantic thoroughfare, tiny lanes beckon urban explorers in search of the latest trends and hidden gems. Nearly half the residents living in De Pijp are foreigners and a good number of them are students. Here you'll find a multitude of ethnic restaurants, great cafes and bars, and a brilliant array of locally owned shops, all catering to a broad range of budgets and tastes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Price Range: $76 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay