We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Brouwer

Show Prices
#164 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Hotel Brouwer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 368: English reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amsterdam is eminently walk able, but in case you don't want to walk there are two tram stops within a couple of blocks of the hotel. It is in a scenic, central location. This hotel, which includes a traditional Dutch breakfast at a very reasonable rate, in an expensive city served my purposes well. My room, the HALS, was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele-Louise R
Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish to address the negative review by Peter, who stayed in the room we stayed in a few days after us in November, 2016. I first stayed at the Brouwer in 1970, and lived there for almost a year in 1971. Wim had to close the hotel in 1980, and renovated to modern standards in 1995. We have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naldino
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

All of us at Hotel Brouwer greatly appreciate your praise of our establishment; we are privileged to be part of the hotel's rich history and try to address all complaints as quick as we can ; we appreciate all feedback and will try to make our guests stay with us a memorable , positive experience.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed an affordable hotel for one night in Amsterdam near Dam Square. Found this one and loved every bit of it. Quaint room on the third floor named after local artists. Ours was the Van Gogh room. Right on the canal within easy walking distance of Central Station and Dam Square. Nice breakfast included for a very reasonable rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinceg162
Monument Beach, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I rarely give bad reviews but I didn't like anything about this hotel except for the location. It is very old. The room that we had (Rembrandt) had a horrible pitch to it - the bed (two twins pushed together) tipped so bad that you felt like you were going to roll out. The heat was inefficient - radiators with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

We sincerely regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. Apologies for the noise which kept you awake; it turned out to be a broken pump in our heating system which could not get repaired until after the weekend ; it is now repaired and no longer making noise.This is the first complaint I've heard about our heating system,...

Allerød
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were travelling 5 family members together and had a double and a triple room. The view from the rooms cannot be better, and the atmosphere and location is just perfect. Staff was very frienly and helpful and we will definitely book The Brouwer again when in Amsterdam next time. Wifi is working well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mette C
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ! We are all happy to be of help to our guests and make sure their stay is as comfortable as we can make it. -Colleen and all the staff at Hotel Brouwer

Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Old world style, with just enough comfort, in a good location make this a hotel we would return to. We were grateful for the smallest elevator we have seen, to transport us up to our top floor room. While the furnishings were not new, the room was very adequate with a nice sized bathroom and canal views. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BruPete
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Great location, fabulous view of the canals and a great Dutch breakfast. Friendly staff and the 400 year old building is a treasure. Wifi is appreciated and surprisingly decent speed. No credit cards accepted but then you would know that when you reserved!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob I
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Located on the Singel canal just 10 minutes from Central Station you find yourself in a lovely picturesque area. The hotel is by a pretty bridge which leads to the network of canals with cafes, boutique shops and beautiful houses and apartments. It's not the Ritz, no frills, but more history and quirkyness than you could imagine. The stairs are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KakieB
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Large (for Amsterdam) room, small TV, table and chairs. Very comfortable bed. No safe. Close to central station and the heart of Amsterdam. Efficient, tiny lift. Good breakfast with rolls, croissants, egg, cheese,jam, juice, tea/coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elga K
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

The place is old, 400 years, so I expect some floor noise. But, the wall are paper thin, the doors have gaps and it's on a major street. The street noise didn't bother me, I enjoy it. The hotel noise was out of control. Slamming doors, people using the stairs, walking around in their rooms. Just way too noisy. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick Z
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

Again apologies for your bad experience due to the noise. However as I explained at the time what you mostly heard was a ONE TIME incident as it concerned the temporary occupant of the private apartment whose door is located next to the room you occupied. She was mostly responsible -she left Amsterdam that morning and will not return to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

481 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (382)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Escher Double Room (20)
Viewed
Mesdag Single Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#200 of 362 in Amsterdam
319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
870 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
774 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Brouwer staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
new york city
over a year ago
Dallas, Texas
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Brouwer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for canal view room; be prepared to hear every sound made in your neighbor's room.”
  • VIEW FROM HALS ROOM
  • KITCHEN
  • VIEW FROM HALS ROOM
  • SPIRAL STAIRCASE 1600S AUTHENTIC
 of 5 bubbles LaBonneVivanteDeux, 1 week ago | Read review
“We do love the top corner room, over the Blauwburgwal and the Lijnbaanssteeg. The view is classic Amsterdam”
  • view of the Lijnbaanssteeg Blauwburgwal and the Singel
 of 5 bubbles naldino, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
  • wardrobe - no shelves or bureau. note radiator
  • shower base (no rim around shower - water goes on bathroom floor)
  • TV and light
  • water damaged walls, limited electric plugs
  • bathroom
  • showers top - rack screwed into rafter
 of 5 bubbles JudyK288, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If you can get a canal side room, do so. The view is worthy of contemplation. Windows are small, but historic.”
 of 5 bubbles Littlecripple, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure your room has an elevator...”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question