We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Seale, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms are very small, but functional. The halls are very noisy. Phone did not work so we had to go down stairs to the front desk to get an extra pillow. The security was very good and the breakfast is beyond filling!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Hi Nancy, We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Amsterdam. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the breakfast was excellent! You have started the day very well ;-) We are looking forward welcoming you again. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice hotel, comfortable beds. only problem is the location. Its about 10 minutes from the centre next to an industrial park. although it only takes 10 minutes on the metro you are a 10 minute walk away from the station, and the last tram is at midnight. 25 euros in a taxi, but that is the only negative.

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you Ian for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a reasonably priced hotel, nothing fancy but you get what you pay for. We were incredibly satisfied as we arrived early at 8:30am after no sleep the night before and due to the hotel not being too busy on our stay they let us check in early at no extra charge. We got a great sleep until... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sudu27
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

That is great to see Sudu27, when it is possible we always provide a free early incheck. Good to see that you have slept well and that you had the whole afternoon and evening afterwards. You are very welcome! We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bastion was easy to locate after our drive from Hoek van Holland. Up the A4 and off at J11. Even though right near ring road very well sound proofed. Underground car parking secure and easy via lift to carry our stuff to room. Lift operational to all other floors bar reception only to key holders for peace of mind. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

We are so very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us Bruce, thank you so much for sharing this nice words with us. We are looking forward welcoming you again soon. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the cheapest hotels I've been to and I was amazed by how nice it was there. Good breakfast, 5 minutes away from closest metro, very polite staff, clean and the only noise you hear by night is the train. Overall a nice hotel! It's a 800 euro fine if you get caught with weed in the hotel, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gutius
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Great to see that you have loved your stay with us in Amsterdam Gutius, we are so happy to see this. Thank you for sharing this with us and our other guests. We are looking forward welcoming you again! Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel twice now for Amsterdam's Don't Let Daddy Know festival and have had no fault on either occasion. Modern clean rooms, and free wifi. Near the train station and only about a ten minute journey to the centre. There is a large smoking room down stairs which you can take food and drinks into. Pleasant... More 

Helpful?
Thank 921RMcD
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay with us. Have you enjoyed the festival?! We are looking forward welcoming you again. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Nothing special about it, you get what you pay for. A bit far from the City center but its only about 10 minutes with the metro. Staff was ok, not over enthusiastic though. Overall nice experience som far. An 800 euro fine for any things weed related at the hotel though.

Helpful?
Thank Haakon B
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear Haakon, thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your feedback. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward welcoming you again in the future! Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Arrived here via taxi from Schipol airport which took about 20-30 minutes. Check in was easy and the room was clean and contained everything necessary for the short trip I was making. The metro station was just a 10 minute walk up the road and I could be in Amsterdam city centre in under 15 minutes. I didn't take advantage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay with us Tim and for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are very happy to welcome you back again soon! :-) Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Bruges
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Spent 100 euros each for two rooms at this hotel. I read online that it was 10 minutes from the tram stop, so I asked the woman at the desk how to get there. She very dismissively said to turn a left and keep going straight for 10 minutes. The left turn was basically across a highway (with no crosswalk)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amandagP340CB
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to see that we have not been able to meet your expectations, we offer you our sincerest apologies for this. Your comments are very important to us and will be shared with the hotel management. Despite your unpleasant stay, we do hope to welcome you again in one of our other hotels. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
6.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#188 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.1 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#198 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, air conditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. It's close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Verlengde van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay