We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Show Prices
#109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 817: English reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2015

We booked a 6 people room in Oct 2015 and we had a great experience right from check-in to checkout. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shared kitchen on the ground floor is well equipped to cook anything. Located right outside Sloterdijk station, it is accessible by train and tram. Would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish K
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Manish, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very happy to read that your group had a nice stay at our hotel and that you liked the facilities and services that we offer. Hopefully we see you back again. All the best and kind regards, MEININGER team Amsterdam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2015

I booked three nights here for 2 reasons: this was the best value among many overpriced hotels and I had a good experience with Meininger Munich. I booked a single room here and though it was tiny, it had everything I needed. The pebble-dash type wall texture was a bit weird, but then again I didn't go there to stroke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris A
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Iris, Thank you for your honest feedback. I can see that you understand the concept of the Meininger chain. We are glad to note that you were happy with your overall stay. In regards to the airco in your room. As the windows can't be opened and you need fresh air, the system can not be turned off completely....

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed November 6, 2015

I stayed here with 2 friends in a 4-bed dormitory for 3 nights. It is a beautiful hotel; modern, clean throughout, comfortable beds and good facilities. The location isn't ideal - but in fairness it is not advertised otherwise. It is on a direct bus route into central Amsterdam (20 minutes) and next to the train station so the facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomabz
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the MEININGER Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. Kind regards, MEININGER Amsterdam

San Francisco, California
Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was great. The not so great part was waiting around until 5pm when check in was at 3pm. And I was not the only one who had to wait. The front desk was constantly being bombarded by arriving travelers and I felt like the staff were being overwhelmed. It was chaos because there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie_bamba
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. All the feedback that we receive from our guests is important to us, because it helps us to improve our services. In high season and at peak times, it can indeed be busy at the reception. We apologize again that you had to wait for...

Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Our stay in Amsterdam was great.Our hotel was truly value for your money.Nice and great hotel.Quite and courteous staff.Our room was nice and comfortable.They have a common kitchen where you can cook and put food in the fridge.In general our stay was simply amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yenmor415
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your kind words. We would be happy to welcome you back again! Kindest regards, Meininger team

Nice, France
Reviewed October 28, 2015

I was late to book hotel in Amsterdam. Due to very early departure, I plan to stay close to airport area but it was all booked. Then I start to search hotels close to train stations between central to airport. I choose this hotel as it looks very close to train station. I would say, it is not perfect but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrkelesoglu
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, I like to thank you for choosing the MEININGER Hotel. It is nice to read that you were impressed with the way we take care of our guests. Your remarks and suggestions for improvements are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. Thanks again and we would be happy to welcome...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

We paid 100 USD for 2 adults, 1 kid & 1 infant. It's not direct in the centre & bus 48 brings you to the hotel in 20 min. The rooms are big enough, clean & beds are O.K. Outside are many hotels & companies but nothing else. Inside you can buy fast food or you can use the kitchen....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perspective B
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for the nice feedback ! It's very nice to read that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. We constantly strive to offer the best value for money and the best fit for all guests. Hopefully we will see you again during your next visit in Amsterdam ! Warm regards, Meininger Team

Dracena, SP
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

The price and the room are very good. I recomend. Took a long time to clean the rooms and start the check in. But the test was ok. The location is quite good, pretty near the train station. The breakfast was also excelent, nothing to complain about

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliano O
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Juliano, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. You are right about the fact that it can be busy at our reception desk in high season and at rush hours. Even though, we always try to help all our guests as good as possible. Feel welcome to visit...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for my hen-do and it was great. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. Actually more like a hostel, but with hotel facilities (such as private bathrooms). The room we had slept 8, with a double bed and 3 bunk beds. There were safes in the room, the kind you use your own lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dreadblock
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. All the feedback that we receive is important to us, because it helps us to improve our services. We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel, that you found the public transport convenient and that you would recommend the hotel to other future...

south wales
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Group of 12, stayed in 3 rooms of 4 on 18 Sep for 2 night. Good value, basic but very clean and comfortable. Shower great! Food and drinks plentiful and tasty. Staff at reception and at the bar were very helpful and polite. Would definitiey recomend

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wayneSouthWales
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you so much for your kind and great review. We are pleased to know that you and your friends had an enjoyable time in Amsterdam. We wish you all the best! Kind regards Meininger Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

591 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (475)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,083 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,615 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Urban Lodge Hotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $78 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and other travelers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles markrogersr, 1 week ago | Read review
“from train station to the hotel there are some flight of stairs, so get prepared if you bring large suitcases.”
  • The room I booked. For 3 persons. The sleeping quality was good! :D
 of 5 bubbles 821evat, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“DO NOT book a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles neiljf, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“But and all day train ticket for 14 euros.”
 of 5 bubbles teresatotalhair, Feb 4, 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are very small. Ask reception”
 of 5 bubbles SteveBalstone, Feb 1, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question