We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam The Netherlands
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (82)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (162)

About

#134 of 419 in Amsterdam
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay!
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
223Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
47Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
502Reviews21Q+A40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 220
  • 88
  • 21
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jim P wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+ Clean Convenient elevator Friendly staff Quite neighborhood Comfortable beds Croissants smelled great I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visite Amsterdam. It’s just around the corner of a lot of highlights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Roozendaal, General Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Jul 17, 2020
Dear Jim, Thank you so much for your nice review. It was great having you as our guest. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
Dominic B wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location, a straight forward 20-25 minute walk to the centre of Amsterdam (with plenty of cafes, restaurants & bars along the way to stop off at). Quality of room was better than expected & the beds were comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful especially after Amsterdam was put into lockdown at 6pm on the night of our final stay. Staff helped order food in and kept the drinks flowing. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Dear Dominic, It was great having you as our guests. Thanks for your nice words and we look forward to welcome you soon again.
Read more
Leah M wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Thank you so much for being such lovely hosts. Everyone I interacted with was pleasant. From the check-in experience, getting offered a cup of tea just when I got to the hotel, to booking the excursions, the cleaning lady was concerned about my comfort, breakfast was very good, the receptionists and waiting staff were all great. Thank you so much! I couldn’t have asked for more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Leah, Thank you so much for your lovely words about our Hotel. It was great having you as our guest and we all look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
Danielle P wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights in total and the staff were very friendly. It was great that they let us keep our bags in a room downstairs cause we were early for check in :) the room was very clean and bed was very comfy. The hotel was easy to find and close to a metro station. The description on the website helped us find the hotel very easily! The only thing we noticed was that the radiator was very noisy, but we could live with it for how nice the hotel is as a whole! :) would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Danielle, Thank you for your nice review. It is good to hear that all was good. I am soor about the radiator. I have checked it and there was some air inside. Now it is quiet again. Looking forwrd to welcome you again.
Read more
Jamie F wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I loved this hotels location. Perfectly placed to walk to ranbrant Square as I call. Walk in a straight line 3 canals over and your there. Also 5 minutes walk to tram, metro and bus & 2 supermarkets aswell as a local market for street food and souvenirs
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Liam, Thank you very much for your friendly words about our location.
Read more
Liam wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
The service of the hotel was very friendly and professional. Staff were always happy to help and very informative. The room (twin) was a good size and housed everything needed, from a kettle to a hairdryer (stated on page). Toiletries and some tea/coffee/milk/sugar were also provided which added to the excellent value for money. The location was perfect - Within 15/20 minute walk to most attractions. Breakfast was also an additional option if not originally booked with room which was very convenient. The staff, comfort and cleanliness of Hotel Nicolaas Witsen made an amazing trip even more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and will be returning in the future :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you so much for this outstanding review. It was great having you as our guest.
Read more
IamthatDan wrote a review Jan 2020
London36 contributions37 helpful votes
It had been a few years since I last stayed at the Hotel Nicolaas Witsen. I had stayed regularly there in the past for week long stays during a winter training in the city. Something particularly noteworthy - the staff. I recognised many of them from previous trips. Clearly a place that retains its staff. A friendly and helpful group of people. More practically, it is a good location from my perspective. You are just on the edge of the most historic central area so anywhere you walk in, you are right into lovely quiet strolls along canal sides. So easy to get in. Also, just enough out that you are quiet. The city centre itself can be a bit manic. Equally, you are not out in the new build fringes of Amsterdam. Only things to watch out for - usual Dutch stairs - i.e. tight, narrow! Use the lift just next to them if you have mobility issues. Soundproofing between rooms is not perfect if you happen to have chatty people next door to you, but not bad. Ask for a quiet room!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thanks for your friendly words about our staff. It was great having you as our guest again.
Read more
Tesherr wrote a review Dec 2019
Maui, Hawaii1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our stay here so far has been amazing, the staff are very welcoming and friendly. I would suggest booking it with the complimentary breakfast. The breakfast is amazing and definitely fills us up and the pastries are delicious. We’ve been walking some distances to the nearby attractions but being able to stop in cafes and smoke shops along the way has been a big help on our feet. The showers are amazing the water is definitely hot as ever.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Dec 12, 2019
Dear tesherr808, Thank you so much for this great review. It was great having you as our guest in our hotel. Good to hear you did enjoy the breakfast that much. Did you try our Dutch fresh made pancakes? And what about the freshly made scrambled eggs with bacon? I hope we may welcome you again in the near future. All the best to you, Alex
Read more
from_moscow wrote a review Nov 2019
Moscow, Russia223 contributions124 helpful votes
The hotel is a good choice for those who travels on a budget. It is located in De Pijp, not far from Canals and Museum Quarter. You can easily walk from there to Amsterdam Central in around 20 minutes. The front desk is open 24 hours, helpful gentlemen made my check-in and check-out experiences smooth and efficient. There is an elevator at the hotel, so you won’t need to take your luggage to the upper floor using stairs. I had a single room on a 3 floor. It was of the exactly right size for 1 person staying there for a night. High ceilings, big windows were the additional highlights. Still, don’t expect much from the design or furniture, it’s a cheap 3 star hotel. On the downsides, I would mentioned a bed - a bit too soft for me, and, what ruined an overall positive impression, cleanliness. The towels were not dry cleaned properly, and the wall in the bathroom had hairs of previous guest, plenty of them! There were also the kids from body/hair wash of the previous guest on the shelf in the bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Dec 12, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your friendly words about our location, staff, check in, check out, elevator and high ceilings. It is always nice to receive a detailed review, so we can improve our services. About the cleaning I must say that this is not our standard. I will use this information to avoid that this will happen again. Please when there is something wrong in future reservations, let the reception know immediately, so it can be solved right away. All the best to you. Alex
Read more
Davit M wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel has a good location, comfortable environment and professional staff. My impression of Amsterdam is unforgettable. Old Town, Museums, Ship Travel ... I hope to visit Amsterdam again and will definitely enjoy this hotel service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Responded Nov 21, 2019
Hi Davit, Thank you so much for this great review. It was great having you in our hotel! All the best, Alex
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$501 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel nicolaas witsen, nicolaas witsen amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamDe Weteringschans / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Nearby attractions include MyEscape.Club (0.2 miles), Tour de BonTon (0.3 miles), and Brouwersgracht (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ku Kitchen & Bar, Restaurant Zaza's, and Utrechtsedwarstafel.
Is Nicolaas Witsen Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.2 miles), Concertgebouw (0.8 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles).