We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, I didn't know it was a Christian hostel so read descriptions people! I had such a wonderful time here. Their 16-bedrom dorms were cleaned daily as well as all the facilities. The hostel is run by volunteers who are super friendly and helpful. There's cafe where you can have free brekky and a lovely courtyard where you can relax.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piper H
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience. We trust that you had an equally great experience of A'dam! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for five days, in a 15 person womens only room which was clean and quite spacious. The only problem with the room was there were no curtains on the top half of the windows so sunlight woke us up (maybe bring sleeping masks), although this did mean we never missed the free breakfast! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank pr0fessi0nal_0pini0n
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a bit surprised to find the words 'Christian Hostel' when we arrived, but apart from a few prayer readings and Bible study sessions that can be avoided really, it was just a normal hostel. Which I found slightly funny considering the fact it shares a street with some of the red light district. The location is fantastic, about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your kind and very thorough review. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is very different to any other hostel, I booked here because that's where my friends had booked, not knowing it was a Christian hostel. In that sense it was okay, we were offered bibles and the opportunity to join prayer circles but it isn't compulsory or forced. Is actually quite a good get away from the smell of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Considering the amount of drugs and alcohol their strict policy gave it a very safe feel. The staff were extremely friendly and up for s chat. Free wifi! Great location, and it's actually a Christian hostel so you can go to bible class if you really needed to repent for your sins.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your review. This is indeed what we aspire to be - a small island of tranquility in a very busy city. Glad you experienced it. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing location, right in the middle of the Red Light District - about a ten minute walk to central station. Facilities were good but not great, and unfortunately there was no kitchen. A really yummy cooked breakfast is provided every morning (pancakes, French toast, fried eggs), as well as muesli and bread. The staff were friendly, but it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Remy W
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

I was staying in the 16 bed dorm. location of Hostel is perfect. Volunteers there were very generous. Breakfast was also very good. But if you want to party then avoid staying here as it is very religious hostel (drinks and drugs aren't allowed) and i didn't like the fact that everyone has access to 16 bed room, even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruturajshinde7
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Great location in city, not to far to walk from Centraal Station. Very safe and everyone is friendly and helpful. There are no drugs or alcohol allowed which is great. There are coffee shops and bars very close by if you want that. The breakfast is always delicious. Have stayed here three times and will stay there again on my... More 

Helpful?
Thank millertron84
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Stroopwaffle is delicious, when in Amsterdam make sure you eat lots. Secondly, if you're not into Jesus probably don't stay at Shelter City. It's right in the red light district which is very intense unless you are there to party. However, Shelter says they will not tolerate alcohol or drugs on the premises nor drunk or high guests. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

I stayed one night at Shelter City hostel. The staff there are friendly and very accommodating, and they go out of the way to make your stay awesome. They will store and charge your phones, tablets or laptops at the reception FOC, which is very much appreciated! It was also very nice to have free breakfast in the morning. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissTiramisue
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Durty Nelly's Inn
Durty Nelly's Inn
#40 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#51 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Central Station Hostel
Central Station Hostel
#117 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $36 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay