We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Arena

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (971)
Room & Suite (174)
Dining (111)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#149 of 409 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
In popular Amsterdam East, in the Oosterpark, you will find Hotel Arena, a monumental, intimate, four-star hotel. Connected by a love of travel, food, art and culture, Hotel Arena is a place where people meet. Started as a Roman Catholic nursing home that gave shelter to invalid and sick orphan girls in 1888, the beautiful building has had many uses since then. Hotel Arena started in 1992 as a sleep-inn sleeping place for free spirits, young world travellers and creatives. It has since grown into a Superior boutique hotel with 141 rooms, beautiful meeting rooms, including the historic Chapel. You can also enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks overlooking the park at PARK Café / Restaurant. Hotel Arena is within walking distance of various attractions and public transport, making it the ideal base for your trip to Amterdam. Guests can choose from a diverse range of rooms and make use of amenities such as a 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi, the possibility of bicycle rental and parking is available in our underground garage. Hotel Arena has been a cultural venue in Amsterdam for 30 years, where guests can enjoy our own programming consisting of art exhibitions, music and dance parties, film nights and so much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / closet
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

's-Gravesandestraat 55, 1092 AA Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Hotel Arena
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,610 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Hotel Arena offers a park setting that guests find appealing, housed within a stylish decor that extends to its lively bar and uniquely laid-out rooms. While some guests commend the cleanliness and comfort of the accommodations, others have highlighted issues with housekeeping and impractical room designs. The hotel's location is a hit, nestled near picturesque parks and within walking distance to central attractions. However, service quality and value for money have been points of contention, with complaints about hidden fees and inconsistent staff responsiveness.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,610Review130Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 760
  • 487
  • 205
  • 95
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cornelius wrote a review Mar 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice hotel, friendly staff, great parc, very relaxing. We had a great time. It was calm and clean. The park is awesome. You can walk or take the bus to the center. It is easy to reach. Lots of restaursnts nearby. Generally good vibe and recommend to stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sophieparsons5 wrote a review Mar 2024
6 contributions
Overall, our stay at Arena Hotel was nice with a spacious & clean room! Bed was big and comfortable and the room had everything we needed albeit quite a small room. Also, the walls are extremely thin…can hear all conversations in rooms either side. Location was great, 20-30 walk to centre or trams/trains were easy to access and use from the hotel. Also, not far from the airport which was a big plus. Downside was that the aircon wasn’t working and the room was absolutely boiling which did make it difficult to sleep at times. Also, the room isn’t restocked with water and you have to pay if you want anymore. Also, be aware on arrival you have to pay city tax and put a €50 a night deposit hold on your card.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Elisa R wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Such a beautiful hotel , Friendly staff on arrival and departure , bar staff was also friendly and assisted with questions , room was spacious and comfortable , best nights sleep in a long time , location was perfect and close to main attractions with trams close by , 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear Elisa, thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your stay. We are happy to read you had such a great time in our hotel and restaurant. We would like to welcome you again soon! With kind regards, Rosalie - Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kate I wrote a review Feb 2024
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful location. Incredible setting and top facilities. Stayed for a sunny weekend. Stunning decor, busy and lovely restaurant/bar - great options for breakfast Close enough to pop in to central and far away enough to enjoy the calm of the neighbourhood
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Easily get a tram from the train station
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear Kate, thank you so much for your great review! We are happy to read you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back soon. With kind regards, Rosalie - Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan W wrote a review Dec 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom15 contributions19 helpful votes
This lovely hotel used to be a psychiatric hospital mainly for women who weren't able to look after themselves. Don't worry it bears no resemblance to it's former usage, except maybe the impressive staircases. The rooms are quirky, with the large double bed situated on the mezzanine. If I have to be picky I would suggest handrails on the narrow spiral staircase. The breakfast gives you a good choice , we didn't use the restaurant. The hotel is situated a little way out of the city centre, but the nearby Tram No 19 will get you within walking distance. A good choice of hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Jan 4, 2024
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are happy to read you had a good time. We hope to welcome you again in the future! With kind regards, Rosalie Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rosalyn J wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Highly enjoyed our stay! Room was pristine, had everything we needed and I loved the design and style. It was useful having drinks etc available at reception and even the grounds outside were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Gastenservice/Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Dear Rosalyn, Thank you for the GREAT 5 stars review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Team Hotel Arena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neve C wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Just got back from a wonderful long weekend in Amsterdam with my partner to celebrate his recent exam results and promotion. The Arena Hotel is a gorgeous hotel in a very picturesque location within Amsterdam Oost, with most attractions between 20-30 minutes walk away. Before our trip I was unsure what to expect of the hotel after reading some very dramatic negative reviews but this could not be farter from the truth of our experience at the Arena Hotel. The staff were all very welcoming and polite from check in to check out. The room was beautifully clean and very stylishly decorated and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of it!! We ate and drank in the restaurant and are very big fans of the Gin and tonic selection and the delicious Stake tartar! The addition of a ‘what to see in Amsterdam’ magazine in the room was greatly appreciated as it poured all day on Saturday and it gave us many ideas of places to visit and stay dry! Thank you Hotel Arena we would love to visit again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Gastenservice/Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Dear Nevec31, Thank you for the GREAT review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Arena Amber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlotte R wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We where all very excited to arrive in Amsterdam and explore your beautiful country and enjoy a well deserved break however, from the very moment we arrived our rooms where not ready, however we checked in our bags in, in the lockers and set off to explore and take in the culture of the architecture. Upon return to our hotel we where shocked to learn one of our rooms had been cancelled? However we had booked and paid for two rooms in full- your staff managed to find another room however these rooms where substandard for such hotel and NOT what we had originally booked and paid for. Before we could check into our shoddy rooms we further learnt we where required to pay over 100€ in city tax and 300€ as a deposit? This has never been the case in any of our travels and utterly disgraceful we where not made aware of this prior to our stay. Trying to make the best of an already awful weekend away we continued with our ‘holiday’ and very much enjoyed the beauty of Amsterdam….. untill we checked out on Sunday. Informed when handing back the room keys we owed a further 500€ for the additional room. We did not book or stay in an additional room, we booked and paid for two rooms and the insensitive behaviour of the staff to suggest we were somehow liable for a third room is unfathomable! I would not recommend any one to stay at this hotel and I would advise the inadequate staff and procedures at this so called four star establishment are below the minimum of human etiquette and beyond the meaning of hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Gastenservice/Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Hello Charlotte, We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. During your check-in, we tried to find 2 rooms under the name you gave us. Unfortunately, there was only 1 active in our system and indeed paid for (excluding taxes) through your travel agency. The other one under this name was cancelled by the travel agency and not in our system anymore, so this was out of our control. To make sure the 4 of you could stay with us, we made a new reservation for the same room type you booked and sent an email to the travel agency explaining the situation. Since we never heard back from them, we still had the open amount for the room during the check out and this is why our staff asked for a payment. Turns out that you did have 2 rooms, however the other room was on a different name so we couldn't find it during the check in. We are sorry for all the inconvenience! The deposit of €50,- per room per night is standard with us and should be mentioned by your travel agency, however it is also stated on our website. On your reservation confirmation of the travel agency, there is also stated that there are still taxes that need to be paid upon arrival. We understand it made your arrival less pleasant if you were not aware of this beforehand. We hope we have informed you well. If you have any questions left, please contact us by mail. With best regards. Amber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
indy6621 wrote a review Nov 2023
Istanbul1 contribution1 helpful vote
All good in terms of restaurant personnel, we had one first day In job personnel at reception and still an extra charge of 131 euros on my card that need to be explained, hotel is in a nice location and and rooms are good
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Gastenservice/Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Nov 13, 2023
Dear Indy, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Team Hotel Arena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ANNE P wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I wanted a quiet comfortable place to stay for a short visit to Amsterdam. This hotel is in a park, so has a lovely setting. The staff was helpful, the room was exactly as pictured on their website and spacious. It was a 15 minute walk to some lovely restaurants (a helpful since for me since it was raining a couple nights) or a 30 minute walk to the museums. If I knew I’d be walking the whole day, it was a 10 minute cab ride (Uber works, or the staff can call you a taxi). Breakfast was a healthy and large selection, and the coffee is freshly brewed (a machine you use). Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Pre book museum reservations; they sell out. On busy days, leave extra time for taxis to arrive...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Arena Front Office, Gastenservice/Front Office at Hotel Arena
Responded Nov 13, 2023
Dear Anne, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Arena Amber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arena hotel amsterdam, hotel arena amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOosterparkbuurt / Amsterdam East / Oud Oost
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ARENA $173 ($̶2̶1̶4̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Arena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Arena?
Nearby attractions include Tropenmuseum (0.3 miles), Oosterpark (0.2 miles), and Easylaughs (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Arena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Arena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Arena?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Arena?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Arena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hearth, Elkaar, and Wijnbar Clos.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Arena?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Arena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Arena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Arena?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.6 miles), Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.9 miles).
Does Hotel Arena have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.