We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Flying Pig Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Flying Pig Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Flying Pig Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 752: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Me and the boyfriend had a brilliant stay at the Flying Pig for 4 nights. It became a fantastic base for us. First of all, the staff are brilliant. Really friendly and hardworking. This hostel is really clean and in a great location. Great value for money. If you want to party there is the bar and smoking room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie M
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hey there! Woweee! Thanks for the amazing review and for letting others know about your stay with us. We are thrilled you had a brilliant stay here and found our staff friendly and hard working! Great that you found us clean and were able to party in our bar as well as chill in our happy room downstairs! Thanks so...

Reviewed November 9, 2016

This was my first stop in a 2 week trip to Europe. I was really anxious on what to expect since it was my first time traveling solo but this was definitely the best place to start. First, getting there from Amsterdam Centraal, piece of cake! Just follow the indications on the website! The place has a great vibe and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nolis P
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that on your 1st stop of your 2 week trip you found us the best place to start! Great that you enjoyed our vibe here and found our staff the best! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them,...

Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

We are traveling Europe and of course had to come to Amsterdam. This is hostel is nice stayed in a room with I believe 14 people. It wasn't a bad stay and the room was nice. Breakfast was nice and seeing it was included in the stay you can't pass it up. The only complaint I have is that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are pleased that you found the room nice and were able to enjoy some free breakfast :) Indeed we only have a license to have our guests who are staying here in the bar and smoking area, sorry about that! However, this does...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Quick trip to Amsterdam with my grown up kids. Four person dorm with en suite was very very clean lovely clean sheets pillows, bathroom immaculate. Breakfast good. Chill out area fantastic. I was probably the oldest person (50) in the hostel but did feel out of place made very welcome by everyone from staff to guests. This is a diamond...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlossomTurner
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that enjoyed your quick trip with your kids to Amsterdam and found your room very clean and bathroom immaculate! Great that you were able to hang in our chill out area and found the hostel close to everything you needed ;)...

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Came here with a big group and found it really easy from Amsterdam Central. Full of travellers, breakfast was average but it was free so can't complain. The location is ideal, the atmosphere in the hostel is great. My first night I found someone sleeping in my bed and told reception, they kicked them out and changed the sheets within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayFernn1010
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you found our location ideal and enjoyed our atmosphere :) Great that when someone mistakenly slept in your bed that our staff sorted it out right away for you! Thank you so much for recommending us, we really appreciate this! We hope to see...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at the end of October. The customer service I received was outstanding (in particular the Argentinian behind the bar and Graham the maintenance man) but the accommodation itself wasn't the best. I paid €100 for the two nights. Very fun and social vibe. Should probably paint over the vegemite painting in one of the dorms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welchpants
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our piggies Graham and Fran made a lasting impression on your time as a piggie! :) Thanks for mentioning this, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to them! We are slowly but surely upgrading...

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable stay here. Super clean and really friendly staff who knew everything there was to know about Amsterdam, plus letting you in on the discounts that you benefit from by staying with them! We stayed in a full 14 person room, there were two bathrooms between us all and it was never an issue. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIKALOMAX
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! :) We are thrilled to hear that you had a really enjoyable stay with us! Great that you found us super clean and friendly and we informed you of all of our drink deals and best places to go! Great that you would visit...

Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

I went alone and was on a budget. This wasn't the cheapest hostel but I still booked it because of it's location. You need to book minimum of 3 nights to be able to grab a bed here (at least that's what I had to do from where I booked). I booked a 16-bed dormitory but got a room that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Lyn E
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about how your stay with us was! We are pleased that you found our free breakfast nice and found our staff also nice to chat and hang out with :) Great that you also enjoyed our events like beer pong and our DJs! Indeed we do clean twice...

Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

If your up for a party with some cool chilled people your in luck, this place is amazing. Totally felt welcome, its cheap for the location (which is right near everything) with basic rooms; that tbf our group was happy with overall. And a good vibe when you walk in the door. . . Again the party's are wicked with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris M
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was! We are thrilled that you found us amazing for a party! Great to hear how welcome you felt and that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and your room here. We love that it felt like a mini festival! ;) What a great way to...

Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a double private room. Cozy and clean. Had its own ensuite as well as a kettle and little fridge. The staff are lovely and super helpful. Great location walking distance to most of the major touristy things. I was worried about the noise with their being a bar downstairs but we never heard a thing! Only fault...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyra M
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hello :) Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found your private room cozy and clean and were able to utilise the kettle facility included. Great that you didn't hear any noise from the bar and were able to get a good nights sleep! We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

402 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Large Dorm (38)
Viewed
Private Double Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Small Four Person Dorm (29)
Viewed
Small Six Person Dorm (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,411 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#143 of 361 in Amsterdam
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $41 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Flying Pig Downtown staff and other travelers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Flying Pig Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Level 2 is less noisey, then Privates are all on level 3- very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mrpaulwithcheese, Dec 13, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1, bed 2!!”
 of 5 bubbles RayFernn1010, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a private room personally, but whatever tickles your fancy :)”
 of 5 bubbles sophielouisep, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at lower berth of bunk bed. Carry ear plugs and eye cover pads. Carry a small pad lock without fail.”
 of 5 bubbles Ratty65, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“smaller rooms are best and most quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dancO6938JJ, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay