We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bulldog Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 563: English reviews
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

was the worst place i ever stayed, some guys tried to make a move on my cousin and the reception was more eager to help them than us. Nos a safe place to stay for a female or a couple, be carefulthe recpection will only help groups of people

Helpful?
2 Thank JChirio
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us. However, you did not bring this issue to the attention of our management while you were here as we would have been happy to address this situation for you and find a solution. To suggest that our reception cares only for groups is not only inaccurate but... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we have been going to the bulldog for over ten years now and we wouldnt stay anywhere else in amsterdam, it is home from home for us :). great location, clean rooms, fantastic staff although be warned they take no nonsense lol :) the food is worth a try as well great lounge to chill out in play pool have... More 

Helpful?
Thank e w
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As someone who has done a lot of travelling around the world and stayed in much more basic accomodation than this I have to say this hotel was awful. Had a double room for two nights which was dirty and smaller than any room I have stayed in. Sheets were smelly and generallynthe room was in awful condition. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles L
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

There is nothing worse for us than to have a guest who did not enjoy their stay. We work very hard to ensure everybody enjoys themselves. The management team is always ready to assist you with anything you don't find up to standard. We would be happy to change your sheets or even find you a different room if you... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

room: we stayed 5 days in a 14 bed dorm with 12 people. not too much space but ok! some people were smelling like *** and we had to fight for an open window but that's a backpackers life isn't it?! they clean rooms and bathrooms every day so it was always clean. we even had 2 bathrooms which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank florencemarion
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Were so happy to hear you had a great time!! We agree that you cant take security lightly and its great to know our dedication to the safety and security of our guests doesn't go unnoticed! Come back soon!! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great affordable hostel. I stayed in one of the dorms. It had its own toilet and shower which at first seemed like a bonus however it got a bit awkward at night when we could all hear everyone's toilet activities, however there was a communal bathroom on the floor that I wound up using so no harm done. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carmichael_W
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived in the morning so we had to leave our luggages in the luggage room and come back later. This room was not camera assisted so we got a bit worried but we found the luggages safely there fortunately.. The receptionist was ok, but she needed to keep proof of identity.. The rooms are beautifully set and clean, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleonora M
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback... just put you at ease our luggage rooms are always on camera and recorded for security. Not sure what these noises you heard were but in this land of liberty anything is possible and as we say "The Bulldog Hostel: Nothing is normal, everything is comfortable". Hopefully we will see you again soon! More 

Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went for queensday the hostel was okay. BUT the girl with short hair that worked in front desk, was extremely rude in the check in and also when i asked for some information. The location was excellent! and the other recepctionist helpful and always smiling, just try to avoid the girl with short hair!!!

Helpful?
Thank Absolut_pat
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Outstanding value for money, very clean, staff incredibly helpful regardless of guests nationality. Very comfortable surroundings, ideally situated in the Red Light District. The breakfast was different to the usual 'English Breakfast' however the quality was very good and you can help yourself. There was tea, coffee, orange juice, jordan's cereals. brown and white bread, cheeses and meats, jams and... More 

Helpful?
Thank armadilloHB
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 apartments for 4 nights; 1 for the girls and 1 for the boys. They were both clean, nice and comfy. Ours was plain and modern whilst the boy's was up in the attic and more funky. We had very clean towels and sheets in our apartment and could go down for breakfast at the hotel which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorianne D
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

this hotel is perfect for groups of friends , it has a great location and near all major Amsterdam attractions , it is a little bit noisy but the rooms are quiet , ID is needed for every entrance to the hotel , coffeshop is built in

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed_Hamed
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

572 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay