We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Bulldog Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 587: English reviews
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I enjoyed my 2 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were good and the breakfast was nice. The WiFi worked fine. The room was clean. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Steve5691
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

It is always nice to read reviews from happy guests. Thank you and hopefully your next visit is just around the corner! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

I loved this hostel,very location in city center your lounge is amazing many rustic and have a good food,so I really loved this place and I very recommend for my friends and who's like travel, I need back always for relax

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre R
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

There was five of us traveling to Amsterdam together so we rented an apartment that the Bulldog owns. We picked up the keys at the hostel reception and the apartment is located just above the Bulldog cafe. We were really pleased with the place. Clean, modern and just what we needed. There is a large kitchen/living room with large windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ariel89893
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for the kind and descriptive review. This will be really helpful to future guests. Please come back soon :) More 

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

The hotel is right in the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were good and the breakfast was nice. The WiFi worked fine and was fast enough to use. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks! Nice to hear you had a great time. Return guests always get a special rate so make sure to email us if you're returning. Enjoy your travels More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

had such a great time at the bulldog hostel, met loads of people in the bar downstairs, food and drinks were great & well priced, especially during happy hour! Will definitely return one day! I stayed in a 6 sleeper mixed dorm for 3 nights which was great, then I stayed one night in a much bigger dorm which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rikki S
Croatia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

...almost, because at my home you can't feel weed in dinning room. Not that I was bothered by that, cause that's one of the reason why you visit Amsterdam:o) Seriously this hostel is very comfortable, stuff at desk was extra polite and informative. When we arrived they asked us to pay a total price, but as we already payed a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hrvojè H
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the informative review. We apologize if there was any confusion regarding your payment on arrival but happy that it was corrected quickly and to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed in the top apartment just down from the hostel. The apartment was great, big rooms, comfy beds and a view over the canal. Kitchen was poor though, no kettle or toaster and the plates and cutlery were still dirty form the previous occupier. Located right next to the red light district and 10 minutes from the coffee shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Our sincerest apologies that the cutlery in your room was not clean. This is not in keeping with our standards and we will make sure this is addressed. We are happy you found your room to be comfortable, and we will be sure to take your feedback to improve this room. Thanks and we hope... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Yes the location is good, yes the rooms are a relatively good standard and yes you have some great cafe's on your doorstep but i really dont see what the hype is all about? I have stayed in Hundreds of Hostels/Hotels around the world and the things i was most disappointed with was the staff and the price at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tom w
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. Our staff are very well regarded in our reviews so we are surprised to learn you were less than impressed. We would appreciate it if this was brought to the managements attention prior to your departing so we could rectify the situation for you. Unfortunately there... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, on my first night in Amsterdam. I booked it first based on location, without reading reviews, but couldn't have been happier in the end. When checking in the person at the front desk noticed that I (solo female traveller) was booked into a room with 11 other males. Without me requesting or saying anything,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

It's the second time I stay at bulldog. Definitely recommend for the localization and environment. Cheers for the staff, Pablo in particular and to the weekend djs. Bad point is the breakfast, with is very simple and limited (couldn't ask for much more from a hostel tough).

Helpful?
Thank FabioBuchner
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We will be sure to pass on your nice comments about Pablo! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

583 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $40 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay