We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bulldog Hotel

Hostelworld.com$82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights, the beds are normal and the rooms are clean, however the bathrooms had very bad smell, they should clean the sewers more often. The staff isn't helpful at all. I asked three different ones how to get to some place and they didn't help a lot, just a few words and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Aww , The receptionists really take pride in being helpful so im sure they are dissapointed to read this. Maybe it was something they've said a thousand times so it seems easy to them , but Amsterdam is a bit of maze so we'll make sure to remind them to take a little extra time. I hope the rest of...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This a great Hostel for the price you pay. There were 9 of us on a lads weekend to Amsterdam and not one of us had any complaints, well accept for each others snoring! The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. There was only one shower for 9 of us, but we made it work without many problems....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

There's earplugs at reception (snoring bas&*&ds) !! Thanks for the kind words and we couldnt be happier that you had a nice time. We will look forward to seeing you again someday.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with three of my friends, we had a great time here but there were a couple of things that could have made it even better. The AC unit we had in our room didn't work the best and we where sweating way too hard while he were here. However the staff we great and very accommodating to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Digital A
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, The AC in the hotel is very new, but always tell the reception if you have any issue so we can try and make things even better for you. Most importantly, it sounds like you had a great time, met some cool people and saw one of the great cities...thats what its all about!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good hostel in a good location - about 8 minutes from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Lots of shops nearby, staff very friendly, felt safe walking about at night. Very comfortable beds. Great for large groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megjones2015
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks! friendly,comfortable,convinient,safe - Thats everything we strive to be! (maybe throw in a bit of cRaZY). We'll hope to see you again :)

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good trip for the music festival, offered good room for 7 of us, comfortable beds and lockers for stuff. Good location near everything and only a 10 minute walk to the main square. Breakfast was limited, good security and overall nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConstableJordan10
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and were glad you had a successful trip to Amsterdam!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend stayed in here for 5 nights. it was nice overall but there were some issues: the water temperature in the shower changes every 2-4 seconds. you can never be sure! we were staying in a room with no view and under our window there was the alley behind the hotel. there was a lot of noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lanir18
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mate, Please please please, bring it to our attention while you're here! We would love to have the chance to improve the situation for you (boiler check! ear plugs! room change!) but we cant help after your gone. Thanks for the feedback and safe travels.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in for a weekend. There were 11 of us sharing a 12 bed room. The beds were comfy, the facilities adequate. There was a rooftop terrace which was great for socializing. The breakfast was adequate: fresh bread buns with cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, cereal, free coffee etc. The atmosphere in the lounge was great. However I was disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank dundundun1111
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, i would really appreciate if you could contact me (Robert) at the hotel by phone or email. Our bar prices are listed in the menu and do not vary except for specials and happy hour. Obviously, this would be an unacceptable practice,so I would be very appreciative if I could get some more details from you directly. I hope...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to The Bulldog with some of my friends. I'd never stayed at a hostel before so I was a bit weary. However Robert at the desk was absolutely lovely and even introduced me to Catia (the cute cat behind the desk). The rooms were very clean, all beds had a light and a plug socket, toilets in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blondie0020
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hey that's me! Im really glad you had a great time. Hopefully we will see you again. Safe Travels.

Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hostel, the beds were good and comfy. The general style of the decor was cool in the room and throughout the hotel. There was low if not no noise coming from the street as I slept next to the window. The breakfast was pretty basic that was included, I don't remember seeing a continental or English breakfast on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks for the feedback, You are correct that the kitchen is closed during breakfast for the guests. After 1030 when the kitche opens there are lots of breakfast options on the menu. But breakfast does offer all kinds of meats and cheese, cereals and bread as you metioned, fruit, juices, tea, coffee etc. If youre looking for a full...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location is great....very central to pretty much everywhere, and lots of restaurants and shops on the doorstep. If you go to Amsterdam and smoke weed, you're very accepted, however, if you don't (like me) you do feel a bit of an outcast......that's not just this hotel as it seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyWoosie
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am really dissapointed to read your review. if there is one thing that means a lot to us, its that everyone can feel welcome at the hotel, no matter your details, smoker or not, so we feel really terrible that we failed you in this. That anyone was rude to you is not acceptable to the management...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

606 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,149 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $41 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“front rooms are quite noisy.”
christinap854, 4 days ago | Read review
“Rooms at the front overlooking the street/canal could get noisy late at night”
lyndas59, 5 days ago | Read review
“if you respect your holiday dont stay here”
slianos, 1 week ago | Read review
“Best to get the higher floors as it will be quieter and less of a smell of weed.”
Z7660TGcolinh, 1 week ago | Read review
“The free wifi is on the main floor, but doesn't reach the upstairs rooms. Also don't bring any outside food in, its not allowed upstairs.”
digitala2017, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hostelworld.com
$82* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates