We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Bulldog Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 605: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The location was fantastic as it was the maximum of 15-20 minutes walk to all attractions with most walks being around 10 minutes mark. I stayed in 12 beds dorm which was comfortable and clean. However there was only one shower for 12 boys so I do consider myself lucky that I did not stay with 11 girls! The shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank AsherWW
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! We will pass it on to our "red haired receptionist" . We will hope to see you again. cheers! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a few hostels during my trip in Amsterdam. The Bulldog hostel was the worst of them all. The rooms were dirty and it smelled weird. My bed was dirty and the bed sheets were damped. The drain in the showers were not functionnal so the floor in the bathroom was covered by water. And the breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alec T
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us more. We would be happy to address any of these concerns with you while you were here, replace your bed sheets, even find you another room. The most important thing is our guests are comfortable. So please never be too shy or afraid to ask us! It... More 

south
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Another visit this time with two mates celebrating our October birthdays. Lovely large room overlooking canal at front of hotel what more could you want?? The location is totally ideal and as the title says I will not bother wasting my time trying to book anywhere else when I know it just simply won't compare. Guys your still doing a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonathan_digway
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Really kind of you :) Not sure how why this would affect your future bookings. You are of course, always welcome, We will hope to see you for your birthday next year. In fact, please send us an email informing us if or when you are coming back, so we can make sure to show our appreciation for your visits.... More 

1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2016

First, It is around 8 min walking from the Amsterdam Central Station, so is really good. The beds are good and clean. I stayed on a 8 beds room and the place have a really good space with 2 bathrooms, that were really clean. This place is good, the prices are affordable, the inside bar is also economic,however the thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alfredo P
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mate, Thanks for the kind words. We are also happy to welcome those who dont want to get high too! In fact, we are currently upgrading some infrastructure to improve this exact situation. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The Bulldog was a fantastic hotel, was recommended by a friend and was not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation and facilities were great and good prices. The rooms were cleaned regularly, comfy beds, my room had two ensuites, downstairs there was a bar/restaurant which had free breakfast every morning. The location was excellent, right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

They say you can always judge a person by the company they keep. if you're friend is recommending us then clearly this bodes well for you ! Thanks for the review (and tell your friend thanks for the recommendation too!) More 

South Shields Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2016

The Bulldog Hotel has an excellent location on the edge of the Red Light District, close to Central Station and Dam Square. I didn't stop in a dorm, instead opting for a two person private room. The room was basic but nicely decorated and clean, the beds were comfortable. A shower room and toilet/sink were en suite. Guests have use... More 

Helpful?
Thank IanStorrar
Central Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Was visiting this hotel with friends. If you stay in Amsterdam and without family, than you should definatly choose this hotel, because this is what its all about. Its located on the main street, everything is all arround, bar downstears with amazing workers. Everything smells like Amsterdam down there, but I guess thats part of the trip. BTW maybe dont... More 

Helpful?
Thank ansisi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I've always come here and stayed in dorm bedrooms, which is fine when you're traveling with mates or solo - but probably not somewhere you'd bring the family. The dorms accommodate up to 16 people (I think) but I think I've only ever seen able 10 or so in the rooms I've stayed in over the years. Never really had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnnnno
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2016

The biggest thing this place has going for it is the location. Showers are pretty musty, but the beds are clean. It was myself and 2 other friends. Our roommates were extremely obnoxious and down right loud and rude. But not something the hotel can really control. You have to pay for a locker, which is kind of garbage. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean T
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Been coming to Amsterdam for the past 7 years around Christmas time. Absolutely love the city. Found this hotel/hostel on my second time out there, and been staying here since. Located perfectly in my opinion, surrounded by good deli's, bars and coffee shops, whether it's for a coffee or a... and makes a good base for visiting the suburbs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordonjb
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Please send us an email with your booking number for your next visit. 5 visits deserves something! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

591 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (256)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,377 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $57 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book a private suite if you are over 35.”
 of 5 bubbles livinlrgtraveler, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“get private room however the dorms are cool aswell.”
 of 5 bubbles raheelk206, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located, easily accessible”
 of 5 bubbles B898PQadams, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Canal view room”
 of 5 bubbles Jusso1, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“You can't lose but the girls dorm was definitely a bit nicer lol”
 of 5 bubbles mollym352, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay