We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Rembrandt

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Rembrandt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2016

The hotel is in a great location, not right in the hustle and bustle of the city but well within walking distance (and right on a tram line for anyone who prefers not to walk). The staff were very friendly and gave us some great information about the local area and how to get around. They're also on reception 24...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

I had a 3 night stay in Hotel Rembrandt which I had deliberately chosen because it's located within easy walking distance to the conference venue that I was attending and the tram stops almost outside the door. The hotel is quite small but cozy and while my room was tiny even by Dutch standards, it was very comfortable and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RJCN8
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I did stray and stayed in another location twice, never again! This hotel is in the PERFECT location, you are smack dab half way between Damn Square and Leidse Square, that is where all the action is at night. This hotel has clean rooms, great friendly service and all around home feeling,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 37valeriek
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2016

My partner and I found this to be a lovely hotel our room was great with lots of space, the decor throughout the hotel is clean and modern with a blend of classic. The lady who owns the hotel is very polite and helpful as where all the staff we met that worked there, nothing was too much trouble for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your great review. We will be sure to pass your kind words to the rest of the staff and we hope to welcome you both in Amsterdam another time! Kind regards, Lynn

Reviewed September 5, 2016

All started 2 days before our booking. One of our guests had been hit by a car and we wanted to try and cancel and get a more central location. We contacted booking.com who then contacted the property who said that they could cancel for half the amount of the booking which we didn't want to do. But the property...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuartaaa
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We feel sorry you experienced your stay like this, especially since none of you mentioned anything during your stay with us, only to ask for a refund after you've checked out. Next time when you're staying somewhere and you're not satisfied with anything please let the staff know so they can assist you...

Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We had a family room for three at € 200,00 a night. It seemed quite convenient compared to the online offers for hotels in Amsterdam. The hotel is very close to the center. It is served by tram, but we always walked. It does not have a garage. There is a public one near the science museum at 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giovanna R
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We hope we can welcome you again some time. Kind regards, Lynn Hotel Rembrandt

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed July 29, 2016

OK I'm going to come out straight away and tell you what sucks about this place... ... there is no elevator. You have to walk up all three levels and if you are on the top floor and have a heavy bag it pretty much sucks. Fairly sure I could have asked the dude at the check in to do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason M
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The stairs can be a bit tricky all the way up:) However we're very glad you've enjoyed your stay! Next time please don't hesitate to let one of us help you with your luggage. We hope to welcome you again! Kind regards, Lynn

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Went as a group for a stag do. While the rooms were ok i feel the room we were in just had another bed shoe horned into it to get more people in. Had a lovely little patio are however that was nice. Bed were fine, decent nights sleep. One problem we did have was getting towels changed. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liam p
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. With the environment in mind, towels only get changed when our guests leave them on the bathroom floor. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam; whether with your wife or with friends:) Kind regards, Lynn

Reviewed July 14, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel and we would definitely come back. The staff was very nice, the rooms were cozy. And the hotel's manager (the cat) was very welcoming. The bathroom was clean and the room spacious and bright. 10 minutes walk from the city centre, it was nice to be able to walk till late at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natalia Z
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review. We hope to welcome you in our hotel again some time! Kind regards, Lynn

Exeter UK
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 10 years ago and had fond memories of a friendly and slightly quirky hotel in a quiet yet convenient location. We were not disappointed as it was just as we had remembered except they now had a giant Nespresso machine in the breakfast room and a new hotel manager (a friendly cat called Binke). When we return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank herona
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad to see you still enjoy our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Lynn Hotel Rembrandt

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 362 in Amsterdam
92 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
240 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#249 of 362 in Amsterdam
396 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 362 in Amsterdam
254 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 362 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $115 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rembrandt staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Carlsbad, California
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rembrandt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the trams. The stairs are very steep.”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Canal side”
 of 5 bubbles 37valeriek, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“No lifts and narrow stiars which is common in houses of this style.”
 of 5 bubbles 348dickd, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid all not worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles Stuartaaa, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Loved room #2 (?) with a deck - - - we also were visited by the neighbor's orange tabby cat. Charming place”
 of 5 bubbles jamespO6230CY, Dec 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay