We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Show Prices
#77 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 569: English reviews
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are 4 couples who take the same weekend each year as a City break. This years choice of Amsterdam was a great success largely due to the hotel which really served us well. Great history and character with very helpful and friendly staff. We had paid a little extra for canal views, well worth the cash and, yes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScupperedPete
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have no idea how this is hotel rates so highly. The staff were uninterested and little help. The staircases to access rooms were downright dangerous, especially if traveling with mature aged people. Maybe the reviews are positive because patrons had a decent view that overcame the disappointment of the rooms. The hotel rooms aren't 'quaint' or 'period' they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
Jan B, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not like our hotel as much as most other travellers did. What you reserved is what you got: 2 triple rooms, no canal view, single beds. And for breakfast we had 4 types of bread, cheeses, cold cuts, boiled eggs, cereals, percolated coffee, fresh tea, milk & juices. Sorry.

St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideally situated for walking the old city and all the main museums and shopping areas are close by. Very friendly and helpful staff and room comfortable and clean. Stairs to the higher rooms a little bit tricky but not a serious problem. Nice breakfast area overlooking canal and busy corner great for people watching and comfortable lounge area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is perfectly located alongside a canal in a quiet street but only a short walk from all the main sights and busy nightlife areas. A historic building with loads of character. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had an ample choice of breads, cold meats, cheeses, eggs etc. Served in a lovely room with fantastic canal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevsy42
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel within walking distance of all the main attractions. It is about a 25min walk from the central station but also not far from tram stops. We paid extra for a room with a canal view and it was spacious and comfortable. There are hot drinks available from downstairs and the continental breakfast buffet was plentiful. We prebooked tickets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather E
Tiverton
Reviewed November 2, 2016

This old hotel, situated on a very pretty corner, right on the edge of the old city centre, is within walking distance of several important museums, as well as a good selection of bars and restaurants. You can reach it from the airport via train to Central Station, and then a long walk or a short taxi ride, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Goff W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Wiechmann is very conveniently located on Prinsengracht in the Jordan area and also an easy walk to Leidseplein, Museumplein, Vondel Park, Spui, etc. There are many nice restaurants, cafes and pubs in the area (patronized by locals rather than tourists). It's charming, very clean, with a nice, bright breakfast room overlooking the canal. I found it very well run: our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lapope
Myersville, Maryland
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This hotel was a real find. It is located within a few blocks of the Elandsgracht bus stop where bus 197 from the airport ends it's run (5 euros). You can pay on the bus. The staff is very nice and helpful, and everyone I dealt with spoke very good English. They let us store our luggage since we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PGD52
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed October 23, 2016

We stayed in Weichmann for just two days before exploring the Netherlands. Location is perfect in the middle of the city, and we had a very nice canal view from our room. Room was quite small, as in most Amsterdam hotels, but enough for the two of us. But the view was nice, as was the beds and the brekfast....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hans55
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in this beautiful old style hotel for 4 nights. Every single staff member we have come in contact with have been exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and was exactly what we needed. Great location. Only downfall is the very skinny stairs to have to drag your suitcase up and down. But as you only have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

587 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (345)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (232)
Viewed
Double Room with Canal View (38)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Small Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Triple Room (39)
Viewed
Twin Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 362 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#71 of 362 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordaan

Neighborhood Profile
Jordaan
One of Amsterdam’s most preferred outdoor markets and some of the city’s favorite watering holes are but two of the many reasons to save ample time for a stroll through this especially convivial warren of narrow streets with its unfair share of quirky shops and quality galleries. Historically a haven for the working class and emigrants, these days the Jordaan is better known as an enclave for artists and designers. As popular as the Jordaan is as a destination for locals and out-of-towners alike, the area never feels particularly touristy or overrun with outsiders. A highlight even for long-time Jordaan residents, be sure to accept any invitation to step within one of the area’s beloved courtyards or to have a sneak peek inside one of its many working studios.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Price Range: $109 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for canal view if possible”
  • From our bedroom window
 of 5 bubbles ScupperedPete, 5 days ago | Read review
“Room 229 great for 4. Very quiet with no noise from street or other rooms.No view but weren't in the room for long so not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles Kevsy42, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Requested a quiet room. Got a 3rd floor room at the rear, away from the street. Therefore no canal view, but beautifully quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GoffWelchman, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles PGD52, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Canal rooms are noisy but have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles tinad322, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay