We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 2, 2016

The staff from the moment we checked in were very rude, my mum could not find her passport (she had dropped in it the lobby) to check in and the man on reception sniggered at us and said it was 'weird' that she didn't have responsibility over her own passport (true! but it was not needed in the stressful situation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there! I just read your comment and i'm shocked too. Our staff is overall really helpful and respectful, so i'm flabbergasted about the fact how they treated you. The woman that shook your brother awake 1am must be a other guest. This because we don't have any woman working at nightshifts. About the key: Sometimes the key can be...

Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

Me and 8 other friends (male & female) stayed here over NYE, it is in the perfect location. Walking distance from the train station, red light district and Dan square. All staff were friendly and really helpful. The hostel was clean and we all felt safe. Would recommend for any travellers wanting a short stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammi121
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your recommendations, We are happy you had a nice New Years eve here!

Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

I found this place very clean, big and with good prices. The rooms are awesom and u have a lot of space to put ur things. It is very secure and also the bar is nice. The staff is very friendly and u have a free breakfast everyday! Its well ubicated and u can easyly go to party and back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bren R
Reviewed January 5, 2016

This hostel was the first hostel I stayed in my life. I was expecting dirty bathroom with long lines, but the hostel was really nice. The rooms are confortable and there are many bathrooms and toilets. They have energy outlets in every bed which was perfect. The only problem was the stairs. I stayed on the last floor, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndyLoyola
Milan, Italy
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

This hostel has a perfect location - Dam Square is 5 minutes walking. The staff is amazing, the guys are always available to help. The hostel is clean, it has a common area where you can charge your phone and read e book, and there is a pub inside too! Unfortunately I did not try the breakfast but it smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessa_hills
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, whenever you are back in Amsterdam please come and visit, we owe you a breakfast :) Happy 2016!!!

Regina, Canada
Reviewed January 1, 2016

Staying here was overall a pleasant experience. The location is good, it wasn't difficult to find, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and well layed out. My only real issue was that there was a severe lack of plug-ins in the room. For a room of eight (?) of us there was only a single plug by a tiny shelf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. Glad you had a good time with us. Good news: We have just recently refurbished all our rooms so there is now a personal outlet and bedlight with each bed! Have a great trip!

Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Hostel very well located, close to the center of Amsterdam. A good atmosphere, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Ruben and David are the best :) ps : wait for our present. We will definitely return. Kisses Ana and Iolanda

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iolanda V
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hey Ladies! We are glad you're safe at home! Let us know when you will visit us again;) A present? Why? Christmas is already over right?:p haha. You're always welcome over here! Have a wonderful 2016! Ciaoo Ruben & David

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed November 30, 2015

This place is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! And trust me, i have stayed in many around the world. It is very clean and super friendly staff. Breakfast is big and free. Also located in walking distance from most of the tourist places.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mishtiyo
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for this great review and room tip! Hope to see you again someday :)

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed November 23, 2015

This place has a great location. Nothing in Amsterdam in very far away, even on foot, but this place is about 5 minutes from Dam Square, it's location can't be faulted. The Staff was great. I needed to change beds halfway through my stay as my first bed was right beside the door. I can usually sleep through anything, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nerdyadventurer12
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough review, good to know that you got to change to another bed that was more comfortable for you, and that the locker was a in a better location as well! We are planning to get more outlets in the room, we do know that it's a bit of a drag for everyone; that's why we also...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2015

I stayed here in a group of 4 people and couldn't fault the place! It's located in the middle of everything as is in walking distance of everything you would want to see! Reception staff was very welcoming and friendly which made us feel at ease as this was our first hostel experience. We arrived very early due to an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Z
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Wauwwwwww thanks for this awesome positive review! We are happy you had such a great time over here! We hope to meet you and your friends again! Have a nice day

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#14 of 226 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
777 reviews
Generator Amsterdam
#9 of 226 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Price Range: $33 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reading, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Next time I prefer booking for a room with single sex, because the couple always make some strange sounds...= =”
 of 5 bubbles iamhuafei, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“Any room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles 235dimitrisg, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“Everything is great.”
 of 5 bubbles piotrw639, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a bed away from the door, to avoid traffic of people entering and exiting the room at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 305renaeh, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“spent as little time here as possible”
 of 5 bubbles katrinl281, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question