We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff from the moment we checked in were very rude, my mum could not find her passport (she had dropped in it the lobby) to check in and the man on reception sniggered at us and said it was 'weird' that she didn't have responsibility over her own passport (true! but it was not needed in the stressful situation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam K
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there! I just read your comment and i'm shocked too. Our staff is overall really helpful and respectful, so i'm flabbergasted about the fact how they treated you. The woman that shook your brother awake 1am must be a other guest. This because we don't have any woman working at nightshifts. About the key: Sometimes the key can be... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and 8 other friends (male & female) stayed here over NYE, it is in the perfect location. Walking distance from the train station, red light district and Dan square. All staff were friendly and really helpful. The hostel was clean and we all felt safe. Would recommend for any travellers wanting a short stay :)

Helpful?
Thank Sammi121
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your recommendations, We are happy you had a nice New Years eve here! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found this place very clean, big and with good prices. The rooms are awesom and u have a lot of space to put ur things. It is very secure and also the bar is nice. The staff is very friendly and u have a free breakfast everyday! Its well ubicated and u can easyly go to party and back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bren R
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

This hostel was the first hostel I stayed in my life. I was expecting dirty bathroom with long lines, but the hostel was really nice. The rooms are confortable and there are many bathrooms and toilets. They have energy outlets in every bed which was perfect. The only problem was the stairs. I stayed on the last floor, I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank IndyLoyola
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

This hostel has a perfect location - Dam Square is 5 minutes walking. The staff is amazing, the guys are always available to help. The hostel is clean, it has a common area where you can charge your phone and read e book, and there is a pub inside too! Unfortunately I did not try the breakfast but it smelled... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessa_hills
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, whenever you are back in Amsterdam please come and visit, we owe you a breakfast :) Happy 2016!!! More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Staying here was overall a pleasant experience. The location is good, it wasn't difficult to find, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and well layed out. My only real issue was that there was a severe lack of plug-ins in the room. For a room of eight (?) of us there was only a single plug by a tiny shelf... More 

Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. Glad you had a good time with us. Good news: We have just recently refurbished all our rooms so there is now a personal outlet and bedlight with each bed! Have a great trip! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Hostel very well located, close to the center of Amsterdam. A good atmosphere, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Ruben and David are the best :) ps : wait for our present. We will definitely return. Kisses Ana and Iolanda

Helpful?
Thank Iolanda V
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hey Ladies! We are glad you're safe at home! Let us know when you will visit us again;) A present? Why? Christmas is already over right?:p haha. You're always welcome over here! Have a wonderful 2016! Ciaoo Ruben & David More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

This place is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! And trust me, i have stayed in many around the world. It is very clean and super friendly staff. Breakfast is big and free. Also located in walking distance from most of the tourist places.

Helpful?
Thank mishtiyo
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for this great review and room tip! Hope to see you again someday :) More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

This place has a great location. Nothing in Amsterdam in very far away, even on foot, but this place is about 5 minutes from Dam Square, it's location can't be faulted. The Staff was great. I needed to change beds halfway through my stay as my first bed was right beside the door. I can usually sleep through anything, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank nerdyadventurer12
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Minds at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough review, good to know that you got to change to another bed that was more comfortable for you, and that the locker was a in a better location as well! We are planning to get more outlets in the room, we do know that it's a bit of a drag for everyone; that's why we also... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

I stayed here in a group of 4 people and couldn't fault the place! It's located in the middle of everything as is in walking distance of everything you would want to see! Reception staff was very welcoming and friendly which made us feel at ease as this was our first hostel experience. We arrived very early due to an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria Z
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Wauwwwwww thanks for this awesome positive review! We are happy you had such a great time over here! We hope to meet you and your friends again! Have a nice day More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#26 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#29 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay