We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Abba

05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Abba
 Click to rate
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The locasion is near the Leidsplein and the center ! The staff is great but the rooms and the bathroom are dirty ! The breakfast was poor and very poor wifi .The steps were dangerous !The room smelled of smoke when you walked into the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stastavro
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Dear stastavro, Thanks for writing us a review! We're happy you liked our location and staff! We will investigate as to why/if the room/bathroom was dirty, as this is definitely not supposed to be the case! We are indeed a smokers friendly hotel, as stated on every website we're bookable on. Because of this, we do not offer the option...

Exton, PA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you're looking for inexpensive, yet safe and convenient, and can deal with steps, ABBA is a great place. I've stayed at ABBA quite a few times. Yes, when I have more money, I stay somewhere else, but if it makes the difference of being able to take a trip or not...This is it. They even give you a basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bimmerfun
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is great (15' walking from Leidsplein).Their breakfast is pretty good and their rooms quite clean.The most major drawback is that they have no elevator and they are not willing to help you carry the suitcases on their extremely small stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giota V
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was simple with a comfy bed and a nice but noisy street view. The bathroom was clean. The room smelled of smoke when you walked into the room. The breakfast was great, there was continental breakfast and good coffee as well as hot boiled eggs. We didn't mind staying here as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there 4 nights. Great place. The breakfast is basic but enough to jump start you in the morning. You can't find a better place for convenience. Staff is super nice and helpful.the lady at the reception spent a good 10 minutes with me to make sure I knew how to get to the place called wassaloon or something...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73syed
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked very much Hotel Abba. Good localization. Quiet. Very near of Leidseplein and Museumplein. Easy to get tram and to go to the airport. About 2 km walking to the Central Station. The room was very confortable and de brekfast very good. The hotel staf was very king.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlosfcmonteiro
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came with a friend to stay for a few days. The location of Hotel Abba is great and within easy walking distance of everything. There are a lot of stairs so if that is a problem for you then do not choose here. Bathrooms are shared, rooms are very basic but clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1963todd
Horten, Norway
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

does what it says on the tin!clean,warm dry accommodation with an ok breakfast.a great location with a supermarket under the hotel and a tramstop outside.many tourist attractions and coffee-shops within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L8334FPmartinm
Iloilo City
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

We came to visit Amsterdam coming from Belgium. The hotel is clean, good toilet and bathrooms, and good breakfast. All the necessary things a Traveller on a budget needs. The location is right on the traim way stop with a convenient store downstairs. The check in was hassle free and the all the staff were friendly. Don't be turn off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franco035
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, Tram stops outside, supermarket underneath hotel for munchies, breakfast is included and good selection. And most important you can smoke in rooms so enjoy your wake and bake ;)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephen m
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Double Room Private Facilities (40)
Viewed
Family Room Private Facilities (64)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Single Room Shared Facilities (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)
Viewed
Triple Room Private Facilities (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#237 of 364 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 364 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#172 of 364 in Amsterdam
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#200 of 364 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $77 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Abba staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Colorado
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Abba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on the back of the hotel are good .”
stastavro, 3 days ago | Read review
“If you want super quiet (for Amsterdam) ask for a room that does not face the street...BUT facing the street is cool, too...”
bimmerfun, 5 days ago | Read review
“room at back quieter”
Joany46, Feb 23, 2017 | Read review
“higher rooms are bigger but have lower ceilings”
924SueW924, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room away from the street. Be aware that my room at least had thin walls, so you hear much next door, including noisy keys opening/closing doors. ”
VancouverTraveller1, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates