We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 669: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with 7 other girls, had a great time. The hostel is cheap and cheerful, not somewhere for people expecting hotel style accommodation but it did the job for us. Room was clean and we had no problems with leaving valuables in the lockers. My only criticisms are the size of the bathroom and the temperature... More 

Helpful?
Thank amclco
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! We are exactly the way you described! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon for another unforgettable trip to Amsterdam!!!! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Lille, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hostel is cheap, beds are OK and the included breakfast outstanding for an hostel (bread, coffee, tea, ham, cheese), the room are clean (not the common space), there is a cool bar and a empty club. The people is requested not to smoke (any kind of "tobacco") inside and this was enforced. The only problem of this hostel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Romain494
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! During high season it can be really crowded at reception so the staff doesn't have the time to mingle with the guests (during check in and check out time). For reservations, you can book via our website, email or via the phone. We do have a luggage room which you can use for free... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Security is fine. Bunk beds like a normal hostel. With 500 beds, don't expect the personal touch - staff will just check you in and out and not bother about telling you where to go in Amsterdam. Bathroom is small and gets flooded after a shower. The water does not dry up after many hours. Dirty too. It is really... More 

Helpful?
Thank AgC767
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Our rooms get cleaned every day including our bathroom, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Our breakfast includes freshly made pancakes, boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea, bread and several spreads! From central station to the hotel, it's the fastest way to take tram 1, 2 or... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Reception staff were actually pretty decent. Cleaning ? Not so much. Rather than make the bed they just threw the sheets on the bed. Bunk beds with no ladders! And no railings! Breakfast decent. Good wifi in dining area, great location. As expected, full of drunk and stoned youth. No problemo. I wouldn't go there again as I'm not skint... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy G
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your comment! We clean our rooms every day, but when you share a room with other guests they can get the place messy after cleaning. We do have private rooms as well (little tip for next time visiting Amsterdam:)) Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

So fair enough when a group of you go to Amsterdam for the weekend you just want somewhere to sleep and get ready in, our room was fine apart from having one mirror which is in the bathroom between 6 people. The noise was fine, had no problem sleeping. Location was perfect. Check out time is abit ridiculous, 10am, 11... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah26587
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and at out hotel! About your complaints: we take this issue really serious, so would like please send us an email with details about the morning of your check-out (what were the women looked lil etc.). You can send it to thomas@hans-brinker.com Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

You don't come here expecting the ritz but for what it is and where it is it is good value. Clean, good beds, cheap but noisy and very basic. Bring your earplugs! Breakfast is included and there is also a bar and nightclub. Bring your own soap too as there's none in the toilets. Overall don't book your parents in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily R
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! We are even better than the Ritz as we have our own underground club ;)!! But indeed, the Ritz provides shower gel for their guests as we don't. Thanks for your review and see you hopefully again at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After reading reviews, I was worried about our college visit to Amsterdam staying at the Hans Brinker. The hostel was much better than initially expected, clean rooms, helpful staff, decent breakfast. Yes the hostel was noisy, but due to fellow students. Rooms were cleaned every day, and the bed wasn't uncomfortable. A pleasantly surprised stay, wouldn't mark this as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenn K
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jen! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel when visiting Amsterdam with friends! Keep us in mind :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Where to start. Staff were incredibly rude, reception was horrible! We opened the door to our room and was hit by a wall of smoke. 2 seedy guys sitting on the beds drinking and smoking weed. When asking the woman at reception if there was another room she just shrugged and said no. When asking about the smoking guys in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sbirchall
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your comment. Indeed it's not allowed to smoke in the dorms. Normally if someone complains about smoking we always go to the room and solve the problems. We are sorry to read this is not solved properly by the receptionist. Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrible hostel do not stay here. We were traveling with a bus about group and we had to walk a fair way from our drop off point to this hostel. A group of people got there a few minutes before us and they checked in fine, but they said to us that we were 10 mins late... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy W
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Our policy (stated on every website / profile) is to secure your reservation if you arrive after noon. In your case we did not wait for 10 minutes, but way longer. We did not cancel your booking: you could stay the first night, but we couldn't give you the second night any more. You had plenty of time to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

It's always better when something exceeds your expectations and this did. We were 4 girls staying here for 3 nights. Got a room for 5 and no one else took the spare bed. It's cheap compared to other places and you get what you pay for. Everything is very BASIC, although clean the duvet cover was particularly comfy. Towels are... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebrewer109
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. You're summary of our hotel is true: we are cheap and really fun, but we are basic (our rooms are). We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

393 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#11 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#49 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $27 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay