We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 778: English reviews
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Inside this hostel there are various Hans Brinker posters scattered around the lobby walls that use self-deprecating humour in an attempt to mock the fact that this is a "budget" hotel. The sad thing is that these satirical advertisements are actually accurate. On the positive, breakfast is included. The hostel has cooks that will prepare breakfast as well as dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We would just like to state that anything left on your bed an also be left there by your roommates, because we clean our rooms daily, including making the beds. But if it was left there by our housekeeping, we offer our apologies!

Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 24, 2015

This was my second visit to Hans Brinker and it certainly retained its reputation. I suggested the hostel for our trip to Amsterdam and the other 15 people I was travelling with agreed to have faith in my recommendation. Hans Brinker is situated in the heart of the city, with an incredibly short walk to the Rijksmuseum & Vondelpark. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review, we love to read this! Just to warn you when you’ll be visiting us next time: lockers are great to stash backpacks, but aren’t so secure so for valuables, therefore we always advise to rent a safe at reception. Hope to see you soon, and keep spreading the good vibe!

Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewed June 22, 2015

This hotel lived up to its name during my stay. Grungy rooms. Uncomfortable bunk beds. However the location was good for back packers, the bar was great and had cheap drinks. Breakfast was good for European standards. I would recommend this place for anyone not bothered by loud, vibrant, drunk/high travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan_K_88
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

We completely agree with you! Thanks for the review and glad to see you enjoyed our bar + breakfast!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend at the end of May. Five of us in one room...the bed were very comfortable and the room was v clean. They had a great little bar downstairs with a happy hour every evening, continental breakfast was in with the price it even had a night club in the basement what more could you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cloughmyster
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive words! Our comfortable beds + bar are waiting for you!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed June 18, 2015

Yes, I understand the name says both 'budget' and 'hostel' but I was not at all impressed with this location. Bar/restaurant was under (loud) construction, no wifi access for the 5 days we stayed, rude staff, elevator that doesn't work, etc... Yes, it was. Us get friendly, but I would have much rather payed a bit more and thoroughly enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley Y
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Sorry to read you did not like your stay with us. We always try to be nice, but sometimes are just not having the best day ever. Especially during constructions… which was also the reason wifi wasn’t working, now it’s all back in the air. Hope you could enjoy the lovely city of Amsterdam even though your stay with us...

Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

After reading reviews we were really looking forward to what we were in for. Receptionists are really nice, I can't see what people have been complaining about. It was cheap and gave you a free breakfast which was better than some hostels breakfast which we had to pay for. A free towel, yes it may be size of a hand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie M
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Fantastic to read your comments! You got what it’s all about - made our day. Hope to see you again soon, happy hour is waiting for you!

Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here recently with a group of guys as part of a stag do, the organiser thinking it would be a laugh to book us into the grottiest dump he could find. Joke was on him as it turned out this place is absolutely average. We stayed in the private dorms (that's right, we're big shots) Rooms were hotter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben A
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

You’re some pretty awesome big shots. Hope to see the group of you soon again! And we can be nice to women as well…

Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

This is kind of what they pride their self as. Although the place was clean, bfast was decent, rooms and bathrooms got cleaned daily and the location is very central in AMS. This has been a terrible experience. Very noisy. No kitchen. Reception staff mostly rude. Hope you don't need to ask the blond reception young lady anything, her attitude...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharne B
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a youth hostel, so indeed you can find many people here who are exploring Amsterdam with a party spirit. Also, we’re a basic, low-budget hotel. Therefore we completely agree with you; if you’re looking for a fun time with many other travelers, we’re a great place to stay. If your looking for an...

Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Travelled with a large group of around 50 people but organisations of keys etc was not problematic. Stayed in a dorm of 6. The room was very very poor, with no safety guard on the top bunks. The walls were thin so noise was a problem. The lockers didn't lock. The bathroom was small and old, but clean. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna S
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

Croatia
Reviewed May 29, 2015

If you're looking for a place where you can start your Amsterdam adventure this is it. It's situated in a beautiful, little, quiet street in which you can find everything you need for exploring Amsterdam and as soon as you get out you find yourself practically in the town centre. There is a cool place for renting bikes just next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBunn
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Wooow you’re so cool for giving us such a nice description! We love it that you liked your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

437 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (182)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
783 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $25 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam staff and other travelers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
376elliem, 1 week ago | Read review
“Located in the city center; Establishment nice to meet people”
valentinedarde, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“book a room away from the courtyard.”
P1CKY34T3R, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the back and on a higher floor to avoid noise at night from the club/bar.”
Melian5, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“2nd floord was pretty good”
43pierinar, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question