We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

1,375 reviews
Save
Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (156)
Dining (61)
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good36%
  • Average27%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“free breakfast”(48 reviews)
“bed dorm”(18 reviews)
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,375)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
160
303
210
91
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
160
303
210
91
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnightclub downstairsfree breakfastbed dormprivate bathroomyouth hostelcoffee shopsthe red light districtcentral locationyogurtvan gogh museumbasementheinekenleidsepleinnightlifedamtram
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
331 - 335 of 862 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Out of all the places I have been in Europe so far, this had to be one of the worst. Firstly the bathroom was tiny. When you took a shower it flooded the bathroom. You had to take a towel and wipe up the floor....More

Thank Graham N
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel AmsterdamResponded December 21, 2015

Just the worst in Europe? So we aren't even the worst in the world anymore... What a shame... Besides that: toilets shouldn't be broken! So we fixed it :) And at least you're ending on a positive note, which is nice.

Reviewed November 24, 2015

I went on a 3 day trip to Amsterdam in April 2014 and we decided to stay at Hans Brinker purely due to the low price of the place. We had the minimum expectations as this hostel boasts about how scruffy it is. I was...More

2  Thank Yehan W
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel AmsterdamResponded December 21, 2015

Couldn't agree more! As we would say in Dutch: you hit the nail right on it's head!

Reviewed November 24, 2015

Excellent position in city center, friendly staff, clean rooms, very delicious food and on very good even cheap price in comparison to other restaurants and bars. They clean the rooms every day and put new towels. The breakfast was also good. And all this is...More

3  Thank Teodora V
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel AmsterdamResponded December 21, 2015

And we would vote 5 stars for you! The best guest a hotel could have. It's nice to hear you got a taste of our unique atmosphere and jumped right into the party vibe.

Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and couldn't wait to leave. This hotel boosts the stigma that they do not care about bad reviews and actually want people to rate the hotel badly. 4 of us girls where in a 6 bed dorm and when we...More

2  Thank Mona1369
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel AmsterdamResponded December 21, 2015

We don't actually want people to rate our hotel badly, but we're okay with the fact that you did :). Embrace your downsides, as we always say! So about the man in your dorm: if you're uncomfortable with someone in your room, always go to...More

Reviewed November 21, 2015

I stayed here as part of a topdeck tour. I was on the top bunk and struggled to get up there without a ladder to use. It was easy to get from the hostel to everywhere we needed to go, the breakfast was fair. Pretty...More

Thank Maria S
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel AmsterdamResponded December 21, 2015

Too bad we're not going to see you back one day! Not even if we buy a ladder? Or have a spectacular party on New Years Eve?

View more reviews
PreviousNext
16566676869173
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$29 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$29 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (156)
Dining (61)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (206)
Bathroom (18)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically
significant as it is perennially popular. Whether
you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast,
shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the
Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the
Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get
lost in a moody meander and a key component to any
sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
harrymcg336
November 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hansbrinkerhotel | Property representative |
You have a locker in your room. Either one with a key or one with a padlock, you can bring your own or buy one at the reception.
0
Votes
Google Translation
ZhihuiLi
October 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Marta K | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you can. They even have lockers. Just make sure to bring your lock. And it's always good to let them know you're leaving it.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Great value for money"
Read review
"higher up the better"
Read review
"Just don't go"
Read review
"Rooms on 4th floor were great !"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite