We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 716: English reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a excelent localization.The price is cheap comparing with others of the same category. Has a good service and a good bar inside with good prices. A free breakfast is included that's makes the hostel price worthwhile.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilnir R
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed here in June after being recommended by a friend and also the attractive price. The hostel itself is easy to locate, while not being on a busy street. The room is exactly what it suggests it will be, the room was cleaned daily and well. The bathroom had a nasty stench inside but this was not surprising as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
Reviewed October 5, 2014

First off I was ending a 36 day tour of Europe was pretty unhappy when I learned another 4 tours all checking in at the same time. I know it was the worst as soon as I opened that bathroom door and looked in the sink there was hair (pubic by the looks) which later blocked it to the point...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Zahnee D
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

Cheapest hostel in Amsterdam and happy hour was a bargain. Free wifi was a bonus and the food was to a good standard for the price. Absolutely no complaints as you totally get what advertise. Staff were also very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil2978
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our bar for Happy Hour?! Hans Brinker

Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 18, 2014

If you read up on the hostel before staying they set their standards pretty low so you have no good expectations.. I give them credit for this, the hostel isn't terrible though, it's just older and basic.. Similar to a nice prison i would say.. However it's clean, has free wi-fi and happy hour and was in a damn good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! For your next stay: Yes, we are really cheap :)! Hans Brinker

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 17, 2014

I absolutely loved it!!! It was so luxurious with gold walls, its 4 post beds and the eletric curtains aswell you got a free golden ipad, a stunning view of the road!! and the design was magnificent. Food was 9 star quality and the chairs were made from 100% silk and covered in the softsest pillows on the earth!!! It...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Carlin M
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Madame, Thank you for your kind review. At the other hand we are a bit surprised and upset you did not mention all of our services, such as our Valet Parking, Helicopter Service to Schiphol Airport, the dash of caviar of your pillow upon arrival, the complimentary champagne at our Oyster bar, our in-house Sushi restaurant and our 5...

Reviewed September 16, 2014

Base themselves as worst hotel ever, they certainly are! Stayed here with tour group i was on, felt dirty the whole time i was there! Best thing was when i left! Location was ok though, only good thing!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morgan E
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Dirty? We clean our rooms and bathrooms every day, we provide clean bed linen and towels and we have a killer breakfast! Hans Brinker !

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed here when I travelled to amsterdam with my university. It was great. Exactly what you would expect from a hostel - we had bunk bed rooms with lockers in and a shared bathroom. The only difference was I knew everyone else that stayed in the room and there was 6 of us. A basement bar and dancefloor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehmahh
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2014

The room was very basic, but it was great value for money. The location was brilliant and the area was safe. The atmosphere in the morning is great. Cheap, cheerful and I loved it. I would definitely come again but with a bigger group of friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BiancaJG
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, What do you think of the atmosphere in the evening (during Happy Hour) and at night? :) We would love seeing you and your friends again!! Hans Brinker

Reviewed September 14, 2014

Booked a 6-person room with a bathroom. Room as expected, but the water smelled like sulfur/sewer/septic from the sink and toilet. We couldn't even leave the bathroom door open, otherwise the smell of rotten eggs filled the room. Told the staff, but they didn't seem concerned. Someone came in and dropped a bar of soap into the toilet. To help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salinmac
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, As we are located in an old building, the sewage may smell sometimes, although the water is fresh and drinkable all times!!! Too bad though to read our staff wasn't helpful! Hans Brinker

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

417 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#89 of 221 in Amsterdam
327 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#37 of 221 in Amsterdam
390 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 221 in Amsterdam
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $27 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and other travelers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We only tried the private 4-beds room”
 of 5 bubbles ShadyaJ, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to request full dorm to yourselves.”
 of 5 bubbles LP1ECP, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“high floor best...private room not dormitory accomodation!”
 of 5 bubbles hamburger27, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“I think higher floors have better rooms because there's a bar down there.”
 of 5 bubbles stevena677, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“be really really stoned when you want to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mickmcc654, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay