We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,039 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 690: English reviews
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My friends and i stayed at this hostel for 3 days and 3 nights and were very pleased with our short stay. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm which was pleasant enough although wifi coverage in our particular room was poor and it was quite cramped. The Hans Brinker bar offered reasonably priced, good food and it had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi!!! Thanks for your great review!!!! Looking forward seeing you back soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

It is what it is.. Very basic but as travellers it was a great location for the price. Don't expect much, and don't panic when you realise you have no pillow - look in the locker. Bathroom... No comment but would do for 2 nights max. Cheapest place you will probably find in Amsterdam and if your happy with basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amyelliott2
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

"interesting", a pretty cool description! Normally there are pillows, bed linen and towels in the lockers… Hans Brinker More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Imagine yourself in a prison cell with creaky beds, an even creakier (and partly broken) old high-school locker that now acts as the sole wardrobe in your said prison cell which is so small that it won't allow you to take two steps in a direction without hitting something. That's Hans Brinker Budget Hotel for you. Whilst I will admit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jafer S
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Actually we are called 'the worst hotel in the world'. But in real we are one of the cheapest stays in the middle of Amsterdam with basic, but clean rooms and we provide everything you need for a stay in the city. Hans Brinker More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hostel with my topdeck group. The bunk beds had no steps to get to the top bunks, the rooms were quite dirty looking even though they were cleaned. The bathrooms were extremely tiny it was hard to fit a person in it. When using the shower there was some weird rule that you had to keep the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michellehammo
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, At the moment we are looking for a solution for our bunk beds. The signs at our bathrooms inform our guests (at a funny way) to keep the door closed while showering, otherwise the fire alarm will go off due to all steam. Hans Brinker More 

surbiton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I've stayed here twice now because of its exceptional value for money clean facilities and perfect location. I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in Amsterdam, having had problems with another hotel, we arrived at midnight and spoke to a friendly guy on reception who did not seem phased by the time! Once we heard prices of shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank sadieSurbiton
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Looking forward seeing you the third time! Hans Brinker More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Amazing location and a fun go with the flow attitude! The bar food was amazing value and always provided me with another reason to order a drink! I would stay here again and it is a must visit for any traveller through Amsterdam! Although I did make the mistake of not wearing shoes in the shower...

Helpful?
Thank daveyboy511
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Well, See you again soon at our bar for Happy Hour :)! Hans Brinker More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a dorm room as part of a tour group. They shower didn't work amazingly and the bathroom was tiny. If you are a restless sleeper make sure you get there in time to get a bottom bunk because the top bunks are high with no railing. Wifi isn't great. It's cheap for Amsterdam.. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank LingJ123
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Maybe for next time I would suggest a private room for you and your husband! Hans Brinker More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed with a friend in a ensuite room with 2 beds and two lockers in the 3rd floor. The bathroom was a little small but hey, you are not at home so I assume when one is traveling one should lower requirements xD Beds were comfortable, sheets and room very clean. Actually, everyday I saw someone cleaning the rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brunno B B
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! Suggestion for next time: you can rent a safety deposit box for your personal belongings such as your passport etc! Greetings, Hans Brinker More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Once again the staff at the Hans Brinker made our stay enjoyable and unforgettable. It is cheap and cheerful and ideal for all attractions. The Hans Brinker promotes itself as being the worst hotel in the world, we disagree as we think it is the best. Definitely going back again

Helpful?
Thank Kevin807
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

HI! Thanks for your great review! Indeed we are the best ;)! We hope to see you again soon! Hans Brinker More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised by this hostel. It was in a good place from the main attractions and night life, the staff were helpful and the bar and food areas were good. The bunk beds were very high though with no ladders to get up. We were on the ground floor so could hear the music from the downstairs club a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moneybags123
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

407 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (152)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#52 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
#33 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $27 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay