We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 751: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's a good hostel but not better than it. Only good. The staff is very very nice!!! They really help you with whatever you need. Location is great, probably their best point. Breakfast is very poor and the rooms are kind of dirty (meanly the bathroom). Security is great: they give you a key for the room and a key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helder A
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is actually my first time sleeping in a hostel so when i first searched about this hotel i actually felt worried that the hotel is as bad as it promotes itself. I arrived with pretty low expectations and left pretty pleased. The hotel was actually quite convenient. It's reasonably priced (i paid 20€ per night, which is very cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RFM98
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading reviews, was beyond dreading staying here. Pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of our rooms and bedding. Poor shower and funny smell, but overall bearable. Cleaners were lovely & helpful. Bar is expensive & unfriendly bar staff (surprising for a hostel). Breakfast was not pleasant at all, but overall great central location and happy with room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxmisshmlxx
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Better than expected, but I still read some things you didn't like.... Expensive bar? Ehm where else did you have cheaper drinks in Amsterdam? And what did you miss at the breakfast? Tell us :) we're more than happy to improve!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It boasts it's "awful service, bad quality, dangerous rooms" but after staying there twice I absolutely love it. Happy hour everyday down at the bar means you can start your night on a budget and be merry by the early evening. Basic food, but it's cheap as chips so you'll not mind. I had the fish bites every night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P1CKY34T3R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Wow nice review, thank you very much!

King Kirkland, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with two other friends and stayed in a private three bed room with bathroom. The beds were very basic but comfortable. The top bunk was a little scary. No ladder or rail so would be easy to roll out of bed! The bathroom was basic but clean and supplied with all the essentials. Soap and toilet paper. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melian5
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Perfect description of your stay and of the hostel, thanks!

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in October with 3 friends for one night. Easy to find, great location. Was expecting a right hovel but it was all good. Breakfast included in the price. All in all did the job. Little bit disappointed that it wasn't as bad as they make out!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hahah disappointed it wasn't that bad, happy to hear that! Stay with us again, we'll make it worse ;)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, GREAT BREAKFAST, the room was meticulously clean after I came back later in the night, so that was very nice to come back to, most of the staff was very helpful, and the beds were surprisingly comfortable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierina R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review :)

Ludlow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews, I was slightly dubious about what to expect from this hotel. Although it was cheap and we wouldn't be staying in the rooms long, I still wanted it to be clean and safe. I needn't of worried! We arrived at the hotel, checked in and found our rooms, we had 3 x double rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Megan D
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Wow such a great awesome review, we love you! Thanks a lot and please stay with us again, we will drink a beer :) Or any other drink!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and six friends (M & F) stayed here for two nights. WE LOVED IT!! The whole feel of the place puts you at immediate ease, everyone is very like minded and the place has a beautifully friendly atmosphere. I would stay here again without question. The beds are surprisingly comfortable, the staff are helpful and happy it's Happy Hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Perfect, thank you! Please stay with us again :)

Seville, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The situation is perfect, in the center of the city. The lounge bar and the terrace is good. The breakfast is acceptable. The room is ok, beds ok, pillows really bad. Bathroom ok, the shower not enough hygienic Too much noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RViolat
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and in the end it sounds quite good :)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

430 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 224 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#10 of 224 in Amsterdam
760 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#62 of 224 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $27 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and other travelers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“book a room away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles P1CKY34T3R, 1 week ago | Read review
“Try to get a room on the back and on a higher floor to avoid noise at night from the club/bar.”
 of 5 bubbles Melian5, 1 week ago | Read review
“2nd floord was pretty good”
 of 5 bubbles 43pierinar, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on 4th floor were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 81megand, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Best situation”
 of 5 bubbles RViolat, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question