We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Thus hostel is a clean and very simple hostel for the budget traveller. It was small but that's to be expected. The location was awesome though! Very close to everything. The bar was great! We highly recommend the walking tour advertised at reception too. Only downside was that the shower was literally nothing more than a drip that changed quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhianna K
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was so surprised with the hostel. I didn't expect so much, I had very low expectations. So when I came it was a pleasant surprise. Free wife and very good. Breakfast is very good for this kind of hostel. Rooms are basic and clean. Staff is good, they have a lot of work since they are only one person... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loka L
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Awesome hostel. We stayed for four nights, met many different people and generally had a blast. There are so many services offered: breakfast, nightclub, bar... The staff was always ready to help, and the rooms clean and silent (we were on the 3rd floor). Two elevators, generally new building. Close to city center and many tram lines. (booked through Hostelworld)

Helpful?
Thank TheBurger5
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

So, brinker is not the bestest hostel in the world- to be fair this is advertised in their marketing although it is surprising how well they really do live up to this. The bathroom facilities were dirty, limited and outdated, the rooms despite being cleaned daily were small, also smelly, cell like and claustrophobic. However for a traveller the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jose R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Quite a mix of feelings in this one little message...but we guess in the end you were quite happy?! Yes you were we think and we wanted you to be :) And expensive? Ehm...well check the rest of Amsterdam...! More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A basic hostel that satisfied our needs for a good price. The common area was the best part, great buzz around, especially during happy hour. I would recommend this place for younger inter-railers, most people there would have been under the age of 20. Good location, close to the main street and tram stop.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes focus is on young people, but oh well when you're a bit older and still enjoy having a beer...?! Why wouldn't you come over!? More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When looking for a cheap place to stay in Amsterdam this hostel popped up on the list. I last stayed here about 40 years ago when hitch-hiking around mainland Europe as a student. so with a bit of nostalgia I booked it immediately. I was wondering how my experience would compare with my admittedly lower student expectations from my last... More 

Helpful?
Thank ppmoore
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

That's so cool staying here 40 years ago and now again! And we're happy you enjoyed it! Sooner than within 40 years again? :) More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Hans Brinker. It was perfectly located in the centre of Amsterdam. The breakfast was good and drinks were really cheap during happy hour. Would definitely recommend Hans Brinker to a friend.

Helpful?
Thank tildatiern1102
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Great, thank you for this short but perfect review! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the most basic hostel I stayed in during my summer trip in Europe. The rooms are basic with bunk beds with no ladders. Our room had a bad smell but were cleaned everyday. The bar has a great atmosphere and I would recommend the hostel to anyone on a budget

Helpful?
Thank Ben T
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Being on a budget is it a great place to stay isn't it? More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found the rooms to be very small and basic, even for a budget hostel, with no more then bed, locker, shower and toilet. As well as this, although the bedding itself seemed clean (which is the main thing I suppose) the room as a whole could've been cleaner, with dust around and hairs on the floor, as well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan J
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Yes yes it's budget...and that's why the rooms are budget as well.... what else do you need? Ok we will have a look at the hairs and things...sorry for that! But seems like you enjoyed your stay pretty good! More 

Tournai, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for one night and it was a real pleasure for my friends and me. We had booked a room for six and we had a private room which was really pleasant. Staff is nice and breakfast is quite good. The only bad aspect was the wifi in our room.

Helpful?
Thank AlexBou95
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you :) And we will have a look at the wifi, because that should be good at every little spot in the hotel...! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

394 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#30 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $27 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, ETB and Travelocity so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay