We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

852 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This trip was a big deal to me; first time away, in a foreign country, on my own with the 3 teenagers in my life - scary prospect! We had a lovely time and a warm welcome. The hotel was clean and tidy. The rooms were small and basic, but had everything we needed, we were planning to be out... More 

Helpful?
Thank _etbuffery
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When booked hotel I needed parking as well. They had car park but no info that you have to make special request as spaces are limited and have to pay extra for that. Rude receptionist. Our first time in Amsterdam and we were treated bad with bad attitude saying that "What do you expect this is Amsterdam etc" comments. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin P
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. I am sorry to hear we did not help you proficiently. On our Hampshire website we advertise with parking that is 32.50 per night. I shall adjust it to state that making a reservation is a must. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, room small but we didn't mind as the room and bathroom was clean. Breakfast wasn't great, not much to choose from. Just cold meats, cheese, bread, yogurt, cereals, tea/coffee and juices. Staff were friendly, helped us with the map, marked places we wanted to go.

Helpful?
Thank kelsiginley
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. You summed up almost every thing you should expect to find in a continental breakfast. We also have, baked beans, boiled eggs, croissants, raisin bread different jams and fresh fruit! Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value for money. Fantastic location close to Leidesplein and museum quarter. Rooms decent size for location although bathroom quite small. Continental breakfast more than adequate with some hot food (beans and boiled egg)

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
Thank JoW9999999999
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Great to hear that our hotel seems to be very suitable for travelers like yourself. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer More 

Julich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was ok for the price/quality rapport . Otherwise the morning buffet was good and people in service were friendly. i recommend it for the short trip to discover the city (very close to the biggest attraction like Van Gogh M...etc )

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Thank you for your stay and review posting. Great to hear that our hotel seems to be very suitable for travelers like yourself. Many thanks for the recommendation. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

(1) My toilet was not clean. May be it was just too small that it was not easy to clean. (2) The single bed was terrible. Very uncomfortable. I hurt my back after 2 nights. (3) The receptionists... what can I say? They were not unhelpful, but just never show a smiling face. Whatever.....!!! (4) Breakfast was quite nice for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank louischeng999
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your visit and review posting. My apologies for the cleanliness of your bathroom. I am also sorry to hear you did not experience a single smile from our reception staff, these are both not our standard. If you would like to let us know your room number, we can take a look at your mattress.... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The advertising pictures for this hotel are VERY misleading. They give the allusion of 'space' where there is absolutely none. This is a small and pokey, non air conditioned, muggy and hot, hotel. This includes the single-person lift (says will carry 4 - must mean 4 underfed children), and the incredibly small bedroom. The mattress on the bed is not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt7Kiwi
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. I regret to hear we were not able to accommodate you to your liking. I suggest you ask you travel agent to inform you properly the next time you make reservation as you told the staff your agency was to blame for not reserving the correct category hotel. On our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly, the hotel very clean, the breakfast choice varied. There is also free tea and coffee in the lobby any time of the day. My room even had a real writing desk. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank 17hd
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. It is a great pleasure to hear that our hotel fulfilled your travelling and comfort requirements. We hope to welcome you back. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeije More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Europa 92
#195 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Prinsen Hotel
#234 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $86 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay