We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$852
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Travelocity
$852
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
FindHotel
$752
View deal
Booking.com$851
Hotels.com$852
ZenHotels.com$1,642
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1102)
Room & Suite (404)
Dining (94)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 08/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from De L'Europe Amsterdam
Updated 08/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 419 in Amsterdam
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Experience Original Amsterdam Luxury at De L’Europe Amsterdam. Since establishing itself in 1896, almost one hundred and twenty-five years ago as an independent luxury hotel, De L’Europe has evolved from exclusive hotel in the heart of Amsterdam into a guardian of local culture and craftmanship. Located on the foundations of the city wall, this iconic Amsterdam landmark is set on the banks of the river Amstel. Consider us the custodian of Amsterdam’s essence, a sophisticated guide into its free-spirited culture and your personal liaison into the world of luxury and comfort. The stylish rooms and suites embrace local heritage with special attention to design detail and modern technology. The hotel also offers a selection of the finest haute cuisine in Amsterdam.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
420Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
242Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1890Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,444
  • 292
  • 96
  • 28
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andy A wrote a review Apr 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom22 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
This is quite simply the most impressive, the most beautiful and the most opulent hotel we have stayed in so far. The staff were simply incredible. The room was superb. We would definitely stay here again. Also the Spa is divine with a very nice relaxing vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from De L'Europe Amsterdam, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Andy Fearless45206971024, Many thanks for leaving such a great review. We are thrilled to learn that you had such an excellent stay with us and that our staff was able to provide you with professional and kind service. Besides, it is great to hear that you loved the room and the hotel facilities. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. With warm regards, Team De L'Europe Amsterdam
Read more
Jeannette S wrote a review Apr 2022
Amersfoort5 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a room overlooking Amsterdam’s famous Muntplein and its tower. Boats passing by underneath. Fantastic service with eye for detail from arriving at the front door till leaving after check out. Personal attention, a privat tour through the historic building. Super clean room. Marble bathroom with separate rain shower and luxurious bath products. Thick towels and bath robes and a bed with soft linnens for a good night’s sleep. A tasty breakfast in the sunny and film decor like “lobby”. With dinner at Flore or the Italian restaurant absolutely worth staying at L’Europe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from De L'Europe Amsterdam, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Jeannette S, Many thanks for leaving such a great review. We are thrilled to learn that you had such an excellent stay with us and that our staff was able to provide you with professional and kind service. Besides, it is great to hear that you loved the room and the hotel facilities. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. With warm regards, Team De L'Europe Amsterdam
Read more
Bart Schreurs wrote a review Mar 2022
Overveen, The Netherlands20 contributions8 helpful votes
Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived, frontdesk, rooms, Freddy's bar and breakfast. One point of approvement would be in our opion take out some chairs or furniture in the main lobby. It is too much. We thank L'Europe for our wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The standard room is big enough incl a well sized bathroom
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from De L'Europe Amsterdam, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Dear Flowerway250, Many thanks for your excellent rating and nice words. We are happy to learn you had a great stay with us and that you appreciated the rooms and Freddy's bar! We would be pleased to get the honour to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
simonburridge wrote a review Mar 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom82 contributions70 helpful votes
Wow! What a pleasure it was to stay here. We returned 10 years after our first stay and much found a few (welcome) changes but much had stayed the same. The first thing worth comment is the quality of the service. Simply amazing. Sometimes it may seem a little over-eager but I was amazed by how helpful the staff were from the doorman through to the cleaner and the waiters in the restaurant. Dining a bit late following our arrival? Not a problem. Taxi back to the airport? I'll grab it immediately. The food is as good quality as you'd expect from a hotel like this although it'll be September by the time I get to try Flore. The bar is busy and is very slickly run - the bar manager keeping an eye on your drinks and remembering what we ordered the night before! We had a superior room this time and my goodness, was it luxurious. I ended up taking a photograph of the bathroom so that I can replicate some of the features and aesthetics at home. The location is great for walking or taking a tram to the different parts of the city. We also took an intercity train which was easy enough with the metro so close too. To and from the airport seems to advocate a taxi though. The only downside is the price of a stay. I booked during lockdown and got a great deal. Looking to return, I found that the room rate had doubled and came with a 4 night minimum stay! This has to be Amsterdam's best hotel or, if not, it is certainly vying for it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Luxurious centrally located hotel with premier service
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from De L'Europe Amsterdam, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Mar 15, 2022
Dear Simon Burridge, Many thanks for your excellent rating and nice words. We are happy to learn you had a great stay with us and that our team was able tom provide you with excellent service. We would be pleased to get the honour to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
Brendan O wrote a review Nov 2021
Arklow, Ireland16 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
My stay at L,Europe was so very wonderful. The personal welcome I received was fantastic. I can honestly say the management and staff were very friendly, obliging and so polite . Such a pleasure, no request was any trouble. To each and everyone of you, you are really what makes Hotel L,Europe so special The hotel is very impressive, old worldly, beautiful decor. Everywhere you look, the artwork,the furnishings, the details are just beautiful, but it’s also a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to be in . I had a suite ,super Fab .Each time I returned to my suite,, there was some extra surprise that made me smile . My Family arranged a surprise birthday party for me The reception and dinner ,, well very special beautiful flowers, delicious cuisine and great wines. I did not want to leave If you manage to make it to the Hotel L,Europe, you will not be disappointed Please add it to your bucket list
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quality Manager, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Nov 29, 2021
Dear Brendan O, Many thanks for leaving such a great review. We are thrilled to learn that you had such an excellent stay with us and that our staff was able to provide you with professional and kind service. Besides, it is great to hear that you loved the room and the hotel facilities and that we (and your family!) were able to make your birthday one to never forget! We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. With warm regards, Team De L'Europe Amsterdam
Read more
Reno wrote a review Nov 2021
14 contributions20 helpful votes
It was the second time we stayed at De L’Europe. Location is everything! Staff is kind and helpful. Breakfest is good. Hotel is very clean. Our room was big and had an incredible canal view. Bed was very comfortable. Heating bathroom floors were just awsome! Will stay there everytime we go back to the Netherlands.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quality Manager, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Dear rklarnet, Many thanks for your excellent rating and nice words. We are happy to learn you had a great stay with us and in particular that you appreciated the kindness of our entire team. We would be pleased to get the honor to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
hermanv944 wrote a review Oct 2021
Binningen, Switzerland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Our room was on the 4th floor with a beautiful view on the Munt tower. The room was also super silent although the square below is quite busy. We hardly ever had such a comfortable bed. Bathroom also super. In brief, well worth 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor was super quiet. I assume insulation quality is the same on other floors.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quality Manager, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Dear Herman, Many thanks for your 5-star rating and nice words. It gives us joy to read that you had such a pleasant stay and that you in particular enjoyed the amazing view of the Amstel river and Munt tower, the comfort of our COCO-MAT bed and the design of our bathrooms. We would be delighted to welcome you again soon to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
Wouter T wrote a review Oct 2021
Alkmaar, The Netherlands8 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel, great Michelin restaurant. From the welcome to the end we were serviced at the highest level. The room was designed beautifully and the people were very nice and service-minded. The Flore Restaurant is one of the best in Amsterdam and we visited all the great restaurants. Only one point that surprised us, the breakfast wasn't excellent, they couldn't even make a good sunnyside up egg
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quality Manager, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Dear Wouter T, Many thanks for your 5-star rating and nice words. It gives us joy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your dinner at Restaurant Flore and our entire team was able to enhance your stay. Rest assured that we have noted down your comment in regards to our breakfast offerings. We would be delighted to welcome you again soon to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
Amy R wrote a review Oct 2021
21 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
So glad we chose this beautiful historic, luxury hotel! Wow what a memorable experience. We had one of the newly remodeled rooms which was beautiful (I see some complaints about size but most hotels in metropolitan areas have smallish size rooms, it seemed normal and plenty large for us) and they offered many amenities in a prime Amsterdam location on the canal. When so many hotels are cutting back services, the Hotel de L'Europe stands apart with an amazing breakfast offering, turn down and housekeeping service daily, and multiple restaurants on site to choose from, all of which were open. We really enjoyed drinks and snacks in the lobby area overlooking the canal as well as the iconic Freddie's Bar. Although we didn't eat there, the fancy vegan restaurant, Flora, looked amazing. We had dinner and caviar service at Marie, with a view of the canal to die for, this is the ultimate hotel for a romantic getaway or upscale business gathering. The staff were always helpful and eager to please, we can't wait to go back. With so many hotels to choose from, we were very happy with the decision to stay here, the memories and experience were worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled rooms if available or view of the canal!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara M, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Dear Nicole R, Many thanks for your excellent rating and nice words. We are happy to learn you had such an pleasant experience with us and that you appreciated the facilities and amenities we offer. Besides it is great to learn you enjoyed our restaurants and bars offering throughout the hotel. We like to call ourselves a culinary hub! We would be pleased to get the honour to welcome you back in the future to experience Original Amsterdam Luxury once again. Kind regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
LuckyBucky wrote a review Oct 2021
Fort Lauderdale, Florida37 contributions40 helpful votes
Room was very small and price was very large. This Hotel is a throwback to another time, a phone in the bathroom but no USB jacks. The staff were very nice and helpful, but there is nothing to justify the charges. Bar was never open (weird since the place is owned by Heineken brewery), and the restaurant couldn't accommodate us for dinner because they had two large parties that night. We came back to the hotel at 10:50 pm and were locked out! After hammering on the door (there was a call button but either broken or being ignored) a staff member let us in. The hotel is in a great location, but there are others nearby that are less expensive and probably more up to date.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara M, Marketing at De L'Europe Amsterdam
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear LuckyBucky, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your experience at De L'Europe Amsterdam. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and regret that we did not succeed to deliver this to you. Please rest assured that I have shared your review with the team to avoid this situation from happening in the future. In regards to the USB sockets, we are currently redesigning our guestrooms and next to the bed we will have USB sockets available. We do have converters available at our reception desk as well. Should there be any information that you would like to share with us, please do not hesitate to contact us by e-mail. With warm regards, Team De L'Europe
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$733 - $1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de l`europe amsterdam hotel amsterdam, hotel de l europe, de l europe hotel
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOld Center / Red Light District (De Wallen) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about De L'Europe Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Mystery City Games (0.2 miles), Van Stapele Koekmakerij (0.3 miles), and SUMSUM Amsterdam (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lumbini Indian & Nepalese Restaurant, Senses Restaurant, and Bhatti Pasal - Authentic Nepalese Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does De L'Europe Amsterdam have airport transportation?
Yes, De L'Europe Amsterdam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is De L'Europe Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at De L'Europe Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does De L'Europe Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.