We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Hotel

0.5 miles from Amsterdam center
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 996: English reviews
Start your review of Avenue Hotel
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights and would highly recommend the avenue.clean and friendly and the staff are superb.the buffet breakfast was fantastic.great location in the city centre.will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth5864
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth, Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay in our hotel. Feel free to contact us if you are visiting Amsterdam again. With kind regards, Team Avenue

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed over for a day. My room was tiny, but it was modernly furnished, and frankly was quite cute. It's not very ideal perhaps who spend a lot of time in their rooms, but for a place to come and sleep at night, I was satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Semih C
AvenueHotelAMS, Meo reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Semih Thank you for the kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had a another great stay in our hotel! We are looking forward to welcome you again as we have enjoyed your company very much. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. With kind regards, Team Avenue Hotel

Birkirkara, null, Malta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room was too small with very little furniture which was old and shabby. After our first day out we came back late in the evening and found out that no one had cleaned our room, bed was not done, shower not cleaned, towels left on the floor and no clean towels were left for us. We phoned reception who...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doreen T
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doreen , Your feedback has valid points which we can empathize with. It saddens us that we cannot make your stay more enjoyable at the time we are writing this review. Please do contact us during (or before) your stay for any necessity or preferences as we have many options available to meet different type of guest preferences. Your...

manchester
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed hear for a 4 day break given as a birthday gift. first and fourmost the staff were ALL supurb prepared to go that bit extra if they couldnt answer your questions the searched the net for your answers.Any defficances in hotel the staff more han made up for our only minor trouble was room to hot but air con...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brandonboo
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brandonboo, Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay in our hotel. Feel free to contact us if you are visiting Amsterdam again. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Team Avenue

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel: we booked 4 rooms on 1. Floor - equipment of every of room was very different, that this is a difficult to evaluate. (F.e. Bathroom equipment) Breakfast: european, from my point of view were fine. Room: it was enough for me, but everything was old and little ramshackle. Attention: all rooms were not vacuumed during our stay. And floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mzsz
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your feedback has valid points which we can empathize with. It saddens us that we cannot make your stay more enjoyable at the time we are writing this review. Please do contact us during (or before) your stay for any neccesity or preferences as we have many options available to meet different type of guest preferences. Your feedback...

Pune, India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked the hotel for 30/31st Dec bought it too costly(20k/night INR) but guess all hotels are costly that time of the year. Nevertheless loved the huge rooms(which we stayed very less in), bed and bathroom! Everything either was walking distance or just two to 4 stops away. Near to red light Area but not too close so perfect. The Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shameekshah
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to hear that your stay with us went well. Our hotel is very central and close to the main touristic attractions in Amsterdam. We are looking forward to your return! Once more thank you. With kind regards, The Avenue Team

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located close to Dam square. Walking distance from many places. Plenty of bars and restaurants around. The staff is very friendly and check in process was really smooth and fast. The biggest issue for me is the wifi in the room. It is slower than in an underdeveloped African country. It is frustrating and useless. I do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jawa13
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel. Our apologies that the wifi didn't work in the room during your stay. We are still developing the wifi that it will work in all the rooms. Once again, thank you for the great review! With kind...

Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good bits: Location. Cost. Friendly staff. Warm room (109). Comfortable beds. Hot shower. Decent breakfast with some hot options. Not so good: First up, best dressed for breakfast. Oh, the poor decoration of the rooms and the furniture itself - very 70s/80s and tired!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LancashireBells21
AvenueHotelAMS, reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your kind review is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay in our hotel. We are continuously looking for improvement in our service. We are looking forward to present you a improved room during your next trip in Amsterdam. Once again, thank you! With kind regards, Team Avenue Hotel

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights at this hotel in a room accomodating 5 persons. Booking was a last minute thing, and we were lucky that they still had a room to accomodate us! The hotel is clean, staff is very friendly and helped us with our requests and tours queries. Location is really good, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renald D
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Renald, Thank you for the excellent review. We are extremely glad to hear that our staff made your stay memorable! As our motto is to make our guest feel as enjoyable as possible. We do hope that you left something to explore in Amsterdam so we may welcome you another time. Once again, thank you for sharing your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The shower is constantly fluded. You can't get into the bathroom without swimming in water. The hotel crew is very aware of that and gives as many towels as needed but that's not really a solution. I will not come back to this hotel even if I would be payed!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank יפעת ג
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. Our apologies that your stay was not perfect. It saddens us that we can not make your stay more enjoyable as we are writing this reply. Do communicate with us for anything that bothers you as we have more than six room types available, we are sure to find you a room...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

603 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (414)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Twin and Double Room (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,125 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 361 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 361 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $122 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Avenue Hotel staff and other travelers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room was on the street so traffic could be heard”
 of 5 bubbles Richard698, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Request a room off the main street”
 of 5 bubbles , Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a window!”
 of 5 bubbles shannica, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the lift well at the end of a corridor to minimise the noise of people coming and going.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelcL3985ZD, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw are small, dark and dated.”
 of 5 bubbles ThePhillyB, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question