We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save
Share
Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer On Us
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1289)
Room & Suite (394)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Updated 08/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#158 of 418 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A contemporary experience is yours to discover at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. An ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers to the Netherlands, the hotel boasts a prime location near Amsterdam Central Station, and is just a short walk from the fashion district ‘De Negen Straatjes’, the trendy Jordaan and Dam Square. The hotel puts you in the middle of the historic city center of Amsterdam. The Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offers a range of dining options. Relax on the sun-drenched terrace of our popular Koepelcafe. This contemporary café has a relaxed atmosphere and is the ideal place for a nice breakfast, your coffee "to-go" or the perfect burger after an innovative day. Choose from the wide selection of local craft beers. SCOSSA restaurant offers a diverse breakfast spread in the morning and invites guests to explore the many flavors of Italy in the evening. The trendy 2b lounge bar provides a great option where travelers can mingle, socialize, meet, eat and relax with a creative cocktail.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Walking tours
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Longer On Us

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
417Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
144Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4168Reviews80Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,680
  • 1,615
  • 543
  • 198
  • 132
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
newlifechapters wrote a review Dec 5
Nashville, Tennessee147 contributions76 helpful votes
This is our go to hotel in Amsterdam, have stayed probably 3 times. This visit was in the midst of COVID lock down lite- so I can't say it was our best stay but still love this hotel. The staff is wonderful and they have a breakfast with lots of options. The executive lounge was open for limited time in afternoon- no breakfast- but again, this is due to covid- tightened national restrictions and not as many guests as usual so understandable. There is a lovely woman that works in the lounge that we consider a friend and it was so good to see her again. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Not sure if the bar was open as places needed to close by 5pm but they would bring drinks etc to the room. We will definatley come back again and know it will be as wonderful as it has been during our other stays.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your latest visit at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. We are delighted that once again you had a great stay with us, even during such strange circumstances. Many thanks for your lovely comments about our team, indeed Francia is a gem in our Club Lounge Team. We truly appreciate your loyalty and we all look forward to your next stay with us. Warm Regards, Angele Mallia Guest Services Manager
Read more
Stefani V wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel is not 5 star quality at all. When we checked in with my friends the receptionist didn't even bother to explain how to get to our room. He just said 943 and then go to the second floor. When we went to the second eventually we found out that we had to take a 2nd lift to get to that room. Because of that, we had been in circles until we found out by ourselves how to get to that room They had a huge issue with segregation, they treat good those who are in the main building and us who were in the 2nd building with a 2nd lift, they made us feel not welcomed. Just look at this picture, that bottle and glass on the floor was there the whole 3 days of our stay, this was in the corridor and cleaners didn't bother to pick it up. When they went to the room to clean once, we were 4 girls, they gave 2 new towels and left the dirty towels in the room (as you can see not a 5 star quality customer service). Cleaners didn't even bother to clean the bins. What can we say ? We weren't in the main building, so its normal to be treated like this, right? In our 2nd day of stay they started to disturb us to give again the card that we used to pay. This was already done when we checked in, when we explain that we already did that, they kept chasing us and harassing us with even putting letter to our room that they want to have a card payment again. Their policy is to give a card to lock the funds when we check in and upon check out we will pay the full amount, however they kept chasing and harassing us to give again a card and lock the funds twice. Eventually, we went to complain and the supervisor gave us a complimentary dinner as an apology for all the problems. Well, thanks for that, but the experience of our stay was horrible and you deserve this negative review It was my first time staying in a 5 star hotel and it was very disappointing our stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent visit at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. We are very saddened to read your review, especially since you felt it was disappointing. Please rest assured that the reason you were in the adjacent building is that most of our family rooms that can accommodate four adults are located there. Nevertheless, we definitely do not differentiate our service according to which building our guests are accommodated in. We are very sorry if this is the service portrayed. Your comments will be shared with our team to ensure these occurrences are not repeated. Many thanks for highlighting our service recovery and we hope that dinner was enjoyed in our Scossa Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcoming you back and restore your faith in Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. Warm Regards, Angele Mallia Guest Services Manager
Read more
Vinit K wrote a review Nov 2021
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania104 contributions53 helpful votes
Hotel and staff on target to delivery a quality product with excellent service. Well organized to help travelers of all ilks .. business or leisure in these Covid times with guidance on testing, do’s and don’ts and so forth. All front office staff top notch, Especially the morning crowd. Standouts Michael H, Ahmad Concierge and that one special long standing employee in the lounge, Francia. Good Show and I will be back ..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Vinitk2014, Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a splendid review following your recent experience at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. We are delighted that our excellent service was recognized by such a loyal guest like you and many thanks for highlighting Michael, Ahmed and Francia. Rest assured that we will be celebrating their recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel in the near future. Warm Regards, Angele Mallia Guest Services Manager
Read more
renata wrote a review Nov 2021
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom3 contributions
Nice hotel but too won’t rate as 5 star hotel ,breakfast is good but too expensive €29.50 , also there’s no water in the rooms , the only machine on the corridor was broken couldn’t buy any water , staff are friendly and helpful . Also for a 5 star hotel we would expect the room to be cleaner while we stayed there , no enough shower gel we had to go downstairs to ask for it and also to ask for extra bath towels . Could improve a bit for the price we had paid .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: No parking on the site , location is great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. While we are pleased that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, we are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the relevant head of departments as a teachable moment. We hope to have the opportunity to make up on our shortfalls when you visit us again. We all look forward to welcoming you back at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. Sincerely, Angele Mallia Guest Services Manager
Read more
JS8787 wrote a review Nov 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia27 contributions11 helpful votes
I had an excellent stay at the Renaissance. First and foremost, the service was impeccable. Front Desk staff were friendly and helped us navigate museum opening hours and the local transportation. Moreover, they were so kind to give us a welcome gift of a bike bell, which now is on one of our family bicycles as a reminder of Amsterdam! That truly was above and beyond. Regarding our standard hotel needs: The location is exceptional, with easy access to the train station, street cars, restaurants, and many of the classic sites of the old city in Amsterdam. The lobby is bright and appealing. The bar area is spacious and provides a comfortable spot for lounging or a light evening bite. Other food options include the cafe on the corner, which is accessible from inside the hotel and provides a tasty breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was not very large, but that is to be expected for accommodations in this historic location. I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your recent visit at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us and that we have met all your expectations. Many thanks for highlighting our friendly and helpful team. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with all our members. Thank you for recommending us, we all look forward to your return. Warm Regards, Angele Mallia Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amsterdam renaissance, renaissance amsterdam hotel
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
402
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amsterdam Withlocals (0.3 miles), Amsterdam Catacombs (0.3 miles), and Sherlocked (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Silveren Spiegel, Sango Specialty Coffee, and Day's StoneGrill 1870.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.