We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Save
Share
Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Renaissance Hotels
$210
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$210
$172
View Deal
SAVE $38
Free cancellation until 10/05/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$210
$172
View Deal
SAVE $38
Free cancellation until 10/05/20
Agoda.com$172
eDreams$172
Expedia.com$172
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1277)
Room & Suite (349)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#158 of 408 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, Netherlands, Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our central Amsterdam hotel's welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls.
Read more
Room & Suite (349)349
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Car hire
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
399Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
143Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4,150Reviews77Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,671
  • 1,612
  • 542
  • 197
  • 128
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
PaulsReview wrote a review Sep 7
Maui, Hawaii88 contributions84 helpful votes
As an elite member, we were supposed to get a room upgrade but were given a standard room, they must have lots of empty rooms due to COVID but they did not give me an upgrade, we are supposed to get 1000 welcome points which I did not receive, in fact, I received no Bonvoy points for the stay. The worst part was the lounge was closed so we were told to go to the bar instead, when we went we were standing there for around 5 minutes right in front of the bartender but he was playing on this phone and was so busy he did not notice us, eventually, we made a noise and he looked up from his phone. He said we could only have one free drink and a snack, he brought a very small snack portion that only had 3 rice balls and 3 spring rolls this was to share between 4 people, there were 4 of us all with lounge access. The following day we went again and had a different bartender, this one somehow found out our room numbers and charged us for the "free drinks and snacks" we only found this out when I went to check out, I find it very dishonest to use my room number and charge items to my room without telling me. I can't believe the Marriott would be so stingy, with COVID you would think they would want to encourage people to stay not try and get them to stay at another hotel chain.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear PaulsReview, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. My name is Sophia and I am the Front Office Supervisor at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. It has come to our attention that the service you received during your recent stay did not meet your expectations. For this, we sincerely apologize. The experience you described is not characteristic of the level of service our associates strive to provide and therefore will be shared with everyone involved. We do our utmost to fulfill all our guests needs during their stay also as a thank to you as one of our loyal Platinum, Titanium or Ambassador members. We are sorry to read that the status benefits have not been taken into account. Therefore, I would kindly like to ask you if you could give us a call to our main hotel number to verify your points status and details so we can have this sorted for you as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you in the future again in order to restore your confidence in the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, and would you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Yours sincerely, Sophia/Front Office Supervisor
Read more
Wedrus L wrote a review Sep 5
16 contributions1 helpful vote
Very clean hotel with loads of nice people in there. we were so in shock of how brilliant the rooms where and its very close to the center and the shops and different restaurants. One of the people recommended us to eat at Day’s Stonegrill 1870 which was nearby the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you and will recommend anyone this great hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Omar Arafa wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom64 contributions8 helpful votes
I have stayed for three night during early December, Check-in was ok and the hotel seemed alright as a first impression. The room was decent but I had some internet issues that got resolved after 30 mins. Had to change the room after one night as there was major issue with AC and a bit of a faulty bathroom, the second room was more spacious and trouble free. In terms of location, the hotel is quite central and everything is pretty much in walking distance. The breakfast in the members lounge was a bit disappointing and I couldn’t get to try the main breakfast buffet in the lobby,despite being paid for. I would recommend it for the location if you want be close to pretty much everything.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear omar_arafa20, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel and providing your honest feedback. We always appreciate to receive comments from our guests, as they help us to maintain and improve our operations where necessary and possible. Receiving a warm welcome during check-in often times sets the tone for a great stay. We are therefore happy to hear that you had a good first impression. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location. Our location is indeed a highlight, right in the heart of the city, close to entertainment, famed sights and Central Station which links you to the rest of the city by public transport. It is always our intention to ensure that each of our guests receives the true “Renaissance” experience and I apologize that on this occasion, your expectations were not met. Rest assured that your comments have our fullest attention and I have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotels teams to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent similar issues from reoccurring in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Simon Matus Front Office Supervisor
Read more
Traveling Steve wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions11 helpful votes
My spouse and I were given a room with two single beds. Even as a titanium member they refused to change us to a room with a double/king bed for our 1 week stay. The room and hotel needs updating, as the decor is OLD and out dated. Executive lounge provides few snacks, almost impossible to find someone to assist you in the lounge. This hotel is a good example as to Marriott’s new attitude “ give us your money and we don’t care.” Marriott is always more expensive then other hotel chains. Paying more is ok when you receive something for your money. At this hotel, you get ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Roddy666 wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom95 contributions
My wife and myself stayed for 3 nights at the Renaissance Hotel. The rooms are exceptional clean which is a must during these exceptional times. Breakfast was very nice and varied with plenty of options. The staff are pleasent and attentive, the staff was only to happy to help with any questions. The hotel is located in a excellent location being only a short walk from Central Station. I can highly recommend this hotel and definitely book again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amsterdam renaissance, renaissance amsterdam hotel
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
402
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amsterdam Catacombs (0.3 miles), Amsterdam Withlocals (0.3 miles), and Sherlocked (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Silveren Spiegel, Mortimer Amsterdam, and Palmyra Syrian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.