We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Show Prices
#77 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,155: English reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

Had a great stay at this last minute booking hotel. Stayed in the Hampshire hotel in Rembrandt square the previous night, but I have to say I preferred this one out of the two. Beautiful lobby, lovely friendly staff, comfortable spacious room, bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Would 100% recommend. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leon B
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and your review including recommendation. We hope to have you back soon. With best regards,

New York City, New York
Reviewed January 8, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden for about three nights in July 2014. Overall, excellent location, very clean hotel. It has a bit of a business feel to it, so if you are looking for something more boutique, I'd look elsewhere. Leidseplein is a bit of a tourist hub, so we did not really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GloriaB1216
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Your description and recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have you back soon. With best regards,

Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed January 7, 2015

The American Hotel ( as the locals and the cab drivers called it ) has a very central location and is in a beautiful building built year 1875 as a hotel and operating as one eversince. Spent 5 days and no complaints whatsoever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erhnkm
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are delighted that your expectations were well met. It is our goal to exceed your expectations upon your next visit. With best regards,

Tirgu Mures, Romania
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Me and my friend decided one afternoon to go to Amsterdam! I immediately went on booking.com and started choosing hotels to stay. I like affordable luxury hotels! And I came across this hotel! Best choice ever! The bus from Schiphzl airport leaves you exactly in front of the hotel! And you can catch a bus back tot the airport every...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea23689
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We shall try to have clearer infromation on the booking.com website concerning deposits. The city tax is charged upon check-out on purpose: many bookings are non-refundable if cancelled. Should a guest cancel their stay, they do not have to pay city tax because they did not visit the city. If...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Very great hotel. Stands on Leidseplein in the center of Amsterdam. Easy access to all attractions and trams. Spacious room, and of course not the cheapest in the city. Breakfast is tasty. We asked for late check out, and were allowed, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikilas V
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you had a very satisfactory stay. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,

New York City, New York
Reviewed January 3, 2015

This is a very nice and beautiful hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff and beautiful art deco throughout the hotel. It has a good restaurant Cafe Americain, and a nice bar/lounge which has an outside covered area. In the summer I can only guess is opened and beautiful. You can sit and enjoy a coffee, tea or drink. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaMechi
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are happy to notice that you have thoroughly enjoyed Amsterdam and the hotel during the New Year's Eve festivities. We hope that we may welcome you back again in the future. With best regards,

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed January 2, 2015

This is a tired old lady of a hotel, in need of modernisation. Its central location couldn't be much better, and the grand building exterior is beguiling, but those are the nicest things I can find to say. Unfortunately the upper floors (we were on level 2) had a slight 'wet dog' odour in the corridors, and something similar in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz M
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review. We apologise for a malfunctioning TV and strange odeur on a higher floor. We did not hear this before and have not heard it since. However, we can understand that it is ennoying. It is indeed disappointing that apparently you were also disturbed by our housekeeping team. The tired decor...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the hotel from 30/12 to 2/1 for our honeymoon. The hotel was superb. The location was fantastic and was set between lively nightlife and the museums of Amsterdam which was perfect for us as a couple in our 30s and 40s. Although we were close to the nightlife, our hotel room was pleasingly peaceful,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Queenie_RedRose
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Congratulations with your marriage! We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel to be the venue to celebrate this joyous occassion. Thank you for your review including the constructive remarks. We hope to see you back soon. With best regards,

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 2, 2015

Located next to a canal. This art nouveau hotel is very nice indeed. From our room we can hear the faint noise of the tran bells as they pass in the street below. Our room has a view overlooking the canal, it's clean and has a jug for tea which is much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg_and_sue
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your concise review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam coming from so far away. With best regards,

ireland
Reviewed December 30, 2014

We have just spent a week over Christmas at the American Hotel.Our room 327 had a balcony overlooking the Marnixstraat/opposite Melkweg to the side of the fountain. I was concerned that it would be very noisy but was pleasantly surprised get a week's worth of great sleeps . The bed was very comfortable and there was space in the fridge/mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairefrilly
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are delighted that you appreciate the hotel and services so much. We shall look into the lighting of your room. We would be interested to hear what else you expect on our breakfast offering in order for the price to be justified. With best regards,

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

816 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (759)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (232)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (267)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
809 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $185 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and other travelers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 523 was good with mini balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Dimples50, today | Read review
“Canal side rooms offer a relaxing view of waterside after a long day of sightseeing”
 of 5 bubbles S8956BLdianem, 1 week ago | Read review
“Clean, smell fresh after housekeeping visit, spacious, and the toilet is very clean and thing in room is organized. ”
 of 5 bubbles abdulelahahmedb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Standard Double”
 of 5 bubbles 209pipar, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a well lit room.”
 of 5 bubbles TerriWeston, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question