We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 2, 2016

I stayed in a 5 star property expecting nothing but the best. Especially for the cost and location. I stayed in two rooms, 1 night management put me in a room facing the noisy street which had bottle delivery service all hours of the late night and early morning. The hallways creaked everytime someone walked and doors were very loud,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shireeeny
Marije V, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We would like to thank you for choosing the NH Collection Doelen during your recent visit to Amsterdam and for submitting a review regarding your stay. We find it very unfortunate to read that your stay was not according to your expectations. The fact that the first room you have stayed in is less resistant to street noise...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Hotel was fabulous and great central location. Rooms were spotless and the breakfast was lovely. We also had dinner at Swych - flexetarian restaurant (amazing!). Special thanks to the staff who made our stay unforgetable with special thanks to Roos and Lisa from Guest Relations who assisted us with many questions. Will definately stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 539filipo
Marije V, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you kindly for sharing your NH Collection Doelen experience on TripAdvisor. I am deeply humbled by your compliments, as they reinforce the pride we take in delivering a service up to the highest standards of hospitality and motivates us to go above and beyond. It is gratifying to know that, from our great central location...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel for three day and have only good things to say about the hotel. staff were very nice and good to ask where to go and things to do. the rooms were nice and the beds comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntreacy
Marije V, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Treacy, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your room and that the staff provided you with relevant information related to your points of interest. Furthermore, it is incredibly rewarding to read that you “have only good...

New England
Reviewed October 25, 2016

I'd stayed at another location a couple times and loved it. An employee there went to here, so why not give it a try? Great, scenic location...is there another hotel actually on the canal (not across a street)? Gorgeous, historic lobby. I was treated like a VIP from moment one...and I was not alone. Every customer I saw was treated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryNewEngland
Marije V, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Gary, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. I am incredibly proud to receive such praising words about the hotel and its facilities. Additionally, I am thankful to read that our team has gone above and beyond to make you feel like a VIP and I will...

Middlesbrough
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay, food in the swych restaurant is superb , vegetarian but you can have meat as a side , hence the name , spotless refurbishment, fresh , clean , great friendly staff, eggs benedict for breakfast best I've ever had ,, will definitely be back !!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenny V
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Kenny V, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. We feel honoured that you find the NH Collection Doelen a fabulous place to stay and are delighted that you will visit us again. I will share your kind words about the staff with the rest of our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

This hotel is in a good location and museums, shops and bars are within walking distance.We had reserved two superior rooms with views (superior is actually the most basic room) and were given a room on the 5th floor which is the top level. There was a bit of a mix up with the second room so we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinmum
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the NH Collection Doelen. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in general despite the issues you experienced. I must admit that I am quite distressed about the situations you describe and will carefully look into them....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a superior room with view, view is worth paying the extra as it overlooks the canals. Room is very comfortable lovely bathroom with good facilities coffee maker, mini bar etc.. It would have been a 5star rating, but the breakfast experience let it down, although an excellent buffet is provided, the service is poor, waiting 20 minutes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Michael F, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. I very much regret that the service during breakfast was not in order and that you were, rightfully, disappointed. We are aware of the situation during your stay and have not anticipated enough on the situation for which...

Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We booked a 2 night break in Amsterdam in the NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen hotel and we were not disappointed. Staff were polite, helpful and engaging. Room was large, bright and airy with views over the River Amstel and the canal next to our hotel. Lots of restaurants around to choose from - we didn't eat in the hotel as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosser65
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. I am thankful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us; from the interior of the room to our a la carte breakfast. Additionally, we are pleased that you were able to experience all that...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, central to all the main tourist spots. The hotel is set in a quiet street over looking a canal & there are great views from the restaurant. All the staff were really friendly and informative. Especially Nicola in the restaurant. Great choice at breakfast. Buffet style hot food as well as a choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naughtybutnic
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor in such detail. I am very happy that you had such positve experiences with our staff. I will not miss the opportunity to share your praiseful words with Nicola and the rest of our team. I am thankful to read that our attention to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and 4.5 year old for a weekend in September. The note is beautiful. A perfect mix of old and new. The service was amazing. My daughter was treated like a Princess with all the staff going out of their way to make her feel welcome. Little gifts of coloring sets and stickers from the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
Carina O, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Hayley P, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure for me and the whole team to have you as our guest again and I hope to welcome you back...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,314 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#34 of 362 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amsterdam's oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city's historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt-whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel's third floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad
Price Range: $189 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lovely view over the canal in back, but beware the noise level...”
 of 5 bubbles tnypco, yesterday | Read review
“403 was a great room, quiet with fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles Maude710, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Askfor a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 261pieters, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Canal View”
 of 5 bubbles 755selmah, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We asked for a superior room with a view on the canal side, which we got no problem (room 304)”
 of 5 bubbles grahaml177, 5 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay