We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

#171 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 608: English reviews
Anchorage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I checked into this hotel and was given a room below floor level with a window, that doesn't open, at pavement level. Every person, bicycle, car and tram that comes past roars into the room making it impossible to sleep. There is no air-conditioning so there is no air. The bed is old and the springs are coming through and... More 

Helpful?
Thank putco
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for writing your review. Reviews can open our eyes and may result in how we provide service to our guests and what our guests think of our product. We do have 7 rooms which are located 1 meter under ground level. These rooms were flooded in July after severe rain and have been complety renovated in... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Eden Lancaster Hotel is a very clean and quiet hotel, with relatively big rooms. We stayed two nights, and found it great. Clean, great service, silent, and a mere 10 minutes walk from the lovely canals in the city centre. The windows faced a lovely park. The tram stops only a couple of minutes from the hotel, if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel was clean and in an accessible part of Amsterdam, 10/15 mins from Dam Square/Central Station by Tram but if you're looking for luxury this is not the hotel for you. As two couples staying for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend we would have probably made more of the hotel's breakfast & dinner options however all I wanted... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 2708Rachel
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hotel was clean and family friendly. We were traveling with a 3 and 5 year old. The staff was extremely helpful and took care of everything we needed including overnight parking, where to eat, etc. The breakfast was great - lots of variety, we loved it. The staff was very helpful with our food allergies. The only complaint was the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dutchamericanfamily5
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Dutchamer, thank you for your time to write this review. Kind regards, Hans More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I picked this hotel based on the reviews however was very disappointed when I arrived. The staff on reception were efficient but not particularly friendly! The first room we were in was in the basement and was tiny, barely any room to move and bathroom cramped. The carpet was extremely grubby! I asked to be moved and was told as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Allison B, thank you for writing this review. I am very curious in which room you have stayed on your first night. Our "basement" rooms are under construction for a renovation since July 20th and will be finished on August 25. We do have differences in rooms, requests for a double or twin bedded room is allways on request... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in the Eden Rembrandt on our last visit which was a much higher spec so were rather disapppointed on arrival the the Lancaster. Our room was rather small but clean and the bed was comfy. The shower room was tiny, and rather shabby. No bar or even a mini bar. Overall we found the hotel to be really... More 

Helpful?
Thank sossick
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Sossick, thank you for writing this review. The Eden Lancaster is a 3 star rated hotel, based in an ancient building where space is limited. Our hotelrooms do not have a minibar nor do we have a bar in the lobby. We check our website content carefully but if you have seen somewhere that we do... More 

Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I think it was a great hotel room. Nice, good beds, good pillows (You got three of them) Tv, closet. The only thing we was not satified with, were the cleaning. Lot of dust, not cleaned the floor, so that's was an drawback.

Helpful?
Thank Neskri
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Regards, Hans More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room we stayed in was about as wide as it was high with barely enough room to open a suit case. On the toilet you could only sit sideways for lack of space. The antiquated shower stall showed some mildew and water pressure was non existent. The room, situated towards the rear of the building was clean and without... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArndKaiser
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We liked the small but practically furnished/equipped room. Especially the bed was very comfortable. There was a water heater and some tea bags/instant coffee provided in the room that made it more comfortable. The city center is in walking distance, but the neighborhood is very silent. There is a direct tram line from the central station to the hotel. What... More 

Helpful?
Thank TViktor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Having read great reviews of this hotel, I was looking forward to a relaxing stay in a comfortable room, choosing it over cheaper hotels in the centre. I was therefore very disappointed with my experience - I think I have only once ever stayed in a worse hotel room. The room itself is my main complaint. It was far too... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GreyAsh2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $102 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay