We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Show Prices
#164 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,004 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 666: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel because it was convenient for a conference I was attending and had gotten good reviews. I can confirm that the place is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is also good. And the price is reasonable. But it's a little tired-looking. And when I first flushed the toilet, the plate that you press (and that covers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer2662
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review and thank you for pointing out the problem with your toilet. We work with an outside cleaing company and they are not always informing us about the technical problems they discover in the rooms. I do hope that you have informed our reception about it so we were able to fix...

Ottawa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've now stayed here twice while in Amsterdam for meetings. The rooms are small and the location is a tad off the beaten path, but the breakfast is good and the staff are amazingly helpful. During my last visit, the airline lost my luggage and then returned it 2 days later with a side ripped off. Most stores close on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smigiggles
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review. I am very pleased to read that we could be of help with luggage. I hope we may welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night there. Breakfast buffet huge. Room was tiny (couldn't even open my bag) but very well equipped as well as very clean. Some rooms are a little clairaudient. Tram (Artis station) is just a 3 minutes walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SchSimone
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I hope that we may see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans

Watford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located close to City centre near tram stop Artis. Very convenient to go to city centre of Amsterdam. Room was spacious and clean! Bathroom was amazing! Front desk staff seemed bored and don't have much experience with foreigners (??). The luggage storage wasn't locked (!!) so we weren't very happy with that. Overall it was a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martine N
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Martine, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were four friends who bought this deal via hotwire which offers low cost but reveal which hotel after u pay. Thats tge only reason for us to sleep there, even though it is a very good hotel, it is located 22 minutes walking from the center (around dam square)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shai F
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Shai, thank you for writing your review. It is interesting to read that we are part of a secret package deal since we are not aware of this. Sorry that our location did not please you, this is something we can not change. I am pleased to read that you think we are a good hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Andros
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this holiday through superbreak did not really know what to expect. Was amazing. Great customer service. Only criticism is that toilet space was too small to the sink. Deffo reccommend Free coffee and tea. Good decor in hitel room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigbadbobAndros
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, good to read that you have enjoyed our stay with us. Thank you for writing your review and I hope that we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel mid November. It's a great simple hotel in the old city center. Totally recommend it. The staff is super nice and helpful, the rooms are great, clean and comfortable and there's free coffee and tea 24/7. The surroundings of the hotel is great, I'd recommend exploring it and you won't be disappointed. The no. 9...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yaron Z
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Yaron, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again. Kind regards, Hans

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very modern and clean. Free tea/coffee and also vending machine in lobby. Thought breakfast was quite over priced though only down fall if you haven't included breakfast during your stay, but overall nice hotel also it's located right next to the zoo which was the best attraction out there for me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollysheehan2593
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Sheehan, thank you for you kind words in your review. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel for the price! Stayed with friends here while on a weeks holiday. Simple layout and attentive staff! We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were never up in time for breakfast (too many heavy nights in the coffee shops) but they had vending machines in the lobby which kept the munchies at bay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Jordan, thankyou for writing your review. It is good to read that you have had a good stay with us. Kind regards, Hans

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable room but tiny bathroom Dark decoration for my taste No minibar in hotel but free coffee in-room as well as in the lobby The staff was OK but nothing special Breakfast was adequate with the expected things for this category plus some fresh fruits. Free wifi The location is out of the city center but very close (just across)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonis A
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Anotnis, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#129 of 362 in Amsterdam
696 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $82 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for one that isn't in the basement!”
 of 5 bubbles Smigiggles, 1 week ago | Read review
“Small twin room was actually very spacious! ”
 of 5 bubbles 875martinen, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to get a room on the top floor. Even then you can still hear everything from the rooms around you.”
 of 5 bubbles karenlross, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Tip: You might want to bring your own room slippers as they don't provide it :)”
 of 5 bubbles r00zut, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“ask t be the other side of the building from the construction site!”
 of 5 bubbles rachelbK6634QF, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay