We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

NH Amsterdam Schiller

Show Prices
#149 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 781: English reviews
Modena
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stayed in this nice hotel for 3 nights. The room was very cleaned, not too big. The common areas are good. Breakfast is really perfect: lots of choice. During my stay in September it was very hot and unfortunately there is no air conditioned. It is quite near to the metro. During the weekend this area is really crowded!

Helpful?
Thank DrellyModena
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Very handy location as right on Rembrandt square so plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Also a tram stop directly opposite that goes to dam square and central station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel slightly outdated ie. No aircon and the bathroom could do with a bit of... More 

Helpful?
Thank elise2601
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

VERY small room with no a/c 2 lamps in the room, were not even plugged in, had to move furniture to plug them in Stains on the carpet No ethernet connection Wifi was 0.3Mbps - totally unusable Furniture was NEVER moved when room was cleaned, dust in all corners Fridge was not cold Smell in the bathroom Small bed 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Joe M, We truly appreciate it that you took the time and effort to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We will discuss all the comments upon the next team meeting in order for us to improve ourselves. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We apologize for not being able to meet up to your... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Such a terrific spot! After an overnight flight, and arriving before our room was ready, the very friendly staff, Lichelle, kept our bags while we walked this beautiful city for several hours. Arriving back, and exhausted, we were thrilled to find our room better than we imagined. Nice, large and airy, with a fantastic balcony overlooking Rembrandt Plein, we loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kgwinn
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Kgwinn, We truly appreciate it that you took the time and effort to write such an extensive review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you seem to have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel. When planning any future trip, we would love to welcome you back at NH... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel quite in advance with full payment but when arrived, hotel Said we are overbooked with no room and we can adjust you to other hotel. How would you feel with that terrible experience? On top of it, front desk people were rude at first and showed no courtesy. Felt cheated. They had no answer. manager was clueless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garv84
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Garv84, Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It is with regret to read how you have experienced your stay with us as horrible. I sincerely apologize that we have failed in providing you a carefree and enjoyable stay. This is absolutely not what you may expect from us, since delivering the best possible service should always be... More 

Paris
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is right in the centre of Amsterdam. Good location, but on Saturday night very noisy till almost next morning. We didn't sleep, although there were earprotectors available, but I cannot sleep with those things in my ears. We had a room on the Roth floor at the street side. Don't forget to ask for a room at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 339ellyg
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear 339ellyg, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are glad to read you liked the hotels location the staff and breakfast, however we regret the fact that we have not been able to meet up to your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I am very sorry that you have been disturbed... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying here for business trip, staff were very friendly but few disappointments. Rooms weren't ready at 3,no air con, for the price the rooms were small and bathroom a little dated. Some of the lights didn't work. Rooms on front of the hotel are noisy. If not too bothered about location this might be one to miss.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, Thank you for sharing your experiences! We are glad to read that you experienced the staff to be positive, but we regret to read that we were unable to meet up to all your expectations for which we apologize. Unfortunately, we are not allowed yet to put double glazing in the window frames due to the hystorical... More 

San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was once a WONDERFUL Hotel and Dining experience. Now shows the Hallmarks of joining a large chain with the attendant "Economies". There is no excuse for, nor is there any success with, attempting to hide POOR maintenance behind the "Historical Nature" of the property.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Ben D, First we would like to say thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for not being able to fully meet your expectations regarding the "Historical Nature" of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback, we will discuss this issue upon the next team meeting. When... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

NH hotel is quiet popular in Amsterdam as they have many . We stayed in NH Schiller which is in the prime area of rembrandtplein. Room was clean . Staff were good .. The best part of this hotel is the location , next building is the famous smokeys, opposite was the club escape also the tram station and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pranay s
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear pranay s, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us! It is a pleasure to read that you seem to have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel. When planning any future trip, we would love to welcome you back at NH Hotels. Kind regards, Bart van den Hauten Hotel Director More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There were some wonderful parts of the stay. The location is excellent and the breakfast setup is beautiful. The effort taken to display beautiful fruits and pastries was appreciated along with the many hot breakfast options. This was a wonderful breakfast each day we were there. The room was clean and very tastefully done. My issue is that I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie S, We truly appreciate it that you took the time and effort to write such an extensive review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experiences. In spite of the inconveniences you have experienced regarding the tv show, we are very glad that you liked the hotels locations, the breakfast and the staff.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

629 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (264)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (341)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (53)
Viewed
Superior Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#235 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $134 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay