We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hoxton, Amsterdam

Herengracht 255, 1016 BJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
11 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$252
View Deal
The Hoxton
$256
$209
View Deal
SAVE $47
Travelocity
$253
View Deal
Orbitz.com$253
Expedia.com$253
Trip.com$256
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1193)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (440)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
The Hoxton, Amsterdam comes as the third hotel in The Hoxton portfolio: a series of open-house hotels that offer great value, comfortable cleverly designed rooms, lively communal spaces, and food and drink from morning 'til night. Many moons ago, the five canal houses that make up the property used to be home to the Mayor of Amsterdam. Now, the building houses 111 rooms that offer views of both the Herengracht and Singel canals, Lotti's restaurant and bar, a relaxed mezzanine space that's great for kicking back with a coffee or an Espresso Martini, and The Apartment, our unique meeting and events space. Located on the edge of the Nine Streets, we're a stone's throw from Amsterdam’s best bars, boutiques and eateries.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
339Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
215Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,079Reviews103Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,618
  • 367
  • 71
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a friend staying at Soho House, and when he visited me said "i wish i booked here". Why would he say such a thing you ask - well aside from the fact the interior is the same (apparently same designer) the location is far superior at The Hoxton. The Hoxton entrance is on a canal. Lets face it we all travel to Amsterdam for the water views yes? ;)The staff are exceptional, from the bar to front desk every single person I encountered went out of their way to make sure you were having the "best" stay possible. I travel a bit and I can safely say I have never had this dedication! Everyone at the Hoxton should get a pay rise - or be tipped accordingly. The restaurant was incredible, we had a double double room and while no rooms are really spacious in Europe unless you pay for it, our room was great! I like the "no mini bar concept" but come to reception for whatever you need. I am never even looking twice at another hotel in Amsterdam. I live there now. IN A WORD: MINE IN A SENTENCE: If you choose some where else, dont say I didnt tell you about the HOXTON.
Read more
+1
Hotel's Favorite
I recenlty stayed at the Hoxton for 3 days and everything about this fun, classy hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff all around were welcoming and professional, the common areas, restaurant and bar were all welcoming, comfortable, great food, and drinks! I had a cozy canal view room and it was perfect. Plenty of room (although I was solo would be plenty big enough for 2), nice view, big bathroom. Super comfy bed! I loved all of the fun extras and the breakfast bag was perfect. Although I'm 58 years old, I never felt out of place in this buzzing, hip hotel. Perfect location!! Near restaurants, shops, and just a fun neighborhood. I felt very safe here and all throughout Amsterdam day and night. When I return I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else.
Read more
Response from Gilbert K, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Responded Sep 24, 2018
Hi Sue! Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We're happy to read it exceeded your expectations, the team treated you properly and you liked the vibe of our pad. Also that you enjoyed the food and drinks of restaurant Lotti's, found the room perfect and enjoyed all the other bits and bobs we offer. We can't wait to welcome you back soon! x the Hox
Read more
Loved our stay at The Hoxton, great hotel. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. While the rooms were quite small they are clever with the storage. Loved the breakfast bags in the morning, great way to start the day. Clean rooms, comfortable beds & great location.
Read more
In some respects the Hoxton lived up to expectations, but the small, dim room didn't quite deliver on the experience we were hoping for. The location is fantastic, in the Little Nine Streets, right on the canal -- very glad we chose this area versus some of the busier and more touristy areas. Such an easy walk to all the main attractions -- Anne Frank House, museums, flower market, Dam Square, etc. The building is lovely, and the lobby -- as intended -- is where the action is. Lots of comfy chairs and desks to relax and catch up with friends. During the day it's full of life, and at night it pretty much turns into a hip lounge. The main lobby contains the bar and is open to the restaurant. Above the lobby is a mezzanine with additional seating. Our room was Cosy #505 with a courtyard view (because we needed two twin beds, we didn't have the option of a canal-view room). The room is actually on floor 4.5 as it situated up a small flight of stairs from floor 4 (or down a small flight of stairs from floor 5) and across a short sunlit passageway to a different building -- so heads-up if you have mobility issues. Hauling our suitcases up and down wasn't a huge hassle, but unexpected. We knew the room would be fairly small, and it was actually larger than I thought it would be with an efficient layout. The beds were comfy, and there is an open 'closet' with a hanging rail (six hangers) and a few open shelves. Under each bed is a small open drawer on wheels. Laptop-sized safe. The breakfast bag was lovely -- fresh OJ, yogurt, and banana. Bathroom had a bidet, limited toiletries (only shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in large bottles; no moisturizer or vanity kit), no counter space but a couple of shelves under the sink, decent hair dryer (not wall-mounted); the shower had one of those terrible glass 'half walls' that isn't very functional so our floor was constantly sopping wet. Mini fridge was stocked with free water and a carton of milk (room had a kettle and selection of teas, plus a bag of coffee grinds but no brewer?!). The ceiling along one side of the room slanted down. Not an issue above the bed where you're not going to be standing up, but it did make the room feel less spacious, and the windowless bathroom felt really cramped. I'm petite, and the shower was fine for me, but anyone over 5' 5" would likely hit the shower head! The slanted ceiling and lack of sunshine made the entire room feel quite dark and claustrophobic at times. I understand the philosophy is to not have all the bells and whistles in the rooms, and to ensure they have nice social spaces for gathering. Even so, there seemed to be obvious basic features missing or that missed the mark. Adding a few wall hooks here and there would greatly increase the storage utility. Hanging the bathroom hooks even a few inches higher would mean the towels don't touch the floor (trust me, I tried bunching up the towel a thousand different ways, but it always touched the floor!). Blackout curtains were effective, but adding a layer of sheers would be nice so the only options aren't "have everyone in the opposite rooms and passageway watch me while I change" and "let's sit here in near total darkness." An extra lamp in the far dark corners would mean less fumbling around by the light of my phone flashlight to get ready for bed. Swapping the frosted full-length mirror for a normal one so you can actually see your reflection. Staff were friendly and generally helpful, but some seemed to lack the polish and attention to service one would hope for with this level of hotel. For example, when inquiring about a certain hotel amenity, we were told that we could "look it up on the website" when the gentleman was literally standing in front of a computer monitor and could have easily sought the information we were looking for. Alas. Wi-fi was decent. Uber from the airport about 25 Euros. Room was about CAD $335/night. I feel like we had bad luck when it came to room configuration, which cast a bit of a negative pall on our experience. The hotel itself is quite lovely, great location, nice public areas, and an overall youthful feel -- kind of Soho House lite. Would I stay here again? Possibly, if we knew our room would be more welcoming, but the uncertainly of the layout means the Hoxton wouldn't necessarily be an obvious first choice!
Read more
This hotel on a lovely canal was so well situated . Many things were walkable and the tram can take you anywhere. The restaurant in the hotel is good and the bag system of getting an oj, a yogurt and a banana delivered to a hook outside your door in the am ( you pick the time ) was great. There was much to do and taking a tram to the train station of Amsterdam Centraal is easy. Everyone speaks English which is helpful.
Read more
Response from markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Jo Ann, Thank you so much for taking the time to review! Happy to read that you easily found your way around the 9 streets and Amsterdam. We hope you find your way back to us soon ;) x the Hox
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
classic hotel rembrandt, classic hotel amsterdam, rembrandt amsterdam, rembrandt hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / 9 Little Streets (Negen Straatjes) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing