We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Show Prices
#72 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a long weekend to visit and see the tourist sights of Amsterdam. Its a perfectly located Hotel and you could easily walk to all attractions, I also found it very quiet so you could happily get a good night sleep. Our room was very pleasant, clean and had the extra little touches like tea, biscuits and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for your lovely words about and for us ! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay, ofcourse. And, thank you for your recommendations ! More 

Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room not ready at 2pm (we were with a baby...) : 45mn wait. Bathroom dirty, hairs in shower. Very overpriced. Rooms are attic. 30mn wait for checkout (only one person on desk at 11:30am on sunday morning. We will never stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Oince A
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Oince, I am sorry to read that you were not happy in our hotel. Herewith I offer you my apologies for your inconvenience. I hope you will give us a second chance and mail me directly (francis.windt@accor.com) whenever you think of visiting Amsterdam again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We found the hotel quite easily walking from the station, took about half hour. Our first impressions of the hotel was that it was lovely, clean and set in a quiet residential road. When we went to the room we were so impressed with it and the little touches like the slippers/dressing gowns, toiletries and the fridge/bar. The room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam. Thank you for your remark about the doorbell, I will inform my colleagues about this. We would love to see you again soon ! More 

London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located in a Nice area and near the tram stop and close to museums and restaurants. Staff were friendly. Our room was extremely small and decor was a bit miss matched. Bathroom was dirty - toilet, floor and the shower grouting. Very large shower but the rest of the bathroom is tiny. Mugs for coffee were dirty. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank jm88001
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and efforts to inform us about your findings. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you will give us a second chance whenever you return to Amsterdam. We are sure we can do better and have to do better. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small hotel, very easy to find using Google maps just off tram line 16. We had a large privilege room with a Bath (one of only 2 rooms to have a bath rather than a shower). Very clean fresh and easy to find, I would recommend the rooms in the coach house, Bar opens at 5, which is not bad,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AndyR_10
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you, Andy, for your kind words on our hotel. And thank you for your recommendation ! More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You feel like in a family business that kind of forgot 2016. Reception taking time to talk to their leisure guest explaining maps etc, without realising the line behind and fact that not everyone is on holiday. staff is friendly rooms are small very small and accor status are not recognised. Breakfast again tourist kind off bit like a IBIS... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. They are very valuable to us and will help us to improve our services ! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. It is located within walking distance of the main Museums and the centre of Amsterdam. It is not a modern hotel, not high rise and fits into the residential street scape. The hotel is very quiet, good for sleeping, with trams, cafes, shops etc all within a very short walk.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 56ajax
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and efforts to write your findings. We will use your remarks to improve our services in the future ! We hope you will indeed stay with us again! More 

Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a family of 7 and were very pleased with our stay in this hotel You can walk to anywhere interesting from here. The rooms are modern and clean. The staff is always smiling and helpful. The breakfast was great. You really cannot go wrong with this hotel. Perfect for families with kids. and Absolutely nothing shady in or... More 

Helpful?
Thank HarryJPR
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our services. And thank you for your recommendation and for returning to our hotel ! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Remember this is a 4 star hotel. There's no sewing kit, no dressing gowns and no drinks in the fridge. Feels more like 3 star. Then you see the wear and tear around the place, bashed up door frames, holes in the walls, scum and stains in the shower and never mind the hot water which didn't work! This place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you Martin for your comments on your stay. We will use your comments to improve our services in the future ! We unfortunately had some problems with our hot water system. Those are solved now. We do offer our apologies for this inconvenience. We will use your comments to improve our services in the future ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

351 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Privilege Double Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $134 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay