We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Save
Share
Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam The Netherlands
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (361)
Room & Suite (116)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 05/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Updated 05/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#140 of 417 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and government guidelines we have taken the difficult decision to close the hotel. Our thoughts remain with everyone impacted across the world and we look forward to welcoming guests and visitors back soon. The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking.
Read more
Room & Suite (116)116
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking garage
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
145Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
71Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
970Reviews68Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 350
  • 423
  • 146
  • 34
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary469 wrote a review Apr 2020
Derry, United Kingdom40 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel as a group for a birthday celebration. The hotel is in a great location, easily accessible by the underground. The staff were friendly and the hotel was close to all the local sights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Wiebe Bos, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Responded Apr 16, 2020
Dear Mary469, Thanks for sharing your kind words with us and Tripadvisor! Great to read that you have enjoyed your stay! You gave us 5 dots, the maximum! Thank you so much for that. Hopefully we can open our hotel soon again and create more great memories! Warm regards and stay safe! Wiebe Bos General Manager
Read more
Gee wrote a review Jan 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom28 contributions26 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We had an absolutely amazing stay here at the Mercure! The room was fantastic, it was clean, spacious enough for us and the bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was lovely and clean and the shower was perfect. The front of house staff were so kind and couldn't do enough to help us. They were able to keep our luggage for the day as we didn't fly until late evening. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of everything but also close to a tram stop and a metro station which is also great. Would not hesitate to stay here again and will definitely be recommending to family and friends who are looking to visit Amsterdam!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MercureAms, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear graceholiday102, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score and what a pleasure to read your review. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager
Read more
P L wrote a review Mar 2020
Prague, Czech Republic9 contributions
Room are really small for from 4* hotel where to start noise from radiators all night impossible to sleep bathroom was not clean carpet wasn't been clean for long times the night receptionists wasny wearing any shoes last night ???? Definetely really poor standart ... The plus just the location not coming back at this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Wiebe Bos, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear 358pl, Many thanks for sharing your experience. I am sorry to read that we have not met your expectations. I hope you have contacted us during your stay to report the issues you were encountering, so we could resolve it for you. As I can't see your name it is not possible to see the room you were staying in. We do our utmost to maintain the rooms in the best condition, not only cleanliness but also maintenance wise. I will share your comments with the teams, so they can improve. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager
Read more
andreiamdsgomes wrote a review Mar 2020
Braga, Portugal41 contributions23 helpful votes
The staff was great! They were always ready to help us to find the best experiences in the city! The breakfast was great! Lots of different bread, delicious waffles, fresh orange juice, amazing cheese, delicious cappuccino and mouth watering croissants!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wiebe Bos, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear andreiamdsgomes , Many thanks for this great review! A pleasure to read and thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor. A full score is a great reward for the team's efford and I will share your comments with the team! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager
Read more
queenofeats wrote a review Mar 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands15 contributions38 helpful votes
The hotel looks nice and the rooms are cozy. I stayed here for one night with a friend, Dafida (Sorry if I spelled your name wrong) was very friendly from the reception and when we walked to our room, we realized that the water from the sink didn't go away that fast. So my friend called to the reception and spoke with Dafida on the phone, she got us another beautiful room. Only one negative point was that the water from the shower is running bit slowly. Thanks to Dafida for making our stay even more amazing!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wiebe Bos, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear queenofeats, Many thanks for this great review. I have informed Davida about her contribution to your stay. It is always a great compliment to read back names of our staff. This is highly appreciated. Many thanks for staying with us and hopefully we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure amsterdam arthur frommer hotel amsterdam, accor amsterdam arthur frommer
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamDe Weteringschans / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Nearby attractions include MyEscape.Club (0.1 miles), Brouwersgracht (0.07 miles), and De Duif (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Utrechtsedwarstafel, Spectrum, and Mankind.
Is Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.1 miles), Concertgebouw (0.7 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles).