We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

NH Carlton Amsterdam

Show Prices
#243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
NH Carlton Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Carlton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,241: English reviews
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff, location and breakfast are all excellent! The rooms are tired and could really use some remodeling. Our bathroom countertop was broken and sharp. There were some damaged walls etc. The room was clean and it was large with a sofa sleeper, perfect for 3 girls! I would stay here again, especially knowing what to expect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karalyn84
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Karalyn84, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I will discuss you comments with the departments involved. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was in a good location (to the street car, train, museums, shopping, etc). The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The rooms that overlook the street get a lot of street noise. The breakfast was great, with a huge selection of delicious food (add that on during reservations, or when checking in... well worth the price).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiffanySG
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear TiffanySG, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big and old hotel. The restaurant is sufficient. The hotel needs a complete lifting...broken windows, damaged walls. The final idea is not positive and it's a pity, it could be really better with a minimum effort. Central and good position to visit the city centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele9842014
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Michele9842014, Thank you for your honest review on Tripadvisor. We know that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waithing for a renovation. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future when the hotels has been renovated. With kind regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we orderd a deluxe room and when we checked in we got message that this was a really nice room and more as a suite. The room was big with sitting group and a small kitchenette and a bathroom. but everything was so dirty that we did not feel like using it. The chair and sofa were full of stains,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siv T
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Siv T, First of all I would like to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations but it does provide us to change where necessary. We will look into your comments concerning your rooms to make sure that we can avoid this in the future. Once again...

Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

Location is amazing , very close to the flowers market and 10 min. By walk to Dam square. Staff very kindly . Hotel very clean and rooms are big. Price is good for the quality Wifi always good connection. The bathroom is a bit small but it's ok. I prefer shower Beds are comfortable .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Parishilt
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Parishilt, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Rome, Italy
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Value for money is of course very relevant to the general cost of living in the city and I guess in Amsterdam this is pretty high. Still, at more than 200 euros a night, you have to be able to expect a greater level of cleanliness. The carpet in our non-smoking room clearly told the story of its smoking past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller123
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear SydneyTraveller123, First of all thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore, but that doesn't mean that the room should be dirty. I will discuss this with the Housekeeping department to make sure that we can avoid this in the future. I am happy to hear you...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We arrived at the NH Carlton early at 11am on Friday morning. Luckily when we got there 1 out of 3 of our rooms were available. We all dumped our bags in the one ready room and set out for a full day of sight seeing! 6pm we arrive back at the hotel, baring in mind check in is at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chloe G
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Chloe G, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations but it does provide us to change where necessary. I will look into your comments concerning your room to make sure that we can avoid this in the future. Once again thank you for your honest feedback and...

belfast
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This hotel is in a very central location beside the flowermarket. We had a room on the 6th floor with a balcony however the carpet was very badly stained and faded and the room in general needed some tlc. At 5am on Tuesday morning we were awakened by the binmen who took around 30 minutes to move out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garfieldBelfast
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear GarfieldBelfast, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waithing on a renovation. Our hotel is located in the middle of town, so sometimes like every big city you will hear some street noise. I will discuss your comments with the departments involved. Once again I...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed October 26, 2016

This was my first visit to Amsterdam for business and to attend the IBC Conference and Exhibition which takes place at the RAI Conference Centre in the South of Amsterdam. The hotel location is excellent - on the tram route to RAI (or for the more energetic within walking distance) and close to the city Centre for after hours activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Paul D, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again next year during the IBC. Returning guests are the biggest compliment we can get! Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Very well it located, but it is old and doesn't look as if it did not receive proper maintenance, such as deep cleaning and fumigation. Attached you will find a photo of an insect that I saw 3 times: 1 in the closet, 1 in the curtain and 1 in the bathroom floor. It was the same type of insect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcela L
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Marcela L, First of all, I sincerely want to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. We take your comments very serious and have taken immediate action. The room has been inspected and treated by our pest control company and been deep cleaned. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

811 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (568)
Viewed
Room/Suite (183)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (201)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,734 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,306 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $115 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Fantastic views of Amsterdam from 7th floor”
 of 5 bubbles jorgez398, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Be aware that "non-smoking" rooms may still reek of smoke from the old carpets.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyTraveller123, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Comfy bed, bad views, dated decor”
 of 5 bubbles chloeg336, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid the front of the hotel as rooms can be noisy particularly on Tuesday mornings - bin collection day”
 of 5 bubbles garfieldBelfast, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Select a room on away from the street side and as high as possible to avoid any noise especially on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles pauldL9802GC, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay