We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel The Exchange

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,083 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Exchange
See the most recent reviews
Showing 729: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Be aware when booking that the rooms are 'made up like models'. You should expect the rooms to be quirky, comfortable and fabulous. While themed/dressed up rooms might not be to everybody's taste, the room we stayed in I found modern, tasteful, bright and comfortable. We booked less than two weeks before arrival and paid approximately £120 for the two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank warrenmike
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Mike, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy we were a key factor during your stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is the worst I ever saw. For 150 euro a night there was a 1 star standard in a 4 star room. I can't even discribe in words how creepy and ugly the room was. I stayed there one night by myself and 2 times somebody tried to enter my room. Would not recommend it ever to nobody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Martha, we are disappointed to hear that you didn't like the 4 star room that you were allocated. We are always happy to relocate guests if they prefer another room. There are 61 rooms and they are all completely unique. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find...

Westende, Belgium
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Perfect location, close from central station and easy to reach other main atractions, small room but good bed and pillows, bedroom is small but its ok, clean and quite, nice deco. Staffs are friendly. When we come back to visit Amsterdam we will stay again at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kuzmanic
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the compliments. Looking forward to welcoming you again in sunny Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed March 26, 2014

elegant and comfortable. the location is excellent. The hotel is on Damrak St. which lies between Central Train Station and Dam Square. decoration is very smart. staff is friendly. but the rooms are tiny, additionally not very clean. be very careful about the cleaning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evrim k
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Evrim, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is nice to read you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of our staff. We regret you experienced the room as not very clean, we take cleaning very seriously and never received this complaint before. We hope you will visit us again when you are...

Leeds
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location on damrak, easy walking distance from central station, the p&o drop off point, red light district, dam square and main attractions Hotel entrance was ok to find, just keep an eye out. We had three rooms booked, 2 * 1 star and one 2 * that was upgraded to a 3*. All rooms were ok. One star rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katycrunchie
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Katy, thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay, the location of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future and hope you will have the time to visit our café next door. We will make you the best coffee. Kind regards, Hotel The...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The location was exellent, however the room was so small that we actually had to take turns in undressing and going to bed. There was no tea or coffeemaking facilities and no breakfast exept the cafe downstairs that we didn't use. I will not recommend this place place for other reasons than the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We have rooms from 1 - 5 stars, the number of stars refers to the size of the room, the amenities, its views and location in the hotel. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us in the future. We will make sure...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A Hotel with design students doing each room has been tempting to try out for years The disappointment started at the entrance, one narrow door leading to a narrow hall way and the smallest front desk in the world Staying at the 7th floor er needed to take two seperate lifts and the stairway from 6th to 7th The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mobiletraveller64
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your overall stay was not to your satisfaction. I am happy to read that the room was as special as you hoped for, but the sun woke you up too early. I would like to thank you for pointing this out to us, we placed an extra...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed One night, all the rooms are differently decorated. We stayed in a blacked out room! The room was painted black, and was a little dark as there wasn't much lighting. It was actually pretty cool but if we were staying more than one night I don't know how long I could handle that room.. The shower was more like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash P
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Ash, thank you for your review and thank you for pointing out the darkness of the room to us, we immediately placed an extra light. We hope to see you again at Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location is perfect- just a few minutes walk from the train station. It is on a busy street, so if you preferred something off the beaten path, this is not the spot. Our room was very small, but we went for a cheap price so we weren't expecting much. If you barely plan to be in your room, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Hayley, thank you for your review. We are happy to read you had a good stay, a comfortable bed and incredibly friendly staff. As you already mentioned, we have rooms from 1 - 5 stars, the number of stars refers to the size of the room, the amenities, its views and location in the hotel. We hope to welcome...

Leicester
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the exchange and was amazed by the location and hotel for the price. Check in was easy, room was super clean and staff were friendly. The hotel is a few minutes walk from central station, and the red light district. As Amsterdam is quite small most of the attractions are easily reached by walking or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSLYON
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

744 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (439)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (190)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
923 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,175 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
372 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $100 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Woking
4 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We used the cheapest of budget rooms and found it to be perfectly suited to our needs”
 of 5 bubbles bassmanjoe90, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the back so it wasn't attached to any other room which was great!!”
 of 5 bubbles Kat_1177, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has several room categories and star levels, be sure to know what you are booking.”
 of 5 bubbles V7441LImichelleb, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Find somewhere else perhaps around the museumplein where prices and facilities are significantly better and really only a short walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles ianp38, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Be open-minded and discover a room for you...... it is a fashion hotel, rooms designed by student artists”
 of 5 bubbles chumph_874656, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay