We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel The Exchange

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 688: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Absolutley love this hotel, second stay here just now. Room is brill, had requested the balcony room but it was being used so we were upgraded to a 4* insted. Love this hotel so much, well worth the price for a great stay right in the center.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, thank you very much for your lovely review. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a two night mini break. The location is brilliant. Just a 5 minute walk from Centraal train station. The hotel definitely appeals to a design conscious crowd with the rooms and hotel design all from local fashion students. The rooms range from 2-5 star and we stayed in a 3 star. It was very small but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluefinch2012
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My first impression before entering the hotel was : How wonderfully quirky--full of character, unlike the NH where I could have stayed! After squeezing myself and my luggage to the reception through the narrow hallway (and I am not obese) I was told that the elevator was not working properly by someone who had been trapped in there for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelhos
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite the size of the room, you have still enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and at Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location! Close to everything and overall has a really cool vibe. The rooms however are so small and very cramped. Hilariously, we couldn't even close the toilet door when going pee! If you want a hotel solely for the location but aren't worried about the room- then this one is for you.

Helpful?
Thank Kales20
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Kales, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the staff were brilliant! the location was great easy walking distance of everything! the rooms were amazing so pretty and unique with individual designs. cant recommend them enough!!!!!! near to the canal boat trips, close to art galleries and museums and lovely cafes just round the corner

Helpful?
Thank huwfawcett
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. It is great to read that you have had a wonderful time. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we work hard to make our guests happy. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just had 2 nights in this wonderful hotel. Friendly, helpful, quiet and in a very central location. 5 -10 minute walk to hotel from central train station. 5 min walk to red light area. 20 min walk to gay area by the Amstel. 10 min walk to do square and madame tusards. Surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops and more. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank simograll
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We are glad to read that you have had another wonderful stay at Hotel The Exchange. Thanks for mentioning two of our great colleagues, we are happy to read that you appreciate their kindness. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights in this hotel with my boyfriend, very clean rooms are on the small size which isn't an issue the beds were comfortable which is great. The location is as perfect as you can get. Less than 5 min walk to central station and less than 5 min walk to red light district and to shopping street. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellie m
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Kellie, thank you for sharing your experiences. It's very nice to read you had a perfect stay and will stay with us again in the future! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

situated right in the middle of Amsterdam within a 10 min walk from the station and all local sights 5 - 10mins away. The hotel was very modern all rooms done in a different theme. It was very clean and the beds so comfortable. Right next door you could have breakfast and snacks which again was great quality and value... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolann p
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Carolann, thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We are happy to read that you have had a great time in Amsterdam and at Hotel The Exchange. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Paris and Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our overnight stay, can't beat the location just down the main street from the railway station. We had a room with a balcony which was great. The design elements were foam and felt and mattress parts, definitely different and fun. Our only problem was that the window coverings didn't quite block enough noise and light, but this wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank JudyandLionel
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Judy and Lionel, thank you for this nice review! We are happy to read you enjoyed your room with balcony and the breakfast from Café Stock. We hope to welcome you back soon in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exhange Team More 

Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this bcos of its quirkiness and location n stayed 3 nights. Located within a narrow walk up building in the heart of the city. The location was great. Abt 10min walk frm central station. The vibes and design is v cool but the room layout could be better. The room size is beyond tiny, absolutely no room to... More 

Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen22
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Unfortunately we are sorry to read that the room was not to your satisfaction. As you have probably seen on our website all our rooms are different. It is our challenge to find the right room for every person and unfortunately we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

696 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (394)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#96 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $119 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay