We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (189)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (161)

About

#14 of 359 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
141Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
27Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
538Reviews
5Q+A
68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 376
  • 103
  • 33
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Stayed at Cocomama for 2 nights.The people and rooms were a delight.For a hostel it was very clean and tidy.The common room had a well equipped kitchen .The associates working for the hostel were friendly and helpful. We did a pub crawl with the group which was nice but the
Read more
Response from Cocomamahostel, Manager at Cocomama
Responded 2 weeks ago
We love that you loved your stay at Coco, we're also big fans of midnight munchies so we always keep our kitchen open throughout the night for all those late night snacks. We're also lovers of super squidgy, ultra soft mattresses; although we do have firmer mattresses available in select dorms because we understand everyone has a preference ;) see you soon xoxo
Read more
Im a 29year old gal travelling on my own. i was looking for accomodation that allowed me to sleep well at night and socialize during the day. somewhere that had good facilities, cute interiors, clean bathrooms and welcoming staff. happily i found all of this and more at Cocomama
Read more
Response from Cocomamahostel, Manager at Cocomama
Responded 2 weeks ago
We miss you too! Thank you for turning our staff member into a fully floral masterpiece, nothing says 'hostel life' more than an impromptu photo shoot in our Van Gogh Suite ;) Cassy sends all of her love! We really do love to go the extra mile for our guests, whether it's putting an extra dollop of syrup on top of their morning pancakes or literally walking them the extra mile back home after one too many jenevers! Mama is always here to help xoxo
Read more
Well located and accesible by the no 4 tram, old building with lots of charm but drafty windows... the common kitchen living area is great and made a lot of travel friends. The bathrooms are nice, lots of hot water. The hostel organizes activities every evening, which can
Read more
Response from Cocomamahostel, Manager at Cocomama
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review! It's true, our hostel is centrally located in a super old monumental building, in fact it used to be a brothel! We kept a lot of the original features which includes the beautiful antique windows, but we're happy the bathroom offered more than enough heat to compensate and our luxury feather down duvets are always there to keep you snug at night ;) xoxo
Read more
This was my first time staying in a hostel and I had a very positive experience. I was a solo traveler visiting Amsterdam for 4 days and it was my first time in the city. I arrived late in the evening and I was still able to check in. Joey at reception was very friendly and gave
Read more
Response from Cocomamahostel, Manager at Cocomama
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review! We love first-time hostel adventurers at Coco, we're here to help with all the ups and downs of solo travelling whether that's finding like-minded souls to explore the city with or eliminating hangovers with our bountiful breakfast! We try to offer the cosiness and community of a hostel, but without the drab decor and scratchy blankets; therefore you'll find nothing but luxury bedding and quirky, unique interiors here at Coco to keep your free spirit flying high ;) xoxo
Read more
If you like and unprofessional dump, this place is for you! I booked it months ahead of my stay. I knew there were shared and private rooms. I wanted a private room. In the "guest comments" section for booking I wrote "Just want to make sure this is a private room. Just for
Read more
Response from Cocomamahostel, Manager at Cocomama
Responded 2 weeks ago
Oh no! We're so sorry you had a negative experience at CocoMama, this makes us very sad! It's true that booking notes from third-parties are not sent directly to the hostel, but we're very sorry about this miscommunication. We would never leave any of our guests on the 'street' as you put it, in fact our staff did tell you you that you were more than welcome to stay in the bed that you had booked (in our beautiful two-bed dorm) or to hang out in our cosy common room to and use our free WiFi to book other accommodation. We're super professional here at CocoMama and we hope you'll return to us soon so we can deliver more of the high-quality service you expect (perhaps book a private room next time!) ;) xoxo
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cocomama hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamDe WeteringschansCentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing