We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 658: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for a romantic weekend. It is a historical landmark hotel with a modern twist, beautiful grand entrance, valet parking, lovely fresh flowers everywhere. Beautiful gym looking over the Amstel river. Walking distance from the fantastic Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum and shopping area. We had a small but very comfortable room, decorated with a Dutch twist. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anna232
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated the interior of the hotel with a little modern twist. We are also very pleased with the fact that you...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is in a very old building, yet it feels so new and perfect. The rooms are very spacious and elegant in a very nice way. Staff was more than helpful and extremely friendly and supportive. Location is good although not directly in the center but few minutes walking. Overall a good place to stay in while in Amsterdam

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mohammed M
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our spacious and elegant rooms. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Weekend break with my mother and sister in Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like Royalty. We couldnt fault a thing, the service was faultless and the rooms beautiful, our suites were on the 3rd and 4th Floor. The breakfast buffet had everything that you would could wish for, with the hot items served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit together with your mother and sister to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance and memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My Partner and I recently dined at the Amstel during our stay in Amsterdam. From the minute we entered to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Chris particularty enthralled us all. He was personable, attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our evening a total joy, and the food was good too!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeamishLondon
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review about our dining facilities. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. Of course I will share your compliments with Chris who will be very honoured to read your compliments....

Bay Area, Ca
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this grande dame hotel several times over the last 10 years. We scored some wonderful rooms and the IC Amstel had the best mini-bars in the world, if you were a RA, anyway. It sits slightly outside the fall out range generated by the red light district and Nieumarkt. Great dutch bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhaunkster
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed all of your stays in the Amstel Hotel and that you have a very positive remembrance of your visits. We are also very honoured to read your compliment about the mini-bars. We all are looking forward...

Larnaka City, Cyprus
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Smooth check in and helpful staff. Nice upgrades for loyalty card holders. Charming rooms and old wood paneled elevators. Romance abounds. Only criticism is that the internet was absolutely awful during my stay. I assume this was just an unfortunate exception but the hotel should conduct a review of the wireless speeds at peak times.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlesp
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your honest and detailed review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you appreciated our helpful staff and that you were charmed by our rooms and old wood panelled elevators. Regarding the internet, we are definitely aware of this problem and we are working on it to resolve this issue. Instantly, we are installing...

Heemstede
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Last Thursday March 20 I have had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel. Both service as location were perfect. I had a business meeting at the Amstel A-bar where we had the opportunity to sit outside in the sunny terrace. Later we went inside to the Amstel Brasserie for a dinner. Again also there perfect service and good food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas v
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Above all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our A Bar and our sunny terraces. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole...

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam hotel in Amsterdam is one of the few hotels in the world that look like more like a government secretariat building than a hotel. The location on the banks of the Amstel River gives a feeling of a very large floating cruise boat. The amenities are top of the line befitting a good five star hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaC2o
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our restaurant with Amstel view and the gorgeous location of our hotel. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam to enjoy...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a place which fullfills perfectly my imagination of truly old world luxury travel. But with all the up to date amenities. Impressive. Small scale, quiet, perfectly located on the Amstel river with gorgeous views from both our rooms over it. Smooth checkin and service good through whole stay, including very helpful concierges with all reservations and arrangements. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelalot2
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that we fulfilled your imagination with our Dutch residence. Delivering high standard service is something our staff takes great pride in and I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved. We all hope we may welcome you...

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in March 2014 for a business trip. Hotel is beautifully situated on the Amstel river. The building is old with a classic french style. I'm not usually into that style but they pulled it off perfectly in this hotel. The staff were wonderful, friendly, and very helpful. Location was not bad. It was walking distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krazy4Travel
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your positive and extensive review. It is a great pleasure to read that your stay in Amsterdam was a pleasant one and that we were capable to meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Van Gogh Museum and the rest of Amsterdam. Furthermore I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

756 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (595)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (287)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,442 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 361 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
802 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#8 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Amstel Brasserie at Hotel InterContinental
Amstel Brasserie at Hotel InterContinental
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $287 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for executive suite and try to avoid 4th floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TariqShalfan, 6 days ago | Read review
“Suite on the Amstel--Fabulous!!!”
 of 5 bubbles CBSciarra, 6 days ago | Read review
“River view is a bit more but worth it...”
 of 5 bubbles Sotech, 6 days ago | Read review
“If you are Spire Elite don't expect benefits from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles christopherr271, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“definitely ask for a water view”
 of 5 bubbles wdcgirl82, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question