We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save
Share
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$469
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1091)
Dining (135)
Room & Suite (109)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Updated 12/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#64 of 418 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Royal Carré Theatre, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Spiegelkwartier. Wind down on the terrace of A bar with an Amsterdam-inspired cocktail, or take a dive in the pool at Amstel Health Club with delightful views of the Amstel. InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, with its perfect blend of classic elegance and discrete luxury, bids you welcome.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
73Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
28Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1309Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 982
  • 189
  • 74
  • 36
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cath K wrote a review Nov 2021
Brussels, Belgium12 contributions4 helpful votes
The afternoon tea is below standard. First, all tables are served at the same time for each of the 4 “courses”, which takes way too much time between the courses - we ended up being there for more than 3 hours. A lot for finger food and tea. The pairing of different teas for each round is nice, just a pity that it was sometimes luke warm. Sandwiches were average despite the fancy description (salmon yuzu hardly tasted of yuzu and others were very simple). The pastries were ok but the chocolate rocher was nothing more than a larger Ferrero Rocher. Finally the scones were very small, very dry, and there was plain cream instead of clotted cream. The lemon curd was nice though. We have high standards perhaps, but this is not what one would expect from a high tea, especially at this price and given the location. Staff was very friendly which was nice (except for some of them not wearing their mask on their nose and speaking very close to the customers). So overall average experience which I will not renew.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
atontao wrote a review Nov 2021
Madrid, Spain1790 contributions1053 helpful votes
i am rating this hotel with 2+ but, do not misunderstand me, it is a good hotel. historic building, well maintained, elegant, clean... however... i did not find a good value for money. to start, the location is not the best in amsterdam, far from the dam platz and the main museums (half an hour walking to any of these points). the porter at the entrance by the day when we arrivedwas behaving like a policeman in an alcohol control by the manners in which he was asking for the vaccination proof. with an exception, the receptionists did not reach the level either. the concierge who borught the luggage to the room had no interest to explain anything about the room features. guests were allowed to refrain from using their face masks inside the hotel. the room was ok, clean and with addequate size and well maintained. the bathroom was good althoguth the radiator did not worrk and it was a it cold. the storage capacity of the room was good. the minibar had a really poor selection. the wifi was unstable. there was a coffee maker and a kettle, pressing facilities and a safety box. th flat tv was rather small for the hotel category and the channels selections not the best (no one channel in spanish, for example). the air conditioned worked, but it was difficult to maintain the temperature and needed to adjust it often. the bathrobe and towels were ok. there was no buffet for breakfast and the selection offered for 30 euros was very poor and the service was bd, so i only had breakfast the first day. our room service order was delayed for more than 45 minutes, but the quality was good. dogs are accepted for 60 euros per night. the hotel does not have parking, but valet parking service is offered for 70 euros a day. we did not use the spa. when you pay 450 euros per night for a double room withut breakfast, you expect much more. i would not return to this hotel when in amsterdam, there are better options for half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rudolf van Dijk, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Dear atontao, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Amstel Hotel. It is lovely to read that you like our historic and elegant building. We regret to read that we were not able to meet your expectations entirely. We have shared your valuable feedback with our team and continue to use feedback like yours to improve our offerings and our guest service in these times where Covid-19 measures are still applicable. We look very much forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful city of Amsterdam.
Read more
mario b wrote a review Oct 2021
Verona, Italy156 contributions95 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is located on the Amstel river in a pleasantly quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Sleep quality is very satisfying. It is a historic building: its exterior appearance and the hall are really impressive. Rooms are spacious, clean, well-appointed and well-equipped, clearly tilted toward a classic, French-like style. Reception and service are very attentive and kind, just what you would expect in such an establishment. Food at the restaurant is very good (I did not try breakfast though). In sum, a great experience. Only two bones to pick: the duvet on my king bed was laid in an odd way, because it did not cover the whole surface of the bed (I was alone, so I didn't ask Housekeeping to solve the problem); as it happens very often, the food and drink voucher for Ambassadors was not deducted from the bill (I realized only afterwards, so I decided not to call and maybe cause a receptionist to be reprimanded).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rudolf van Dijk, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mario B, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Amstel Hotel. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. We will share your feedback with our teams and use feedback from you in order to further improve our services and the experience at the Amstel Hotel. Once again thank you for staying with us. Warm regards Rudolf van Dijk General Manager
Read more
Sander K wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Overall we had a good experience. We do feel that this is one of the more mass products from the hotel. For instance we arrived 30 minutes early. The person at the reception said that this was no problem and that we could wait in the lobby. Obviously waiting for 30 minutes in a lobby does not make a lot of sense on a sunny day. Especially when you consider the terrace was quite empty. It adds to the feeling that the afternoon tea group is really something separate from the 'real' hotel guests. You also notice this when the entire group that is coming for the tea is waiting together and is only seated at exactly 16:00. After this a runbook or playbook is done which is identical for everyone. You get really good tea with a nice background story. The tea is paired quite well with the food. The concept really relies on standardisation though. My pregnant wife could not have raw fish. So she opted for the vegetarian option. Without checking my side was also changed to vegetarian. Overall you get enough food and the quality is good. The scones we got at the end were a bit of a shock. I don't think we've ever seen scones this small. Which was really a shame since you get really nice spreads to cover them with. At the end the experience was good, but I'm not sure if I would recommend it to others. The 'assembly line' feeling where you hear the same spontaneous jokes from staff on different tables is a bit off putting. But the atmosphere and food is great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Timing is almost German. They really start on time. Not a second earlier and not sure what they...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rudolf van Dijk, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Responded Sep 26, 2021
Dear Sander K, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Afternoon tea. We are pleased to read that you had a good experience. However, we always strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests. We regret to read that we were not able to provide you the service experience that you expected. Your feedback has been shared with our F&B team and management. We use feedback like yours to improve and train our staff. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us. Warm regards, Rudolf van Dijk General Manager Amstel Hotel
Read more
ludmil wrote a review Aug 2021
Frankfurt, Germany1 contribution
+1
Everything was great, definitely one of the best hotels in Europe! Very spacious rooms and very clean! The breakfast was also incredible, unfortunately there is no buffet but the À la carte menu has a very good choice. The staff was friendly and polite especially the staff at breakfast! They have also a very good spa center whit sauna and steam bath.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Rudolf van Dijk, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Fearless09325946188, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Amstel Hotel. We will share your feedback with our teams. We hope to welcome you back in the future to the Amstel. Warm regards, Rudolf van Dijk General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$430 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental amstel amsterdam hotel amsterdam, intercontinental amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamWeesperbuurt En Plantage / Plantage & the East / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Koninklijk Theater Carre (0.2 miles), Magere Brug (0.3 miles), and Coffeeshop Amsterdam IBIZA (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graham's Kitchen, Utrechtsedwarstafel, and Bistrot des Alpes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.